We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spiced Barna

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Get food delivered
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
Read more
Updated 29/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Spiced Barna
Updated 29/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$17 - US$23
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
69
7
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
69
7
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pasanda chicken saag sorbet cake indian restaurant online menu handed menus ordered lamb great indian food our waiter would highly recommend this restaurant service was excellent friday night take away galway city mild prandial
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food was delicious and definitely will eat there again next time i am back! Menu has lots to choose from and service was good.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 August 2021 via mobile

This was one of the highlights of our stay in Galway. The food was delicious and even the picky child was munching away happily. It all started with the pomadoms and dips which were demolished in seconds that a second round was brought out shortly...after. The meat was top notch along with the naans. Will we be back, YES of course it was so so good. Service was also spot on.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 17 August 2021

Food was okay but the charge at the till was more than the menu and online menu price. Not by much but it’s the principle of their adding money on as the mood takes them, definitely watch out if it’s a big party. Not an...abundance of meat in the Lamb Bhuna, wouldn’t rush backMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Peter barua, Owner at Spiced Barna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Hi first of all sorry for that.actually i checked you oder and complain.the new staff by mistake used table button where staff suppose to use takeaway button.I am really sorry for that.we always try deliver our best service to customers.If you want i can refund...More

Reviewed 12 March 2021

Had both tikka masala and biryani, both were very tasty and staff were friendly! Wait time wasn't long at all on a Friday night and food was hot when we got it home.

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 16 January 2021 via mobile

Firstly love the food and staff are very nice. I go out of my way to collect a take away because love the food . But be careful. Got overcharged. E.g. €50.15 and was charged€51.00 (small but noted). Shpuld have included 10% on orders or...over €30 but never applied (advertised on all latest menus). Another minor detail _meals come free with boiled rice(€1.75) but if you order pilua rice (€1.95) you get charged the full €1.95. More expensive than advertised.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Peter barua, Owner at Spiced Barna, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2021

Hi thanks for your comments.we are very sorry for that mistake. Actually one of our new staff did this mistake and we had a conversation about this mistake with you.We told we can refund the money or we can keep credit for her.she was happy...More

Reviewed 9 January 2021 via mobile

My husband and I absolutely love this place for takeaway. It beats any Indian food in Galway city. We have had probably 10+ different dishes and they are all delicious and fresh. We’ve had.. chicken korma, beef jalfrezi, chicken sag, chicken jaipuri, beef dansak, and...a few more. Every single time we order the food is hot and delicious. So impressed and would highly recommend this place! Also large portions and so reasonably priced for all the food you get!More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 24 November 2020

Spiced runs an excellent operation and its takeaways are always excellent. The food is so fresh always and such good quality. Great for all the family and very reasonably priced. Would totally recommend as one of the top takeaways in the area. The guys who...own are just lovely, so friendly and welcoming. Food delicious and you can really taste the spices used - great flavours.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 16 September 2020

Highly recommend this restaurant , food was superb and quality of service was excellent .. if we had stayed in Galway another nite we would have returned here without hesitation

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 8 September 2020

We visited this Indian on our first night in Barna, and were not disappointed. Really nice lay out, and the waitress was really helpful and friendly. The food was amazing, including the dessert - which was cheese cake, their special on the board. Will definitely...go back, as Indian would be our favorite to eat out.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 September 2020

Our first dinner out since lockdown took us to Barna's well known Indian restaurant. We were seated promptly and handed menus. Pre-prandial drinks arrived quickly. We both ordered Lamb Passanda, and it was delicious. My wife had a chocolate desert which she said was utterly...delicious; I ordered a mixed sorbet which was both refreshing and very tasty. Social distancing was carefully observed and impressively maintained. Altogether am most enjoyable meal and experience.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Twelve Hotel
2,664 reviews
.21 km away
Connemara Coast Hotel
1,063 reviews
3.14 km away
Clybaun Hotel
724 reviews
3.76 km away
Salthill Hotel
3,790 reviews
4.55 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
West Restaurant
380 reviews
.21 km away
O'Grady's on the Pier
1,232 reviews
.22 km away
Donnelly's of Barna
826 reviews
.21 km away
The Pins Gastro Bar
312 reviews
.21 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Woodville Walled Garden
50 reviews
3.01 km away
Bearna Golf and Country Club
32 reviews
3.27 km away
Wild Atlantic Way
2,727 reviews
5.15 km away
Circle of Life National Organ Donor Commemorative Garden
209 reviews
4.62 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
768emmak
16 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from peter089 | Property representative |
Hi Emma,Thanks for your query.We do both.You can collection yourself or we can deliver as well if you are in our delivery area.Thanks
3
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Spiced Barna

Yes, Spiced Barna offers takeaway services.

Yes, Spiced Barna offers delivery services.

Yes, Spiced Barna is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Spiced Barna is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5