We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monasterboice Inn

€€ - €€€Irish, , European
Monasterboice, Drogheda A92, Ireland
+353 41 983 2989
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good24%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“scampi” (46 reviews)
“surf and turf” (14 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 21:00 Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Monasterboice, Drogheda A92, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Following a lengthy absence I dined with some friends recently in the revamped restaurant. On arrival we were greeted with a sharp, univiting request to take a menu and wait. We sat patiently with no offer of a drink and eventually had our order taken....More

Thank stefan1978863
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

A very popular spot ,this restaurant offers traditional food in a famaily style atmosphere. My father(78),always enjoys lunch here as it offers good irish diners and sometimes rice pudding for afters! While their service and food are very consistent my one gripe would be that...More

Thank Brenda C
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Haven't been here in a while, a good two years.. Has changed, decor which was very welcoming.. And tasty.. Meet and greet was spot on only in the door and had our orders taking within minutes .. Waited a good 35-40 minutes which our hostess...More

Thank chyllie95
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After recently having my son’s Christening here, I could not have been happier with the choice of venue. I had met with Linda a week prior to discuss the menu options and with her help, we put together a menu that suited our group. On...More

Thank MAnneBOH
Monasterboice I, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear James B, Thank you for your very positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your special day with us. We will look forward to taking care of you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

From start to finish a totally professional experience, it is a pleasure to do business with a business which gets things exactly right. Excellent communications, super staff, great atmosphere, brilliant service, fabulous food and great value for money. Very wheelchair accessible.

1  Thank Frank D
Monasterboice I, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Frank D, Wow, what a review, thank you for taking the time to let us know you were happy with our service, food and value, etc. We will look forward to taking care of you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food is the best in my opinion and the staff are lovely and not too long in waiting for the food either

Thank katienatasha
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Katienatasha, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We will look forward to taking care of you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

while this place is a bit remote on the former main road from Drogheda to Dundalk, it is worth a visit for the food alone. The venue has been extensively renovated and the changes are not finished yet. That renovation appears to have been extended...More

Thank Paul j
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear woosie123, While we would love to claim your very positive 4 star review, I think you may have confused us perhaps with one of our competitors on this road, as we do not serve pizza or stew! ( Srew very occasionally at lunchtime) and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very disappointed to see they have taken the chicken and ham off the menu to be replaced by chicken and salad no comparison. Whatever money you save on the ham you will lose in custom,it was one of the best items on the menu. My...More

Thank brendanhelen
Monasterboice I, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Brendanhelen, Thank you for your review and your custom over the years. The reason the Chicken and Ham was taken off the menu, is because is was not very popular, in fact it was our least popular dish. So sorry to disappoint you, but...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had a great time and great food at the Monasterboice Inn, the service was super and the food was very quick to arrive at the table, I have no complaints😋

Thank David R
Monasterboice I, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear David R, Than you for your review. We will look forward to looking after you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went here on the recommendation of the man who was working at the Monasterboice Monastery historic site - recommended. We were not disappointed! Two of us had the cup of chowder which was actually a pretty large bowl. It was delicious. The others had...More

Thank James D
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Drogheda
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
574 reviews
6.69 km away
Westcourt Hotel
430 reviews
6.79 km away
The d Hotel
1,419 reviews
7.14 km away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
514 reviews
8.93 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Valley Inn
203 reviews
3.26 km away
The Corkscrew Brasserie
230 reviews
3.94 km away
No. Three Old Bar & Restaurant
63 reviews
5.76 km away
The Cross
142 reviews
6.52 km away
Nearby Attractions
Irish Military War Museum & Family Park
275 reviews
4.66 km away
St Peter's Church
271 reviews
6.77 km away
Celtic Adventures
33 reviews
6.95 km away
Mellifont Abbey
199 reviews
3.37 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
209SLANEY123
23 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Roseanne D | Property representative |
We do not take bookings in the bar at any time, the bar operates on a first come, first server basis. You can however book a table in the restaurant. Thank you for your enquiry.
0
Votes
CAFRLY
23 April 2016|
Answer
Response from Roseanne D |
Hi, delighted to hear you are considering coming to dine with us. The dress code is casual, we welcome families and look forward to taking care of you in July. Thank you for your enquiry.
1
Vote
Wobbles917
29 July 2015|
Answer
Response from Monasterboice I | Property representative |
Hi, of course you are more than welcome to dine in the bar with a pint. we would be delighted to look after you. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:00
Monday
08:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 21:00
Thursday
08:00 - 21:00
Friday
08:00 - 21:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Monasterboice, Drogheda A92, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Louth  >  Drogheda
  • Phone Number: +353 41 983 2989
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing