We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mad Monk

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
The Mad Monk by Quinlan's opened in 2019 and has been a massive success. Undoubtedly, this is due to our commitment to serving the freshest fish and seafood, complimented by our carefully selected wine and beer menu. The Mad Monk serves traditional Fish and Chips as well as shellfish specials and ‘the catch of the day’ direct from Quinlan’s trusted fishing partners in South Kerry. We also provide various daily grill specials cooked on our Josper Charcoal grill. Our team are committed to ensuring that all customers enjoy their evening with us, in a safe, relaxed and friendly environment. If you are visiting Killarney, a visit to the Mad Monk is a must!
PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$39
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Irish, Seafood, European, Healthy, Grill
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (440)
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
382
26
9
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
382
26
9
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scampi seafood crab bake sea bass black sole lemon tart chorizo fresh fish chowder bread potatoes salad top class from start to finish main course cooked to perfection fabulous food
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Excellent food, great value for money and friendly and efficient staff. Lobster was great value for money and fantastic.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Niamh Quinlan, Owner at The Mad Monk, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our food and our staff. We are also happy to hear you found the lobster to be good value for money!

Reviewed 5 days ago

My husband and I had an amazing meal at The Mad Monk! We tried to walk in but there were no tables available. Fortunately, we were in Killarney another night and able to get a reservation. We started with the Valentia Oysters as well as...seafood chowder. Both were delicious but the oysters were a big hit! We both got the sea bass with risotto and it was fantastic! The atmosphere was relaxing and all the dishes coming out of the kitchen looked incredible!More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Niamh Quinlan, Owner at The Mad Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Kelly, thank you for your kind 5 star review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our Fresh Seafood and the atmosphere. Hopefully we will see you again sometime soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great food, brilliant atmosphere and a really enjoyable time. Service was brilliant but recommend booking first

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Niamh Quinlan, Owner at The Mad Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your 5 star review, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit. Hopefully we will see you again sometime soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a excellent meal at this seafood restaurant. Our server was loads of fun and gave us good insight on the menu. Wine selection was great as well. We enjoyed several appetizers and main courses - Thai fish cakes, Dingle Bay wild squid and...oysters - prawn tagliatelle, sea bass, tuna special and squid for an entree. For dessert we enjoyed a lemon tart, Bailey's cheesecake and sticky toffee pudding. All was fresh and very well presented. Fantastic meal - one of our best on the trip.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Niamh Quinlan, Owner at The Mad Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kim, thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted you enjoyed our Fresh Fish and our service. A little bit of everything is always the best way to go!! We are delighted you consider our restaurant one of the best of your...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice stop for a late lunch or dinner. Known for their seafood and it didn’t disappoint. Great place to people watch on the outside tables. Located near all the spots to shop in Killarney. Don’t want to miss it.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Niamh Quinlan, Owner at The Mad Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted you enjoyed our fresh fish! Hopefully we will see you again sometime soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you to Stephen, manager and waiter extraordinaire. The fried squid....excellent. The mussels....best we've ever had. The fish cake....crispy on the outside, soft and delicious on the inside. Clam linguine...my girlfriend was literally moaning! The steak....Who eats steak at a seafood restaurant? Someone who had...yet to taste Irish beef. He ate every succulent morsel. Thank you for the wonderful service and outstanding food.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Niamh Quinlan, Owner at The Mad Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your very kind 5 star review. We are delighted everyone enjoyed their Fresh Fish dishes and our locally sourced beef. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Stephen! Hopefully we will see you again sometime in the future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

GREAT experience! Owner apparently has his own trawler and catches his own fish for the restaurant. Doesn’t get much fresher than that! Black sole was exceptional! Service not terrific, server clearly inexperienced but staffing struggles are real everywhere!

