We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Bull

Is this your business?
€€ - €€€Irish, , European
Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
04198371396
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good26%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (34 reviews)
“wings” (18 reviews)
“fish and chips” (11 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a fabulous day @the bull yesterday for Isabelle’s confirmation. All our needs were catered for. Even when I upped the numbers twice 😂 last minute they let me know it was all under control, a few minor issues getting the food out on time....More

Thank Audrey M
Jay E, Owner at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for the kind comments. We are glad that had a great day. We to see you again in the near future. Jay @blackbull

Reviewed 19 April 2018

Went in for a special occasion as part of a large group (with children). Got to pick for the special occasion menu and although the selection is not big, the food was quite good - if there is something to criticize is the size of...More

Thank JASantos73
Jay E, Guest Relations Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

That you for your comments. We like to hear all comments good and bad. We hope you return again in the future. Delighted that to you had a good day. Thanks David

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Nice pub and a good venue for watching sports as there are numerous televisions. Food was nice and the floor staff were very nice

Thank Michael G
Jay E, Guest Relations Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Michael for taking the time to review your experience. We welcome all comments good or bad. Look forward to serving you in the future. David

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Popped in to the Black Bull to meet friends & watch the Leinster match. Lots of different games on various tvs. Place was bursting. Staff were busy but still very attentive & polite. Ordered the chickpea burger. Friends ordered wings & duck salad. Burger &...More

Thank Audrey D
Jay E, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Audrey Thank you for taking time to write such an amazing review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience here with us and we look forward to looking after you again in the near future. Kind Regards Niamh

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Great food menu & a really nice newly decorated bar. They have a restaurant, a lounge and a bar. All are great. Good pints and prosecco on tap !!!

Thank Keighlea
Jay E, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Keighlea Thank you so much for your amazing review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind Regards Niamh

Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

The food was an and jay was so kind he allways had a smile on his face loved it definitely would come back

Thank joshybossy123
Jay E, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you for you lovely review and it is always a pleasure to look after you. Hope to see you back again soon. Regards Niamh

Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Used to visit this restaurant regularly when on trips to Dublin from Belfast. The menu now is only what can be described as basic. My wife complained to a head waitress about a main course Goats cheese salad she ordered. It was nothing but lettuce...More

Thank stuart j
Jay E, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hi Stuart I am sorry you were not happy on your last visit to us, we always welcome feedback wheter it is good or bad. I will pass your comments to our head Chef and if you would like to discuss it further then please...More

Reviewed 25 March 2018

Called for lunch midweek. A few people dining but it may have been busier earlier. Place was bright and warm ( a little too warm perhaps) and the staff were efficient and friendly. Service was prompt. The garlic mushrooms were to die for. However while...More

Thank John G
Jay E, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hi John Thank you for taking time to write your review. we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here with us and thank you for your feedback. I have passed your comments to our Head Chef and look forward to looking after you again...More

Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Was a relatively regular visitor to the bull but after having a disappointing Sunday lunch a few weeks ago noticing that there is a new menu which is very limited compared to the old favourites. Gave the benefit of the doubt and tried it again...More

Thank DDarko84
Jay E, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hi Donny Thank you for taking time to write your review, we always welcome the feedback. As you know us here at the Bull you know we are all about our amazing customers. We listened to everyone asking us to make some changes so we...More

Reviewed 4 March 2018

Went to the Back Bull for Sunday Lunch, place has improved dramatically sine last there, they changed the decor, and most of the Staff in what appears for the better. The floor Manager was still there, Richard I think his name is, whoever he is...More

Thank damtie
Jay E, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hi Damien Thank you for your amazing review and I have passed your comments to Richard and the team ( you have made is day) We all look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Niamh

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Drogheda
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
490 reviews
.93 km away
The d Hotel
1,347 reviews
1.36 km away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
547 reviews
1.76 km away
Westcourt Hotel
412 reviews
1.90 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Simona Cafe
261 reviews
1.51 km away
De Lacy's Steak & Seafood Restaurant Drogheda
261 reviews
1.34 km away
The Kitchen Restaurant
178 reviews
1.47 km away
Salthouse Brasserie
178 reviews
1.53 km away
Nearby Attractions
Monasterboice Monastic Site
245 reviews
.53 km away
St. Laurence Gate
100 reviews
1.56 km away
Highlanes Gallery
37 reviews
1.60 km away
Drogheda Museum Millmount
61 reviews
1.52 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
danispud123
1 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Jay E | Property representative |
We have a full allergn guide for all our customers to view and our current menu offers a lot of Gluten Free dishes. We also have dishes that are Modified Gluten Free, so please ask a member of our team for more information.
0
Votes
scowley
15 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jay E | Property representative |
Our restaurant is all on one floor and is fully wheelchair accessible.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
09:30 - 23:00
Monday
09:30 - 23:30
Tuesday
09:30 - 23:30
Wednesday
09:30 - 23:30
Thursday
09:30 - 23:30
Friday
09:30 - 00:30
Saturday
09:30 - 00:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Louth  >  Drogheda
  • Phone Number: 04198371396
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;