We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Greenacres is located in Selskar in the heart of Wexford town. Selskar is one of the oldest trading areas in Leinster with a history which can be traced through Cromwellian and Norman times. Greenacres now incorporates retail, a selection of exceptional wines, and homemade food and artisanal cheese. A spacious Art Galleries with Contemporary Irish art and sculpture, A Relaxed dining in a unique atmosphere, that is Greenacres Restaurant.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Irish, European
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (825)
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
795 results
Traveller rating
417
192
108
39
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
417
192
108
39
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak mussels salad cakes green acres gallery upstairs food and wine wexford town lovely lunch top class fabulous food deli sean olives mains ireland veg
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really enjoyed food, very tasty and something different. Husband has beef, said it was nice but nothing too special. Had the monkfish special myself and this was really tasty and well worth it.

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 December 2022 via mobile

Starter and mains quite tasty. Dessert very poor and lacked flavour. Found the service to be rushed and the waiting service very pretentious overall. Wouldn’t be in a rush to go back.

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 November 2022

We were a small group just going out for a meal. We felt really welcome. The waiter was polite and helpful. He gave us tips on the local area. The Steak was wonderful, exactly as I requested. I am not a great veg fan but...the veg mix was wonderful. In all, excellent!More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
jamesgoconnor, Owner at Greenacres, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2022

Thanks very much !!! We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We take great care in selecting excellent Irish locally produced beef for our menu. I’m glad that our staff looked after you all so well. Sincerely James

Reviewed 19 November 2022

This is like dining in an off-licence, there is a vast range of wines on display. The food and the service was top-hole and great wines to wash it down.

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
jamesgoconnor, Owner at Greenacres, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2022

I’m delighted you enjoyed your visit. We are really proud of our huge selection of carefully chosen wines to compliment our chefs lovely food Thanks so much for visiting us Sincerely James

Reviewed 13 November 2022

What can one say - wonderful ambiance, superb service from guys whom I assume owned the place and food that was exquisitely prepared. I left Wexford more years ago than I care to admit to and it was, at that time, a culinary desert. Greenacres...alone puts the town into a different gastronomic class.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
jamesgoconnor, Owner at Greenacres, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2022

Thanks very much for your great comments. Wexford has indeed improved dramatically as a food destination in recent years. We feel that we have helped play a part in this. I’m delighted you enjoyed your visit Sincerely James

Reviewed 10 November 2022

What a beautiful place to wine, dine or have a quick coffee and one of their beautiful pastries. Complements to the owners who have done such a wonderful job with its presentation. Service was friendly, professional and extremely effecient. We were massively impressed with the...complete experience. Definitely a place to return to when next in Wexford.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
jamesgoconnor, Owner at Greenacres, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2022

Thank you very much. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Green Acre’s Sincerely James

Reviewed 20 October 2022 via mobile

Booked dinner for special night to celebrate my husbands birthday & our first wedding anniversary. We arrived at i a very quiet cold restaurant & were seated at our table. Staff were lovely, food was served promptly. Overall the food was nice but to be...honest I feel like I’ve had better. Prices were very high, in particular the wine menu. €10 for a glass of red wine is over the top. I’m not surprised the restaurant was so quiet on a Thursday night. I didn’t feel like I was getting value for money. 2 starters, 2 mains, 1 dessert & a glass of wine each was €165!! I’m left the restaurant feeling like I hadn’t got what I paid for. I personally feel there are other restaurants in town now offering nicer food at a far more affordable rate than GreenAcres. It may be somewhere people go on an odd time for a special occasion but it’s not somewhere I would be running back to on a regular occurrenceMore

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
jamesgoconnor, Owner at Greenacres, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2022

Thanks for your visit. Sincerely James

Reviewed 23 September 2022 via mobile

Fabulous food, nicest meal we've had in a long time. Beautiful fresh ingredients cooked to perfection- sublime Highly recommend this restaurant

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
jamesgoconnor, Owner at Greenacres, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2022

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit, thanks for your kind words Sincerely James

Reviewed 8 September 2022 via mobile

We ate here and very pleasant people work here. We had a lovely table and presentation of food was excellent. It tasted great, I had the rib eye. Loads of veg accompanied it. Look forward to being back

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
jamesgoconnor, Owner at Greenacres, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2022

Thanks very much for your kind words Sincerely James G.