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Niamh Quinlan, Owner at The Mad Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your meal. Fresh Fish is our main priority and when we say Tide To Table we mean it! Thank you for your understanding re staff issues. Hopefully we will see you again sometime!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Sea Bass with risotto was excellent. Very fresh seafood. Everyone in our group loved their dinners. This restaurant is located in the heart of Killarney near Main Street.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Niamh Quinlan, Owner at The Mad Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that everyone in your group enjoyed their meal with us. Fresh Seafood is our main priority so we are delighted it hasn't gone unnoticed!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband, son, and I spent six days road-tripping in Ireland in early July. Quinlan's was the best restaurant, by far, of those we tried! All of us enjoyed our appetizers, seafood dishes, and desserts. The service, by Steven and Kaya, was impeccable! I only...wish we had a restaurant like this in Denver, Colorado. Should we ever return to Ireland, we'll definitely eat there again.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Niamh Quinlan, Owner at The Mad Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Janice, thank you for your lovely 5 star review. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you considered us the best restaurant of your trip around Ireland. We would love to welcome you all back again sometime!!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous restaurant! There were 4 of us and everyone said it was their favourite meal of the trip! The food was delicious, lovey wine and the staff were really friendly and helpful!

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Niamh Quinlan, Owner at The Mad Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5 star review, to be the four of your favorite meals of the trip is absolutely great to hear. Hopefully we will see you again sometime!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would definitely recommend this restaurant. The food was delicious. The surrounding was lovely and the staff where very much on the ball.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Niamh Quinlan, Owner at The Mad Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi James, thank you for your 5 star review. We are very happy to hear you recommend our restaurant and that you enjoyed your meal and our service. Hopefully we will see you again sometime soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was recommended to visit this restaurant by our hotel. We were pleased with our meal. The fish and chips was excellent. Very good coating and fresh fish. The staff was friendly and attentive

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Niamh Quinlan, Owner at The Mad Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5 star review, we are delighted you enjoyed your Fish N' Chips, Fresh Fish is our main Priority here in Quinlan's!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very good seafood restaurant in centre of Killarney. Would highly recommend and if weather is good would recommend sitting outside.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Niamh Quinlan, Owner at The Mad Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5 star review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit! We would have to agree, nothing beats sitting outside on Plunkett street on a sunny day. Hopefully we will see you again sometime soon!

Reviewed 27 August 2022 via mobile

Phoned up. Guy kept repeating, 'too busy, too busy'. Would not listen to me. This was for a reservation in 2 weeks time. Gear to avoid such customer service at the prices they charge.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 August 2022

The service was perfect despite the fact that the restaurant was very busy. We liked the fact you could order a carafe of wine. The mussels were tasty and good value. There was a lot of choice. The fish was of good quality with interesting...accompaniments.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Niamh Quinlan, Owner at The Mad Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5 star review, we are delighted you enjoyed both our food and service. Fresh Good Quality Fish is our main priority here in Quinlan's so are delighted you appreciated it.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre
1,136 reviews
.08 km away
The Ross
1,243 reviews
.08 km away
International Hotel Killarney
3,731 reviews
.09 km away
Failte Hotel
147 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Garret's Killarney
118 reviews
.09 km away
Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant
1,260 reviews
.10 km away
Murphys Ice Cream
783 reviews
.11 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Peter Cox Photography Gallery
121 reviews
.05 km away
St. Mary's Church of Ireland
114 reviews
.07 km away
Mr.Mcquires Olde Sweet Shop
27 reviews
.02 km away
Courtney's Bar
149 reviews
.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Katy C
2 February 2022|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from LIAM Q Q | Property representative |
Hi, yes open Wednesday
0
Votes
FionaFisher
2 August 2021|
Answer
Response from LIAM Q Q | Property representative |
Sorry for the delay i only saw this now,,Did you manage to dine with us and if you did was it enjoyable!!! Thank you, Liam Quinlan.
0
Votes
Samuisummer
8 August 2020|
Answer
Response from LIAM Q Q | Property representative |
Hi, Chips are in a separate fryer in our 2 locations in Killarney. We do a lot of gluten free dishes so better to enquire daily.
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE MAD MONK, Killarney - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Mad Monk

Yes, The Mad Monk is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Mad Monk is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5