We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#5 of 58 Bar in Galway
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
278
103
29
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
278
103
29
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak onion rings wings fish and chips salmon pizza lovely pub quality food lovely meal guinness salthill
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 22 March 2022

We came to avoid the crowds on St Paddy's day and what a surprise! The food was excellent, as were the pinks. The staff is friendly and attentive. We had a great St. Paddy's day in with the help of Tom Sheridans

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 18 March 2022

My wife and I visited Sherdians this afternoon for lunch. We decided to sit outside with our dog (under full control) as another guest had two dogs on leashes, the outdoor area was obviously dog friendly. I had a firm grip on my dog's collar...while my grandasughter was on her with his lead. As I approached the seating area another dog on a nearby table caused a disruption and spilled over his owners beer and caused a glass to break. However, while my dog was visibly under control a male member of staff continually admonioshed us for not having a lead, even though our dog was totally restrained by the collar while I waited a matter of seconds for the lead. We were clearly blamed for the others dogs behaviour despite full control over our dog. The member of staff refused to listen to what we wittnessed even though I assured him and he could see our dog was at my side and fully under my control. Her was arrogant and rude. Please listen to customers, behave equitably rather than rushing to judgement and be rational rather than rude. To that member of staff: you totally ruined a looked forward to outdoor lunch on the first really beautiful day this year. You should ponder on your behaviour and be ashamed of yourself to so irrationally spoil our day. Please also note that you have brought an end of the many family gatherings and meals we have had a Sherdians. Kevin HeffernanMore

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Bar Manager, General Manager at Tom Sheridans Bar Knocknacarra, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2022

Thank you for your review, however we are disappointed to read your feedback on the situation which occurred. In these situations the safety of our customers are always paramount. But if you would like to speak to management further on this incident, please call us...More

Reviewed 15 December 2021

Have been coming here for 12 years twice a year. Our visit on Monday was NOT good. I had chicken fillet burger. Deep fried and hard .flying saucer came to mind . Chips were cold . Not hot not lukewarm .really cold My partner had...steak .OK ish.no veg . Mashed spuds were grey . Not edible . Onion rings also cold. Moved to front bar I ordered brandy n port It arrived . Nip of brandy .nip of port . Asked for port to be brought to me .barman rudely said its in an optic . Serious I'm 64 . Port in an optic . A pure joke . Guinness was sour . According to my hubby .. Barman did order taxi for us . Cathy browne Cathybrowne123@gmail.com 0862903189More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Bar Manager, General Manager at Tom Sheridans Bar Knocknacarra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

Hi Cathy. Of course we appreciate your feedback but needless to say we are disappointed to read your review. We always encourage our customers to let us know if there is anything when can improve during your visit to the bar so we can try...More

Reviewed 26 November 2021

Three of us made a booking mid-week and we were all very happy with our respective selections. We had a lovely cosy corner. very comfortable and we were in our own little bubble.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 27 October 2021

Very good service, a short wait for a table and our COVID certs were carefully checked. Masks were worn by all staff and we had a nice table upstairs, tucked away from the circulation routes. The food was freshly prepared, with a good choice of...offers, and a wide range of drinks (including Guinness Zero, which I didn't know existed and is pretty good, by the way!). Service was excellent, something which always adds extra enjoyment and makes for a memorable dinner.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 23 October 2021

Amazing food and great pints coupled with absolutely unique and astoundingly Irish (in the best way) atmosphere. Service did seem to lean towards the slower side although our table was quite out of the way of general waiting routes with table service and it was...a busy night so I did not mind at all. 9.7/10 I would recommend any couple to visit this venue!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 October 2021

we had a lovely meal in this lovely pub ,great layout and wonderful atmosphere. Great menu surprisingly no steak shown on menu but with local knowledge we discovered it and it was excellent The fish and burgers are also great wash down with a lovely...craft beer Great efficient friendly staffMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 20 September 2021

After being recommended and given a 10% discount from the caravan site. We called in for food so glad we booked a table as they were turning phone callers away. very good Covid precautions. Food was delivered in a timely manner all commented on how...good it was. The portion that big the girls did not have sweets Which has to be a first. I have gone home but think my brother is going back in a few days. Thank youMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 15 September 2021 via mobile

What a find and just down the road from our hotel. This is a grand pub / restaurant that from the moment we got there we knew we were in for a good night. The queues at the door were a great sign. Service was...exceptional and the staff were so helpful . The food was exceptional. It arrived looking great and the taste was excellent. We all had to have three courses.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 9 September 2021 via mobile

Such a well organized establishment, instructions on entering and leaving during covid. Just great food and very friendly staff. Been here twice in the last month and just so cosy and friendly ambiance..

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Clybaun Hotel
751 reviews
.23 km away
Anno Santo
137 reviews
1.24 km away
Rockbarton Park Hotel
76 reviews
1.46 km away
Salthill Hotel
3,858 reviews
1.61 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ryan's Coffee shop
24 reviews
.70 km away
Capones Restaurant & Take away
266 reviews
.54 km away
Rockbarton Park Hotel and Tyson's Restaurant
8 reviews
1.40 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Woodville Walled Garden
50 reviews
.89 km away
Pure Skill Galway
98 reviews
.51 km away
Monkey Business
46 reviews
.83 km away
Overland Ireland
170 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tom Sheridans Bar Knocknacarra staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tom Sheridans Bar Knocknacarra

Tom Sheridans Bar Knocknacarra is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5