Reviewed 27 August 2022 via mobile

Lunch for two was very enjoyable with good service and excellent food. Very happy with our choice of mussels with chorizo and monkfish scampi, both with salad and chips.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
jamesgoconnor, Owner at Greenacres, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2022

Thanks very much for your kind words We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit Particularly so when tasting some of our excellent local seafood Sincerely James

Reviewed 2 August 2022

Disappointed that they got rid of vegan options in favour of more exotic animal eating options. (Clearly behind the curve) The single option that I ordered was a pretty plate of leaves, stalks and flowers. It was disgusting. I won't be eating there again. Also,...the interior stinks of cheese so much it smells like a bacterial nightclub.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
jamesgoconnor, Owner at Greenacres, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2022

Colin, It sounds as if Green Acres with some excellent Local Fish dishes and best Irish Beef is not the best choice of venue for yourself. The smell of fresh cheese was due to the delivery from Rungis in Paris which arrived today, nothing to...More

Reviewed 9 July 2022 via mobile

5 out of 5 the services and food where great and Mathew the host was great best meal we have all had in a while …highly recommend

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
jamesgoconnor, Owner at Greenacres, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2022

Thanks so much for your generous comments It’s great that you enjoy our experience with us Sincerely James O’ Connor

Reviewed 8 July 2022

I haven't had an experience of such poor dining in a long time, and I expected much more from this place. From start to finish, it was a complete and utter let down for us, I definitely won't be back and I wouldn't recommend to...others. The food was fine but incredibly overpriced for the portion sizes, and the service from the staff was brutal. They made us feel like we should have been grateful to even be eating there, never mind trying to make our experience pleasant. It wasn't busy so there is no excuse for this. Do not waste your money here, there are much nicer restaurants in Wexford in this price range.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
jamesgoconnor, Owner at Greenacres, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2022

Thanks for taking the time to post this review It’s obvious you won’t be back which is unfortunate as we now will not be in a position to offer you a better experience on a future visit It would have been better if you had...More

Reviewed 2 July 2022 via mobile

Had a wonderful lunch at Green acres. Sitting outside watching the world go by. I had an enormous bowl of the most delicious mussels, my son had an open sandwich. We also bought some cheese and olives in the very well stocked deli. Only small...gripe is that the server, although efficient, was not friendly and it goes make a difference. However it would not stop me from going again!!More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
jamesgoconnor, Owner at Greenacres, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2022

Thanks very much for visit. We’re delighted you enjoyed your experience Sincerely James

Reviewed 29 June 2022

Came across this restaurant on our recent holiday. The reviews were good so we gave it a go. Had a nice ambience about it. The staff were friendly. The food despite been dearer than we normally pay was delicious. But for the price we expect...everything to be enpointe. The cutlery used on starters wasn't replaced. Some of us ordered steaks for the main but were never given steak knives. We had to request them. So though i cant fault the food for the price we expect it to tick all the boxesMore

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
jamesgoconnor, Owner at Greenacres, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2022

Thanks for your comments I’m delighted you enjoyed the food. I’m curious as to why cutlery that was used on starters should be replaced?? If the starters had been finished, ………………….. Please accept our apologies about the steak knives I’m delighted to hear that you...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Clayton Whites Hotel
2,203 reviews
.10 km away
Riverbank House Hotel
585 reviews
.69 km away
Talbot Hotel Wexford
3,168 reviews
.78 km away
WHITFORD HOUSE HOTEL
1,884 reviews
3.21 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
10 West Bistro & Cocktail Lounge
168 reviews
.18 km away
CDMX
92 reviews
.21 km away
Thomas Moore Tavern
585 reviews
.19 km away
D'lush Cafe Wexford
167 reviews
.21 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Twin Churches: Church of the Assumption and Church of the Immaculate Conception
59 reviews
.34 km away
St. Iberius Church
18 reviews
.28 km away
Wexford Arts Centre
42 reviews
.18 km away
Nicky Rackard Statue
7 reviews
.39 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
1jend
9 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Helene R | Reviewed this property |
Clayton Whites Hotel is walking distance to greenacres
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

GREENACRES, Wexford - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Greenacres

Yes, Greenacres offers takeaway services.

Greenacres is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4