We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 19/4
20:00

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
€5 - €12
CUISINES
Cafe, European, Irish
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (425)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
246
57
37
37
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
246
57
37
37
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch toasties salad linguine chicken burger pancakes prawns tex mex wonderful food on tap galway city staff were so friendly courses ireland
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago

Such a great place really good food very reasonably priced staff were so lovely and friendly will definitely be back soon.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 days ago

Galway dodgeball went for brunch. They accommodated a large group of us. Great coffee, amazing food and presented well. Place was clean. Would recommend. Good variety on the menu. Definitely will go back

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Went for lunch. It was a reasonably quiet day in Galway and after not being able to get into another cafe due to no free tables we went to Caprice. It was quiet which surprised, hadn’t been for years, the last times it had always...been busy. Checking the menu it had in bold that each guest must purchase at least a main course. The breakfast had also in bold that it was served as is no changes possible. Understand that each business are free to operate as they please - just posting here to advise others of this. It felt overbearing so we left without eating so cannot comment on anything else.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicky Casey, Owner at Caprice, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

This review is ridiculous. Unfair our full irish dish comes as is with no changes that is all. Nit the entire menu so this review is not correct. Trip advisor is for people who dine with us no passing comments on our business thank u

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointed. Had a table booked for a certain time but we were left at the door for some time so they could try and get a table. We were put up stairs into the far right corner where they have old sash windows. The...draft coming in the windows was terrible and we were very cold to a degre that I went to put my hand up to the window and realised a draft was coming in. We closed the curtains to try and ease it as mum was cold. Service was poor and very slow along with food not being great at all. I had thought this place was a lot nicer but unfortunately it was a let down. I don't like leaving reviews like this but if ye are charging those prices you need to know where to improve.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicky Casey, Owner at Caprice, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

I'm very confused at this review. Firstly couod you tell us when your visit was ? What is it u feel is priced wrong as we have a very fair menu daily and nightly. Your comments just don't sit right with me I would welcome...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had a work experience at Caprice and it was the most beautiful I’ve ever done. I’ve learned so much with them and I improved in almost every aspect of my character and of my skillset. The people working there are very gentle and they...taught me a lot of things. The food is a piece of art here and is very suggested. Hope that who reads that will go for a brunch or a lunch there at CapriceMore

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Best post St Paddys Day brunch ever! Tex Mex eggs all the way & great coffee…..wonderful to see the smiling staff & happy chefs too….great, tasty food cooked any day for you 😃

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2024

Enjoyed a fabulous breakfast today. We ordered the granola with freshly baked warm scones and French toast with bacon and lovely cappuccinos. It was divine. I always order French toast for breakfast and have to say that Caprice is definitely the best in Galway for...this dish. The staff were so attentive and the owner even greeted us and chatted with us at our table making the overall experience very positive. Will definitely be recommending to family and friends.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2024

Great spot, we brought our one year old daughter and the staff were extremely attentive to her as we ate! Excellent food really tasty and filling we will definitely be back 🤤 😋

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2024

Love'd it! The food was excellent. A great place to bring friends and family. The place was really clean and artistic! All the staff where so friendly and understanding.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2023

Fabulous food & service. Went above & beyond to make sure we had everything we needed for our baby granddaughter. So much food, was delicious. Will definitely return!

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2023

23/12/23. The worst experience and most ignorant woman I've ever come across. What was meant to be a Christmas family meal quickly turned into a surreal experience. After waiting 30 minutes for our order and coffees, we queried the delay, not a single apology or...admission of fault. We had 2 small kids in toe so could not wait longer as was suggested! Initially told we could order a half portion of pancakes for 2 kids we ended up being charged 24e for 2 small kids pancakes and 2 childrens hot chocolates. When we queried the bill my wife was accused of looking for a free meal! The owner/manager could not be more rude. Safe to say we will not be returning. Stay away.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicky Casey, Owner at Caprice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

To see this the night before Christmas after I had to ask you to leave my business because you were so horrible to me is just unbelievable. It's not worth the time answering your rant above. Just let us know where you work so we...More

Reviewed 23 December 2023

Terrible service and very poor standard of food. I waited for more than 20 minutes for my food when the five people who arrived later than I,beside me got there food before mine. No attempt of staff to engage with me. I had to get...out of my seat twice and ask for my food. Very little apology given. I had said to cancel my order as it didn't even seem like my dinner was cooked and it really wasn't. I received a chicken breast thrown on top of uncooked pasta. Really was ridiculous. I actually think I got overcharged. 30 euro for a poor spag ball with a glass of wine and coke. I didn't question as I actually just wanted to leave the building quick. When leaving there was no attempt from front of staff. This restaurant is extremely overrated and I would not return again.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 December 2023 via mobile

We tried breakfast here, ordered the eggs Benedict and eggs with mushrooms. Muffins burns, eggs completely hard, and some items cold. Latte had an unpleasant aftertaste. Could not recommend.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicky Casey, Owner at Caprice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2023

Kevin, I'm disappointed to see you put this review up. We checked you during your meal and you said everything was fine. When it came time to pay is when the complaint came. We did not charge you for your meal as I wanted to...More

Reviewed 5 December 2023

Nice but doesn’t have the wow factor. Restaurant felt a bit cold. My partner ordered a bottle of Coors, he thought it tasted a bit funny, turns out it was out of date. We asked the waiter for another bottle and explained how it was...out of date. The waiter brought my partner another bottle of Coors that was also out of date….I found the food pricey for what we got. I don’t think I would recommend or return, especially seeing as there are so many other restaurant options in GalwayMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicky Casey, Owner at Caprice, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2023

I'm very sorry to read this review and find it very strange that this happened. Could u advise me exactly what date you were with us and I will look into this review more. Please feel free to contact me directly on 091564781. Would like...More

Reviewed 30 November 2023

Omg amazing food service hospitality and very clean vibrant atmosphere 😍 Highly recommended by me and others Staff excellent and professional very friendly looking forward to seeing them again 😀 👍 Thank you Adrian and Staff

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicky Casey, Owner at Caprice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2023

Thank you so much for your review it really means alot. See you soon x

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Corrib House Hotel
2 reviews
.21 km away
Imperial Hotel Galway
982 reviews
.23 km away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
959 reviews
.25 km away
The Residence Hotel
545 reviews
.25 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Sheridans Cheesemongers Wine Shop & Wine Bar
389 reviews
.10 km away
The Willow Tree
26 reviews
.01 km away
McCambridge's of Galway
602 reviews
.09 km away
The Gourmet Offensive
156 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Saint Nicholas' Collegiate Church
592 reviews
.06 km away
Galway Market
76 reviews
.09 km away
Lynch's Castle
144 reviews
.10 km away
The Lynch Memorial
35 reviews
.01 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Caprice staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CAPRICE, Galway - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Caprice

Yes, Caprice is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Caprice is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4