We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monasterboice Inn

€€ - €€€Irish, , European
Monasterboice, Drogheda A92, Ireland
+353 41 983 2989
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good24%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“scampi” (51 reviews)
“potatoes” (21 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 22:00 Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Monasterboice, Drogheda A92, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We've stopped here before visiting the Monastic Site, and then for a late lunch afterwards. Their seafood chowder, among other things, was probably one of the best ones I've tried so far. Excellent service, everyone was very friendly. This place appears to be very popular,...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Traveler0987654321
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Traveler0987654321, Thank you for your excellent review, it is great to hear that you were satisfied with our offerings, and you found our service “excellent and friendly “. We will look forward to taking care of you again soon. Thank you again.

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The best steaks around! Always top class !! (my last steak there on New Year’s Day had a lot of sinew in it i was disappointed but we’ve eaten here for years and never had a problem so it was a one off hopefully) service...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank keithfoodie81
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Kiethfoodie81, Thank you for your very positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed dining with us. we will look forward to taking care of you again, next time you feel like a delicious steak.

Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival, we were a bit disappointed that an error had occurred in our booking and the restaurant did not have a suitable table for our family group. However, this was solved quite quickly by the affable maitre d'. We were seated in a stylishly...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Mary A
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Mary A, Thank you for your very positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed dining with us. We will look forward to taking care of you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful decor, lucky to have table booked very very busy, service very good, staff very friendly and attentive, food excellent as usual, definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank O2958QWmariec
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear O2958QMariel, Thank you for your very positive review. We will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

New years eve called in on off chance. Place was packed. They took your order and you can have a drink while waiting you have a buzzer which Tells you food in ready. Even with the crowd's could not fault anything. Food was super, staff...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ciaranmullarkey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Son with peanut allergy. Allergen menu stated no nuts. Ordered food and stated allergy. Next thing waitress comes out on front of seven year old at table and states chef wants you to know that they cannot guarantee no nuts cross contamination in kitchen due...More

Date of visit: December 2018
4  Thank Sunnydispositionme
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Decent food and friendly atmosphere. Liked the decor! The menu could have been a bit more broad but we all enjoyed what we had.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Clairemj22
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Clairemj22, Thank you for your review, we will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The menu you was limited (Saturday day) That’s why i’ve taken a mark off. it’s reasonable priced, had the Chicken Kiev which was good. Plenty of people here and busy.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank W7959JBlaurap
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear W7959JBlaurap, Thank you for your review, and your positive comments, hopefully you will come again, you see during lunchtime if you prefer something different chef will often serve some dishes from the A La Carte menu. Please let us know next time you dine...More

Reviewed 11 December 2018

I've never reviewed Donegans before but we've been going there at least 50 years. A family group were there this evening and we were just saying how it is as good as ever. It has recently been extended and renovated to cater for weddings and...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank penelope105
MonasterboiceInn, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Dear Penelope 105, Thank you for your very positive review. it is lovely to hear you have been coming for 50 years and still enjoy our food and service. It has been our pleasure. We will look forward to taking care of you again soon.

Reviewed 9 December 2018

We had dinner here one evening while visiting relatives. Our hosts picked this place to try to impress us with the quality of the food, especially the steaks. They were exactly correct. The restaurant was very busy on the Saturday night that we visited. No...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank pk1363
MonasterboiceInn, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

Dear pk1363, Thank you so much for your very positive review. Saturday nights can be very busy, so it really is great to hear we got it right. We will look forward to taking care of you next time you are home.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Drogheda
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
589 reviews
6.69 km away
Westcourt Hotel
437 reviews
6.79 km away
The d Hotel
1,509 reviews
7.14 km away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
546 reviews
8.94 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Valley Inn
209 reviews
3.26 km away
No. Three Old Bar & Restaurant
79 reviews
5.76 km away
The Cross
146 reviews
6.52 km away
Nearby Attractions
Listoke Distillery & Gin School
6 reviews
2.83 km away
Irish Military War Museum & Family Park
290 reviews
4.66 km away
St Peter's Church
280 reviews
6.77 km away
Celtic Adventures
33 reviews
6.95 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
209SLANEY123
23 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Roseanne D | Property representative |
We do not take bookings in the bar at any time, the bar operates on a first come, first server basis. You can however book a table in the restaurant. Thank you for your enquiry.
0
Votes
CAFRLY
23 April 2016|
Answer
Response from Roseanne D |
Hi, delighted to hear you are considering coming to dine with us. The dress code is casual, we welcome families and look forward to taking care of you in July. Thank you for your enquiry.
1
Vote
Wobbles917
29 July 2015|
Answer
Response from MonasterboiceInn | Property representative |
Hi, of course you are more than welcome to dine in the bar with a pint. we would be delighted to look after you. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:00
Monday
08:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 21:00
Thursday
08:00 - 21:00
Friday
08:00 - 21:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Monasterboice, Drogheda A92, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Louth  >  Drogheda
  • Phone Number: +353 41 983 2989
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing