We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Uniquely designed busy bar in the heart of Galway city center serving wholesome, quality food. 6 bars under the one roof including a thriving whiskey bar and cocktail bar - sit back enjoy some delicious food and drinks whilst overlooking Eyre Square. The Skeff Bar & Kitchen really is Galway's meeting place.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (972)
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
854 results
Traveller rating
352
240
91
65
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
352
240
91
65
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviews soup fish and chips eyre square great pub pint craic grub
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Skeffington bar oozes class and atmosphere. Lovely food and super friendly service. 10/10 . Will visit again for sure.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AshlingDudley, General Manager at The Skeff Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to read that your time with us was so enjoyable and that the team looked after you so...More

Reviewed 4 October 2022

I recently went in to the Skeffington arm's restaurant and I was doing some paperwork. The very pleasant Sara came over to my table two minutes after sitting down to ask on my order. I was just having tea but the attentive way in which...Sara kept checking was so professional. I will be back. Well done SaraMore

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AshlingDudley, General Manager at The Skeff Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2022

Dear Pat, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to read that your time with us was so enjoyable and that Sara looked after you so well....More

Reviewed 14 September 2022

I was here twice during my stay in Galway, once for food and a second time for a drink. I had chicken fajitas which came sizzling and with enough accompaniments.The food was tasty and a good portion. It was busy while we were there so...at times it was hard to get the attention of the waitress. There is an outside seating area which is great for people watching on a fine day.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AshlingDudley, General Manager at The Skeff Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to read that your time with us was most enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 5 September 2022 via mobile

I cannot recommend the Skeff highly enough, due to unfortunate turn of events our hen party of 18 were stuck for a venue , luckily the manager at the skeff done his best to accommodate us and not only did he make space for us...at 9 o’clock on a weekend night but he also held the kitchen until our party arrived and served us platters of finger food which was absolutely fabulous. The band on the night were outstanding , not only their music but they made such a fuss of our bride and honestly made her night. Thank you so much to everyone at the skeff things were looking pretty bad for us and you turned our night around!More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 August 2022 via mobile

So we went here and git drinks all went well until I asked foe a Guinness and they gave me one in a coors glass. This is a sin... any good itish perosn kneos the unspoken civil law ro respect the Guinness and its glass....This place has forgottten its roots :(. They then tried to charge me for the rectification of the issue and after i refuse dto pag they gave me a guinness glass and foeced me to pour the guinness into it. Absolutely destroying the pint... this place is worse than Cromwell and has less regard for irish culture...More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AshlingDudley, General Manager at The Skeff Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2022

Dear Cathal, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen and apologies that your experience was such a negative one. When you have a moment could you contact me on ashling@theskeff.ie...More

Reviewed 25 August 2022 via mobile

We ate and drank at the Skeff Bar several times during our three day stay in Galway. We especially liked the Wild Atlantic Way Seafood Chowder and the soup of the day, puréed Potato and Spinach. We also had the Roast Dinner which was excellent....The venue is spread out, but still cozy with many nooks and crannies. The place was fairly busy for lunch and dinner but not overcrowded. Definitely recommend if you are looking for a nice pub to have a dinner, some good food and to relax in.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AshlingDudley, General Manager at The Skeff Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to read that your time with us was enjoyable and I will make sure to pass your kind...More

Reviewed 24 August 2022 via mobile

Beautiful pub with good beer and great food. The service staff were very friendly and accommodating. It is relatively large pub but very beautiful with multiple bars that makes it feel quant.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AshlingDudley, General Manager at The Skeff Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to read that your time with us was enjoyable and that the team looked after you so well....More

Reviewed 26 July 2022

At a tour stop in Galway we found this cozy, charming delightful pub. The people were warm and friendly and the food was excellent. We came in out of the ran for a bit of soup and a drink and throughly enjoyed it all!More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AshlingDudley, General Manager at The Skeff Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to read that your time with us was so enjoyable and that the team looked after you so...More

Reviewed 23 July 2022

I was in the Skeff bar today with my partner and was served completely inedible food after waiting almost an hour for it too!! I ordered the beer battered cod and chips and the chips were very dry and as hard as the plate they...were served on my partner ordered goujons and chips and the goujons were cheap frozen type and completely tasteless and her chips were also inedible I can honestly say it's by far the worst food I've ever been served and not once were we asked if everything was OK avoid this place at all costs as you will leave hungry and very disgruntled as myself and my partner did todayMore

