We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Irish, Bar, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
42
17
6
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
42
17
6
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Beautiful lunch today!! Heard great reports of Orchard pub. Absolute divine!! We ordered the Lamb lunch!! Loads of lamb on stuffing. Gravy so tasty. Fabulous vedge coated in garlic butter I think! Soo tasty. Fabulous mash and chunky chips!! So good like 5 star fine...dining!! So easy for parking! Beautiful bar. Smashing place. A real gem for Kilkenny city! Lovely Management and Staff!! Looking forward to our next visit!! Hats off to The Orchard Pub!!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a glorious setting. Around the back is a lovely outdoor area, tables and pods for small groups. Plants and lighting make it really magical. Pods have small heaters & knee blankets. Inside the main building, there is an atmospheric snug, which apparently can be...booked for private groups - would probably seat ? max 10 - 15 ? Friend and I were there on a Monday night - so really quiet - packed on the weekend apparently (strongly suggest booking for weekend). We enjoyed dinner and drinks in a lovely setting. Lots of parking - too busy chatting to discover if they had wifi ! I'll be back !!!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 4 August 2021

I have never left a negative review in my life and I do realize that this is not a Michelin starred restaurant, but dear me, I also think that you can expect some sort of standard when you go out to eat. Myself and five of...my friends stopped in for some food and drinks and we were shown to a table and left there no menus or no drink order taken eventually we got someone's attention she gave us the menu and took our drink order she was quite rude we felt as if we were unwanted in the place.  She told us that the kitchen was very busy and we would be waiting awhile for our food so we then decided not to order as we were hungry and didn't want to be waiting ages. it was clear that they just did not want us there as the table who came in after us got their food within 15 minutes. We went to pay our bill the barman was also extremely rude. We definitely won't be returning here and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Orchard B, Owner at The Orchard House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2021

We are very disappointed to leearn of your experience with us as we pride ourselves on the level of services we povide to our customers.we value the feedback you have provided to us and if you are in the vicinity again , please call in...More

Reviewed 27 July 2021

Had a fantastic dinner tonight. All our choices were well presented, were plentiful and most importantly were delicious. We were greeted by friendly staff who ensured we were well attended to the whole evening. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for great food at affordable...prices.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 18 July 2021

We have eaten here on a number of occasions and no matter whether it was lunch or dinner the food was always excellent. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The outdoor area is beautifully decorated and relaxing. I would definitely recommend it.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 June 2021

Very poor under staffed went in to get drinks 2 or 3 times told it was on the way.waiting to get drinks for 20+mins.guy comes out and rather empty tables at 9.20 pm rather than serve 2 tables even when they call for his attention

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 29 January 2021

Love the Orchard House takeaways, they are such a treat. Tasty food, very generous portions, friendly service. A special thanks for complimentary cupcakes included in our order today, a really nice touch 💞

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 17 August 2020

We had a decent family lunch here during our recent stay in Kilkenny. The staff member displayed menu on a large blackboard (not touched by customers), and there is a good selection on the menu. We were seated in an area where we were well...away from any other tables. Overall the service was fine, the food passed muster and we were happy with our experience.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 24 July 2020

The food here never lets you down be it just a meal with a friend, partner, or in a large group, the service is always good, friendly, and helpful. Which is why I have recommended it and taken my friends there.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 24 May 2019

Had an early dinner in a small seating area of the Orchard House last week . The daily special my wife ordered was decent but I could not say the same for my Caesar salad. There was more shaved cheese on it than lettuce. I...expect more for €12.50. Service was not particularly friendly nor attentive. Might be a better bar/pub than it is a restaurant. There is much better to be had in Kilkenny.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Newpark Hotel
3,086 reviews
1.09 km away
Brog Maker Hotel
86 reviews
1.22 km away
Kilford Arms Hotel
1,268 reviews
1.74 km away
Troysgate House
107 reviews
1.82 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Mocha's Vintage Tea Room & Restaurant
407 reviews
1.54 km away
Campagne
841 reviews
1.55 km away
O'Briens
11 reviews
1.20 km away
Algarve Grill
137 reviews
1.49 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Dunmore Cave
353 reviews
1.14 km away
Hurling Tours Ireland
57 reviews
1.01 km away
Kilkenny Famine Experience
17 reviews
1.53 km away
Nore Valley Walking Route
20 reviews
1.32 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Orchard House staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Orchard House

The Orchard House is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5