We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fisherman

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Aran Fisherman The Prom | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
+353 91 527 100
Website
Today
09:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

479 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 432: English reviews
Tabernash, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Found this place after just walking down Salthill Promenade. Simply delicious lunch! We sat at a table right by the window facing the water. My boyfriend had the sushi which he said was amazing. I had a yummy grilled cheese sandwich and fries to die for! really nice service as well!

Helpful?
Thank TravelAgentAmyZ
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

In Galway for the evening and walked into this place off the prom. The restaurant setup is really nice with an impressive open kitchen / fish display counter. Seafood chowder was great and lovely fresh salmon. Service was quick and friendly. Would recommend!

Helpful?
Thank hospirish
Galway
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been meaning to try this restaurant for ages and finally got to taste just how good it is, this week! We had the traditional fish and chips with puree peas and delicious tartare sauce! It has to be the nicest tastiest fish and chips I have had for a long time. In addition to the food we enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre M
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Where do I begin? This restaurant was truly the highlight of our trip to Galway. We arrived without a reservation on the evening of our 3-year anniversary. Geraldine is the greatest, she treated us like family. Upon hearing it was our special night, we popped some champagne and she had the chef create a customized seafood platter. It. Was. Amazing.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mleweaver
ManagerFisheman, Manager at The Fisherman, responded to this review

thank you so much for your kind review. it was a pleasure to have you in our restaurant and celebrate with you. We are delighted that you loved our local seafood so much. Our platters are so popular. we hope to see you again soon!! xx More 

Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

from the moment we walked in the door i knew i should of done a u-turn. Manger told us we had 45 mins to order and eat and then basically get out. what we ordered was the worst meal i ever ate in my life. The fish was swimming in oil and nothing was fresh. we had our baby with... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank am8442017
ManagerFisheman, Manager at The Fisherman, responded to this review

i am sorry to hear of your experience and surprised by some of the detail. We are a family run business and have so many children in our restaurant every week, that i am surprised you felt unwelcome. We love children! Our restaurant can be very busy and sometimes due to reservations, we do need to ensure that reserved tables... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were visiting from across the pond and after a short walk on the promenade we saw this restaurant and thought is looked appealing. The service was atrocious. The staff lacked professionalism and we got up and walked out.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
ManagerFisheman, Manager at The Fisherman, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear of your experience and that you never got a chance to sample our local amazing seafood. I am glad that you liked the appearance of our restaurant. I do apologise if you felt the staff were not attentive enough and i do hope you get the opportunity to try us again at some stage. More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Recommend to go by a colleague, previous reviews highlighted poor service however we thought we'd give it a go since it was a short walk from our hotel. The sea bream was recommended by the waiter and was excellent however the service stopped there. No one came near the table after the food was served. Staff stood and chatted at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elin208
ManagerFisheman, Manager at The Fisherman, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our sea bream, it is a very popular dish. I am disappointed to hear however that you found the service underwhelming. I have brought this comment to the attention of our staff and I do hope we see you again soon in... More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Outstanding service, excellent, fresh seafood. We could not have dreamed up a better meal served by the warmest people. Our group ordered fish and chips (nice and generous portion), salmon, sole and monkfish. All presented nicely and served with well- proportioned sides. Thank you very much, Geraldine, for sharing your stories and for your gentle and warm service. We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teisy
ManagerFisheman, Manager at The Fisherman, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed the service and the food. Geraldine loved being your server and we hope to see you again soon! More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'm actually underwhelmed by my experience with this eatery. Sarah was an excellent server, and on the evening was the one keeping the show together, despite the fact that it was not a particularly busy evening. The other members of the waiting staff were scruffy and when eating I'm not interested in viewing 'branded underpants' ,who's wearer walked past used... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank M W
ManagerFisheman, Manager at The Fisherman, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad to hear that your server was excellent. Sarah is indeed a very valued member of staff. We are currently hiring our summer staff also and have some members on as a trial. As you can imagine, it takes some time to adequately train staff to a high... More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We have just had the worst experience in this restaurant! I have been to this restaurant on a number of occasions in the past. Even at times when they have had no other customers. Always wanting to support the local businesses. This morning after a walk on the prom me my husband and our 2 children went into the fisherman... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Orlamurf
ManagerFisheman, Manager at The Fisherman, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am disappointed to hear that you felt rushed in our restaurant. On the day that you frequented our restaurant, there was indeed a big match on and we had many reservations for tables and your table was indeed booked for another party. We do value all customers and sincerely... More 

Travellers who viewed The Fisherman also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Fisherman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Irish, Seafood, European, Soups, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Aran Fisherman The Prom | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Western Ireland  >  Province of Connacht  >  County Galway  >  Galway
  • Phone Number: +353 91 527 100

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Fisherman and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Dublin, Ireland

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Fisherman staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?