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AshlingDudley, General Manager at The Skeff Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2022

Dear Jonathan, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was disappointed to read that your time with us was not enjoyable and thank you for bringing this to our...More

Reviewed 18 July 2022 via mobile

Really dirty table area outside, even after a long wait for staff to half heartedly wipe it over. Inside the sound was way too loud, we moved to quieter area of the bar, along came a "dj" who tried to tune stereos which was painful....Clumsy, lazy, ill-mannered staff with no backbone or humour whatsoever... avoid this place there are way better places to spend your money in GalwayMore

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AshlingDudley, General Manager at The Skeff Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2022

Dear Deborah, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen and apologies that your time with us was so disappointing. When you have a moment could you contact me on ashling@theskeff.ie...More

Reviewed 27 June 2022 via mobile

Excellent service and excellent quality of soup. Personality from all staff members. Bar lady and both female waiter and male waiter. Coffee break was good too. Shelter from the rain . Better than the previous place I walked into. Meal l send back so l...move to Skeffington and it never disappointed me yet. I have to say good.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AshlingDudley, General Manager at The Skeff Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that the team looked after you so well....More

Reviewed 21 June 2022

Breakfast at 9am. A disappointing start to the day. Food was very greasy. Charged extra for a refill of black coffee. Expected better.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AshlingDudley, General Manager at The Skeff Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was disappointed to read that your time with us wasn't fully enjoyable and I will make sure to pass your...More

Reviewed 16 June 2022 via mobile

Lovely interior, great staff especially Niall and Craig. Although it was busy with graduates the staff handled it very well and no waiting to be served, and the 2 boys were extremely pleasant and professionalMore

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AshlingDudley, General Manager at The Skeff Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to read that your time with us was most enjoyable and that our team looked after you so...More

Reviewed 5 June 2022 via mobile

My girlfriend and I live in Galway, we would be regulars to the Skeff as it’s one of the most popular bars In Galway. My girlfriend and I went to the Skeff and were turned away for being “too on it” . It was our...first pub of the night, ruined our night. We couldn’t believe we’d been so blatantly refused from a pub we were in so often. We didn’t recognise the bouncer, he was definetly new, but he’d picked out my girlfriend as being “well on it” when it was very early in the night and we’d actually tried to walk in after a group of our drunk friends who were let in no problem. We went into O’Connells and tried again 30 minutes later. We were refused again on sight and we’re only met with animosity that we were way to drunk to come inside I must reiterate we tried to come in when it was our first pub of the night. Disgusted, would hope to never meet that bouncer again.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AshlingDudley, General Manager at The Skeff Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2022

Dear Gavin, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. Apologies that your experience was so disappointing and I will make sure to pass your feedback on to our Bar Manager....More

Reviewed 17 May 2022

We came from Germany to spend a week in Galway. We had two great evenings at the Skeff bar with great food. The beef burger and the hake were absolutly delicious. The staff was very kind, especially Jolynn, who served us on those two evenings....If we get back to Galway, we will revisit The Skeff.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AshlingDudley, General Manager at The Skeff Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2022

Dear Christine, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to read that your meal was so enjoyable and that Jolynn looked after you so well. I will...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Skeffington Arms Hotel
871 reviews
.01 km away
Imperial Hotel Galway
929 reviews
.09 km away
The Hardiman
2,385 reviews
.12 km away
Eyre Square Hotel
1,031 reviews
.17 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Esquires Coffee (Galway)
578 reviews
.12 km away
Zappi's
648 reviews
.12 km away
Pascal Coffee House
409 reviews
.11 km away
The Cellar Bar and Restaurant
829 reviews
.11 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Eyre Square
1,363 reviews
.06 km away
Oscar Wilde & Eduard Vilde Statue
39 reviews
.13 km away
Eyre Square Centre
44 reviews
.09 km away
Tribes Tours of Galway
196 reviews
.01 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jeff M
13 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from deborahcV7736GV | Reviewed this property |
Apparently this place will throw you out for a simple (not even swearing) opinion on service... ridiculous place
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE SKEFF BAR, Galway - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Skeff Bar

Yes, The Skeff Bar is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Skeff Bar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4