We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Skeff

€€ - €€€Irish, , European
Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
+353 91 563 173
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good32%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“soup” (12 reviews)
“fish and chips” (14 reviews)
“burger” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Meal was delicious as was the point of Guinness . It is right by the square where this Galway Christmas market is situated. Lovely proper Irish pub .More

Thank Sandy C
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Sandy C, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. It was great to read that both your meal and pint of Guinness were of really good quality. We are...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Paid for two drinks with a 50€ note last night and just given a few cents back by the dark haired young woman who served me. When I told her it wasn't enough change she went back to the till and came back with change...More

Thank Tourist0072014
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Tourist0072014, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen and when you have a moment could you contact me on ashling@theskeff.ie with the date of your visit, area you were served...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Warm and inviting venue. Nice menu selection, huge portions and delicious food. Friendly bartenders and wait staff. The entertainment on the night we visited was excellent.More

Thank rrodeo
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear rrodeo, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to read that your time with us was a really enjoyable one and I will make sure to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Found the food very good while sitting at the bar. A bit loud maybe, but quite tasty. Service was good and helpful.More

Thank JourneyImaged
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear JourneyImaged, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. It was great to read that you had a really enjoyable time with us and we hope to welcome you back to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant was a convenient short walk from The Victoria Hotel. Great menu, a bit pricey but delicious food. Restaurant was very busy, very loud and the clientele on the Saturday evening I was there was very young...twenties and thirties. Service was good. My only...More

Thank Claudesta
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Claudesta, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. It was great to read that you enjoyed your meal with us. I will address your helpful feedback about offering take-out...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food was delicious! Got more than what we expected. Would definitely visit again. Very friendly staffMore

Thank roropatel27
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear roropatel27, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. It was great to read that you had a really enjoyable meal experience with us and will pass your kind words onto...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our needs were minimal, just a sandwich and a beer, away from the crowded pedestrian "restaurant row." The Skeffington is on Eyre Square, a welcome splash of green. As they say, "nothing to write home about," except this: I asked the bartender for some pointers...More

Thank AvuncularAmerican
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear AvuncularAmerican, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your time in The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. As you can see our team are passionate about whiskey and are even more passionate about making sure our guests have a...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Coffee average at best, no cream to top it all off..... or not......no cream. Giant screens for matches tho and nice views from outside shame about the coffeeMore

Thank Kate G
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Kate G, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor to share your feedback from your visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was disappointed to read that your Irish Coffee was not of a good standard and I...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great friendly pub. The staff are excellent and helpful. Large selection of beers and reasonable prices for city centre. Good outside seating overlooking the main square and just around the corner from the Main StreetMore

Thank Michael L
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Michael L, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. Delighted you had a great time with us and I will make sure to pass your kind feedback on to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Yet another great bar in central Galway. Menu didnt tempt my veggie partner so we didnt eat here. A nice warm atmosphere.More

Thank Nigel S
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Nigel S, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. It was great to read that you popped in to see us during your time in Galway city and I...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Esquires Coffee
163 reviews
.12 km away
The Cellar Bar and Restaurant
490 reviews
.11 km away
The Charcoal Grill
256 reviews
.15 km away
Maxwells Restaurant
464 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Eyre Square
1,136 reviews
.06 km away
The Medieval City Walls
135 reviews
.14 km away
The Fountain
17 reviews
.14 km away
Galway Crafts and Collectables
6 reviews
.05 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jeff M
13 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Richard S | Reviewed this property |
God knows our round was 33 pints of Guinness !
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Western Ireland  >  Province of Connacht  >  County Galway  >  Galway
  • Phone Number: +353 91 563 173
  • E-mail
Description
Uniquely designed busy bar in the heart of Galway city center serving wholesome, quality food. 6 bars under the one roof including a thriving whiskey bar and cocktail bar - sit back enjoy some delicious food and drinks whilst overlooking Eyre Square. The Skeff Bar & Kitchen really is Galway's meeting place.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing