We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Knox

32 O'Connell Street, Sligo, Ireland
+353 71 914 1575
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good16%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (8 reviews)
“tapas” (41 reviews)
“churros” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Irish, Cafe, International, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
32 O'Connell Street, Sligo, Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 255 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

My dad and I got breakfast here on a Saturday morning at 10:30am. I got orange juice which had ice in it, freshly squeezed with bits. I also got a granola pot and Egg Fluorine. My dad got the Spanish breakfast As I’m gluten free...More

Thank Tara T
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Knox is just simply a really great place to eat . Heartily recommended. The care and attention given to both the cooking and the service shines through. We showed up on a horrible wet Thursday night to find a very busy restaurant full of both...More

Thank Nick D
Reviewed 1 week ago

Love the food here. Only have had food during the day but don't go here between 12:30 - 2:30, almost impossible to get a table but food speaks for itself here. Good service.

Thank Greta K
Dsdunne75, Owner at Knox, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Greta K - delighted to hear you love our food. We're usually busy at lunch but dont let that put you off! Don't settle for average food elsewhere!! Look forward to seeing you back soon Regards David

Reviewed 1 week ago

What a find in Sligo ... amazing atmosphere, fabulous food and a great night out! The food was glorious here - really great tapas. The atmosphere was so pleasing and the staff were just wonderful - so professional and attentive. Will definitely be going back...More

Thank samhlaigh
Dsdunne75, Owner at Knox, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Glad you found us Samhlaigh! Delighted to hear you had a fab night out. Look forward to seeing you again Cheers David

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I live in Sligo and heard so much about Knox. I wanted to go try it out and see what the big hype was all about♥ and i was definitely not disappointed. The staff were super friendly and helpful; the restaurant itself is beautiful and...More

Thank Roisin M
Dsdunne75, Owner at Knox, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Roisin M for your fantastic review. I'm glad we lived up to expectations! (Not always easy!). Thrilled you enjoyed everything & we look forward to welcoming you back again Many thanks David

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called in here for lunch whilst exploring Sligo Town, having overheard people around us making plans on the phone to meet there, and we could see why it was so popular. Food intolerances are taken very seriously. My partner enjoyed his soup and when...More

Thank car0line1973
Dsdunne75, Owner at Knox, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks car0line1973 for your kind words. Delighted you enjoyed it & that you overheard the right place to go!! Hope to see you back again soon Regards David

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Coffee was lovely but found the food a bit too pretentious. Had a ham hock sandwich which also had cheese, fried bread and chilli jam...sometimes less is more! However, nice little place to stop off for a drink.More

1  Thank Mary G
Dsdunne75, Owner at Knox, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing us Mary G. Glad you enjoyed our own house blend coffee - something we're v proud of. Of all the pretentious items on our menu you chose probably the least pretentious item ever!! Our humble ham & cheese toastie!!... yes we...More

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Ok place. big portions. not expensive. wide range of nice food from falafel through burgers to quesadillas:)

1  Thank 79Gianca
Dsdunne75, Owner at Knox, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you 79Gianca for taking the time out to review us. We think our place is much better than ok & we hope to see you back again Cheers David

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We went out for breakfast as a celebration. I had the buttermilk pancakes served with creme fraiche and berries. It was a delicious meal. The Boy had Eggs Benedict. In the last few months, restaurants have begun to use rashers instead of ham- Knox uses...More

Thank Noelle B
Dsdunne75, Owner at Knox, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Noelle B for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back Regards David

Reviewed 29 August 2017

4 of us had breakfast in Knox on August 23rd. The food was superb and he staff were very friendly and good fun

Thank tommymackmackin
Dsdunne75, Owner at Knox, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for the kind words. Glad you enjoyed it! Regards David

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Hargadon Bros
601 reviews
.10 km away
Lyons Cafe
149 reviews
.10 km away
Bistro Bianconi
671 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sligo Tourist Office
44 reviews
.03 km away
Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception
31 reviews
.20 km away
The Famine Family Memorial
25 reviews
.16 km away
Sligo County Museum and Niland Gallery
11 reviews
.19 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Casey H
6 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dsdunne75 | Property representative |
Casey - for our tapas nights (thurs, fri, sat) we can handle up to c. 45 at any one time (pretty much our max seating). We're very close to the glasshouse (100yards). Hope this helps David (knox)
0
Votes
bulben
30 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dsdunne75 | Property representative |
Yes we open from 10am on Sundays. Last orders for the kitchen is 4pm. We don't take reservations unfortunately but tables turn quickly. Many thanks David
0
Votes
Sagene
8 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Dsdunne75 | Property representative |
We try our utmost to satisfy our customers requirements and would have limited vegan options however we don't offer an array of options. Our friends in sweet beat cafe nearby are best placed to deal with your needs to be... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 17:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 32 O'Connell Street, Sligo, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Western Ireland  >  Province of Connacht  >  County Sligo  >  Sligo
  • Phone Number: +353 71 914 1575
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing