We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (219)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
83
47
24
20
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
83
47
24
20
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood chowder ribs chicken burger nice food excellent menu lovely lunch friday night pint ireland
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped into the old Q with friends and children on Sunday. I ordered 3 bowls of soup with brown bread €8 each. We didn’t get a bowl we got a cup each 120ml if even. My 7 year old daughter didn’t even have enough it...and these were adult portions as they didn’t do a kiddy portion. I now know why. The prices have gone up everywhere but is there any need to reduce the bowl of soup to a small cup? I won’t be returning in a hurry. The bread was stale also! 🙄 some constructive criticism for you to improve on going forwardMore

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheOldQuarter PubCafeTownhouse, Owner at The Old Quarter Gastro Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience with the portion sizes and bread quality. Your comments help us improve, and we'll take them into account going forward. We hope you'll give us another chance to better serve you in the...More

Reviewed 1 February 2024

The nicest food especially the chicken vol au vent also very nice outdoor seating with covers and heaters. I enjoy going here with family and friends. It’s also one of the only pubs that sells Orchard Thieves blood orange. 🍊 Worth a visit for food...and drinks. It also has music on some nights. 👍More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheOldQuarter PubCafeTownhouse, Owner at The Old Quarter Gastro Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your super review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoy our food and drinks, particularly the chicken vol au vent and the Orchard Thieves blood orange cider. We take pride in offering a comfortable outdoor seating area with covers and heaters for...More

Reviewed 29 January 2024

Loved this bar, went on the Sat afternoon of our trip. The food smelled amazing but sadly we didnt get a chance to eat there, as our food was included in our hotel stay. Staff were professional and very friendly, pub was full Sat night...and don't think I ever had to wait more than a min to order my drink. Great cocktails and a great atmosphere as soon as you walk in. We went back on the Sat night and there was a band playing in the outdoor smoking area. Band were called Drive and were also amazing, so if they are playing when you are in Limerick, I would recommend seeing them too. Would definitely recommend going to the Old Quarter and the cocktails are a must. Will definitely be going back next time I'm in Limerick and hopefully getting to sample the food next time too. Great job to owners and staff, its a GemMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheOldQuarter PubCafeTownhouse, Owner at The Old Quarter Gastro Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're thrilled you enjoyed our bar's atmosphere, cocktails, and the live music by Drive. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and service. We look forward to welcoming you back next time. Cheers!

Reviewed 20 January 2024 via mobile

Really good value, great range on menu, comfort food, pub atmosphere and probably the best cream chowder I have ever had, hands down it was delicious ! Great pre-match atmosphere, truely is a gastro pub and the staff were lovely and attentive. Great lunch experienceMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheOldQuarter PubCafeTownhouse, Owner at The Old Quarter Gastro Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Cheers, Gillian. We're delighted to hear about your wonderful experience! Thank you for your kind words about our menu variety, cozy pub atmosphere, and attentive staff. We're especially thrilled that you enjoyed our chowder - it's always fantastic to hear such positive feedback about our...More

Reviewed 17 December 2023

Lovely venue with a warm feeling and excellent food. However service and staff are not very aware of tables that need service nor attention of guests. We walked in and asked for a table and we were told “go wherever ye can find one” and...when we eventually found out we waited 25 mins for a food order to be taken. Our drinks never came out and when we finally got the attention of a bar staff he told us they were never put on the system and the waitress forgot. Very poor considering there was only 2 of us… We waited another 20 mins for a dessert order to be taken and multiple staff members walked passed us Overall the place itself it’s fabulous, but staff need to start being A LOT more alert to tables and learn how to speak to customers properly without mumbling and rushing away without asking is is everything okay:)More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 December 2023

Was there last night with family for a Christmas gathering and after spending a fortune between the 5 of us there ,3 of us were left close to closing time and we went out for a cigarette left our drinks and jackets at the table...and came back a few mins later to find all our drinks had been cleared off even tho they were full drinks ,when I spoke to staff about it they were very rude so I asked to speak to a manager,when she eventually came out she just laughed at me and walked awayMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2023

Absolutely disgusted after our dinner at the old quarter. 2 adults and 2 babies that are just over 1 years old went I nto get some dinner after doing our Christmas shopping. Spent €82 on food for 4 and 2 drinks, when the owner came...out to tell us we were no longer welcome and we'd have to leave as the babies were being abit loud. We purposely sat outside away from anyone else as we are aware people might not like listening to kids. And there wasn't many people there maybe 3 tables at the opposite end of the outdoor seatin At 10 to 6 the owner came out and told us we were no longer welcome due to the kids being abit noisey. The kids were in highchairs and abit cross, they weren't running around or bothering other people apart from a little bit of crying. Being a mother is hard enough without being treated so wrongly in a restaurant when your just trying to get some dinner before 6 in the evening.. Due to the owners horrible treatment I will never be going back or giving them the business again, I'd rather give it to a restraunt who respects and values your custom than a business who will take your money barley let you finish your food and ask you to leave Staff are wonderful so accommodating and friendly couldn't praise them enough for how good they were But pity the same can't be said about the owner/manager who was rude and un accommodating and unprofessional. as someone who's worked in the restaurant industry most of my life I was appaled to be asked to leave at 10 to 6 in the evening as children are usually welcome into restraunts until 7:30. never again will they receive our business due to the owners disgraceful treatment of 2 mothers and their 1 year old babies. Avoid if you have small kids or babies.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Lawless, Agency / Consultant at The Old Quarter Gastro Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2023

