We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
232
118
26
11
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
232
118
26
11
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bento box sushi tempura rainbow roll kimchi rice curry sea bass lovely food ireland vegan euro
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely service and interestiong meny. Had dumplings for a starter and it was delicious. Teppan seafood for a main and it was tasty aswell. Great service.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a table for 3 at 9pm on Saturday. Unfortunately we were rushed from the moment we sat down at our table. The rushing mostly came from the manager (maybe owner) who pushed us to order because the "kitchen was closing" at 9:20 (even...though the restaurant advertised that it didn't close until 10:30).if this wasn't enough at the eend (10:10) the front door was left open to get us out of the restaurant early.....or so it seemed. I was really disappointed with this attitude /service and won't be returning. The food was okay but the constant pay and leave attitude means that I couldn't say how good it really was. Although in the past I found the food good.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Lziwang, General Manager at Taikichi Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

The customer has booked table for 9:00 . Until 9:10 I didn’t see customer the customer yet . I have to call customer to see if he is on the way . Finally he is coming. Around 9:25 we come to table check out if...More

Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

I wish I lived near this restaurant because I would definitely be a regular patron.I had the sushi for starters followed by Taikichi yaki soba.My Husband had the Bento box and every morsel was divine .Fabulous Fabulous. Service was so good .Waiting staff excellent. Can't...wait till I visit again.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 15 August 2021

Booked a table here with my wife and 2 kid during a stay in Limerick. The staff paid great attention to COVID regulations and sat us in a suitable indoor location. We all had different meals and everyone loved the food. I would highly recommend...this restaurant.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 14 August 2021

We visit this restaurant again and again and while not cheap you have to spend for the good stuff now and again. Any lover of JApenese food would love the place. COVID regs all in place. Great service and, speaking as someone who has lived...in Japan and eaten in very good places there, it would give any good place in Osaka a very good run for it's money. Keep it up the Taikichi Team.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 26 July 2021 via mobile

Had a nice quiet lunch here. Good very tasty norimaki. Good spicy tuna roll (sorry we ate it before taking a picture :) ). Tasty beef Don and misu soup. Very nice staff. Salmon sashimi could be better and fatter although is was fine. Dessert...can improve ice cream too sweet and couldn't feel the green tea. The presentation was nice. I recommend trying this place especially it reopened today! Good luckMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 9 March 2021 via mobile

Worst customer experience of my life In his restaurant tonight . Paid over 80 euro for my delivery which didn’t turn up and they shouted at me when I notified them of same . It was on Uber Eats platform which I tried for first...time as I order regularly from this restaurant on another service I drove in to try find the delivery rider and then decided to go to restaurant in case the food was dropped back there . Outrageous attitude by restaurant and washed their hands of the matter as it was Ubers problem not theirs !! They don’t seem to consider Uber eats as selling to their customers on the UBer platform !! Never again . Shame because we’ve always had a reasonable experience up to now . Guess customers are plentiful , hope it lasts . 80 euro down no food , hungry and pissed off 😠 I even offered to pay again and they could refund me when and if Uber paid them . Absolutely no chance even though I explained I was a regular . This lady just didn’t care . What a massive disappointment and what a horrible attitude from the lady who runs this restaurant .More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?2  
Lziwang, Owner at Taikichi Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2021

Any customer order in UberEATS. We can’t access it because only Uber had all GPS follow riders . Uber will help the order . I have advised him .you could talk to Uber support. He didn’t want. I check with Uber support. Uber customer service...More

Reviewed 8 October 2020

It was my birthday and my lovely wife asked me what I would like to do for my birthday and I responded....I would like to have sushi. It is a real treat and this is what I wanted to celebrate my day out. Now given...the fact that going out to a restaurant these days is usually more hassle than what its worth we decided to brave it and head out. Reservations were made in advance and on the day we headed out for what would hopefully be an excellent evening out. To my delight...It proved to a superb evening out. Taikichi Japanese Restaurant is right in the heart of Limerick on O'Connell St. We went on Sunday evening and even got a bit lucky to get a parking spot right outside the door. We were warmly greeted, sanitized our hands and then seated at our table which had hanging perspex on either side so as to insure that we were socially distanced. (I hate this "new normal" but its what has to be done" The service was excellent, the servers were efficient and friendly, the prices weren't too far out of the way and the food....Oh yea, the sushi was gorgeous! The rice was perfect, the sushi was fresh and the atmosphere was comfortable. If there was any complaint it would be to give a bit more wasabi mustard on the dishes and even that is just a personal preference. It's a quaint and charming place but its the food that allows it to punch way above its weight. This is definitely a must on your choices of restaurant and if you are a sushi fanatic like me...this is number one on my list. With sushi, a noodle dish for Mary, gyoza dumplings, two Sapporo's, two diet cokes, and desert it came to around 80 euros. Like I said, it's not going to be an inexpensive night but it is worth every penny. Definitely make reservations and make sure to be on time. The place was hopping on a Sunday night so at the beginning of the weekend one can only imagine how quickly the place fills up. Bon Appetit folks! CaryMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 14 September 2020 via mobile

Did not have reservation but not a problem and restaurant handling covid measures very well. Wife had a bento box and I had a seafood noodle soup and daughter went for the sushi. All our choices were delicious. This was our first time in a...Japanese restaurant and we were very impressed. Staff very friendly and helpful with our food choices. Will definitely return when we next visit Limerick.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 14 August 2020

Hard to say anything about the food as I went in for lunch and after 15 min of waiting no one even took my order so ended up leaving as I was on my lunch break, staff made me feel very unwelcoming

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?3  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Savoy Hotel
1,533 reviews
.12 km away
Pery's Hotel
530 reviews
.19 km away
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
746 reviews
.27 km away
The Boutique Hotel
437 reviews
.33 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Alex Findlater & Company
168 reviews
.03 km away
Texas Steakout
1,584 reviews
.06 km away
Limerick Kitchen Hub
231 reviews
.11 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
O'Connell Statue
38 reviews
.14 km away
St. Saviour's Dominican Church
13 reviews
.19 km away
Augustinian Church
8 reviews
.05 km away
Richard Harris as King Arthur
5 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
helenleigh2014
27 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Lziwang | Property representative |
Hello Yes I do serve sake
0
Votes
tj271
18 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Mikael F | Reviewed this property |
I have never booked a table there. I only walk in. I have been there together with up to two friends and we always got a table after a few minutes.
0
Votes
Jessm730
28 May 2015|
Answer
Response from Lziwang | Property representative |
We have bento box with miso soup Yaki soba with miso or small starter with douburi and we have small sushi set
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Taikichi Japanese Restaurant

Yes, Taikichi Japanese Restaurant offers takeaway services.

Taikichi Japanese Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4