Hi Rebecca. I have spoken to the owner and staff on duty at the time of your visit. Your review is not accurate. We are a very toddler friendly eatery. During your visit, the 2 toddlers with you were being very loud. Despite requests, no...More

Reviewed 2 September 2023

This a perfect gastro pub the food is delicious and the staff are brilliant drinks are amazing big shout out waitresses Tatjana have visited this place a few times gets better every time i visit top venue.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2023

The food was beautiful credits to the chefs but the service was absolutely apalling the staff deserve more credit for they’re hard work , this is my second time here and both experiences were horrible my first time here the male manager was extremely rude...as my Apple Pay was taking a minute he was even laughing at me and checking he’s watch sniggering into my face in which i found so embarrassing and the whole restaurant looking at me I rang the same day and complained the girl manager was no better as she was also as rude as him when I rang , I decided to give it another chance as the food was nice my second time here myself and my friend witnessed a young member of staff being shouted at by a manager in front of us the manager proceeded to curse at her and threatened fire her , it was horrendous to watch an elderly couple actually got up and left my daughter was with me and it’s unprofessional to curse on the floor in front of customers and kids the food and staff are amazing but the management really let it down also We weren’t checked on once and had to ask for our plates to be cleared in which it was the same manager who was looking after our tableMore

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 August 2023

My husband and I love finding restaurants with good food,great prices and a good vibe The Old Quarter Gatro Pub has all 3..Be sure to check out their Steak Sandwich..authentic! Juicy thick slices of seasoned steak with onions,mushrooms and a pepper sauce to die for...cradled in a hero roll with chips..YUMMY!More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2023

We stayed here for my sisters Hen Party the weekend of the 5th of August. We were very pleasantly surprised. We had organised finger food for when we arrived in from the activity and there was loads of food served and it was very tasty....All the girls ordered cocktails and the bar staff were great. The rooms were lovely also, I had asked for the nicest possible room for the bride and the bridesmaids. For dinner, I had asked for a private area which was in the breakfast room, it was perfect, nice and quiet to do some quiz's and games. The dinner was lovely and again the staff were so efficient and we were never waiting long for a drink and you could pay for the drinks as they came so I didn't have to sorry about a big bill at the end. Also the breakfast was lovely, scones and crossants were exactly what we needed after a big night. Highly recommend for a hen or girls trip.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2023 via mobile

Went to The old Quarter in Limerick today for lunch. Their menu had no vegan options and when I asked our server she said 'No we don't do anything vegan'. I've never before met a place that wouldn't offer something. She went away and came...back offering a plain salad, she said I couldn't have the dressing because it had fish in it. In the end I noticed that they had avocado and sour dough bread on the menu so I suggested that I had that. Even if they had avocado toast on the menu it would be something. Terrible attitude wouldn't recommend.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2023

Came on my own the good is delicious and within budget staff friendly and helpfully would totally recommend if your in limerick.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 July 2023

Tired of being ripped off and their price inconsistency - we order the same on each visit. Today will be our last time having lunch here. I spoke to the barman after asking to see the receipt as I couldn't understand why the price was...higher again today - his attitude was appalling, while I stood there with my young son. I was basically told if I don't like it to not come back! I had stayed calm throughout but made my points clear. Staff attitude at lunchtime leaves much room for improvement...on every visit.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2023

Very disappointed with the bfast.... My dad got a mini and I asked for sausages scrambled egg and white pudding ... No tea or toast with mine ... My sausages were swimming in grease and the scrambled egg was extremely dry. I got an orange...juice with mine. When I went to the till I was charged €27!!!!! They charged me for a full Irish which I didn't have but I said nothing ... Absolute waste of €27... Wouldn't return here for a breakfast again.....More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Old Quarter Townhouse Hotel
58 reviews
.01 km away
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
755 reviews
.30 km away
The Savoy Hotel
1,672 reviews
.32 km away
The George Limerick
1,955 reviews
.34 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Papa'z bistro
220 reviews
.03 km away
Olio and Farina
187 reviews
.17 km away
Story Cafe
51 reviews
.03 km away
Bean A Ti
66 reviews
.14 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Elite Motion Chauffeurs
80 reviews
.15 km away
The Milk Market
295 reviews
.18 km away
Saint Michael's Church
13 reviews
.02 km away
Market Quarter
7 reviews
.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Tina B
17 July 2020|
Answer
Response from TheOldQuarter | Property representative |
Hi Tina, yes you can! Just once you keep an eye on your furry friend, you can enjoy the outside area :)
1
Vote
JeffreyM2207
14 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TheOldQuarter | Property representative |
Hi Jeffery. We serve breakfast from 9am to 12pm.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE OLD QUARTER GASTRO PUB, Limerick - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Quarter Gastro Pub

Yes, The Old Quarter Gastro Pub is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Old Quarter Gastro Pub is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4