We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Union8

#255 of 2,210 Restaurants in Dublin
€€ - €€€Irish, European,
740 South Circular Road, Dublin 8, Ireland
+353 1 677 8707
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (69 reviews)
“burger” (41 reviews)
“venison” (19 reviews)
Closes in 8 min
10:30 - 21:30 Hours
CUISINES
Irish, European, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
740 South Circular Road, Dublin 8, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 442 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Union 8 regulars for breakfast and dinner, lively spot great food, service and atmosphere. A great addition to the Dublin cuisine scene and looking forward to many more meals here.

Thank Dub6w
Reviewed 4 days ago

Returning to my native Dublin a lot, found this peach of a restaurant not far from home. The service was prompt, attentive and very friendly, the food was top-drawer - my new favourite restaurant in Dublin

Thank Barry C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This restaurant is taking full advantage of its geographical monopoly. The restaurant is lovely and buzzy, but unfortunately the food is just not good enough to justify the prices. It really is worth the trip into town for both imaginative modern cuisine and bang for...More

Thank baggot14
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

OMG what a find! Brought two of my daughters, their husbands, my partner and my 3 grandchildren here for brunch... The food was fantastic, service was excellent, everyone enjoyed their food, the atmosphere and the service. I will be back again soon and I'd definitely...More

Thank Jenakin
PaulOffaly, Owner at Union8, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Jenakin, thank you very much for such a lovely review! We are so happy you enjoyed your time here & look forward to welcoming you (and all of your friends) back! Have a lovely day.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food here is delicious, so good I’ve gone back multiple times. The daily soups are excellent and the chicken bap and pulled pork bap I have tried there have both been outstanding. They offer many gluten free options including bread for the “baps”. Highly recommend!

Thank VanessaRS93
PaulOffaly, Owner at Union8, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Nessa093, thank you for taking the tyime to write such a lovely review about Union8! We are so happpy you enjoyed your time here! :)

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I met a friend for lunch here. I found the premises to be bright and Spacious. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The food was delicious. I had grilled chicked on a brioche bun with salad and fries, my friend had grilled mackerel with...More

Thank Liampoole
PaulOffaly, Manager at Union8, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Liam, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are thrilled you had a good time. Don't be a stranger! Best wishes from all in Union 8

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was not my first visit , but for me the experience is always so enjoyable. The atmosphere, service & staff was all excellent. The food choice on the menu always seems to give me choice that was not there on my last visit . The...More

Thank Tony D
PaulOffaly, Owner at Union8, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Tony D, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this very complimentary review! We are so happy you always have a lovely time at Union8, even when the internet is down! We look forward to seeing you again very soon. From...More

Reviewed 12 October 2018

A little higher prices than other places around but the food was creatively presented and tasted good. Check out the daily specials.

Thank Texhusky75
PaulOffaly, Owner at Union8, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Texhusky75, Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We're happy to hear you liked the presentation and taste of our food. We hope that we might see you again soon. All the best, from all the staff at Union8!

Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Went to this restaurant yesterday with two others. Food really poor. My eggs and avocado was an unpalatable and cold. One of my companion had very fatty meat and the other could not eat her cooked breakfast because the rashers were hard! The staff began...More

1  Thank Anne O
PaulOffaly, Owner at Union8, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Anne, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback to us regarding your last visit to Union8. We apologise for any inconvenience caused by the sweeping/hoovering; this was not acceptable while you were dining. We will also let our staff know about...More

Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

having been surprised by my 13 year old daughter for my birthday a meal in this restaurant after months of passing it by saying i would love to try it. after my daughter rang and booked it herself there was no reservation made we were...More

Thank Louisekeelin
PaulOffaly, Owner at Union8, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hi Louisekeelin, We are very disappointed that you didn't enjoy your time in Union8 for your birthday. However, we appreciate all feedback received about Union8. As our menu changes seasonally, it is difficult to include a large number of dishes that pleases absolutely everyone but...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 153 hotels in Dublin
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
2,411 reviews
.32 km away
Phoenix Park Hotel
375 reviews
1.29 km away
Ashling Hotel
5,212 reviews
1.47 km away
Park Inn Dublin
137 reviews
2.19 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Limetree Cafe
277 reviews
.35 km away
La Dolce Vita
400 reviews
.26 km away
The Patriots Inn
363 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kilmainham Gaol
23,615 reviews
.32 km away
Richmond Barracks
158 reviews
.59 km away
Pearse Lyons Distillery
286 reviews
1.26 km away
War Memorial Gardens
187 reviews
.76 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Aphria
2 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Rai1 | Reviewed this property |
Apologies for the long time in replying. Parking is very scarce. There are a couple of spots on the corner where the restaurant is located, but the best space may be found by heading towards the Hilton Hotel or turn at the... More
0
Votes
Ruth G
20 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from PaulOffaly | Property representative |
Yes we do indeed have a fully wheelchair accessible bathroom.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$14 - US$40
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 - 21:00
Monday
09:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 21:30
Thursday
09:00 - 21:30
Friday
09:00 - 21:30
Saturday
10:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 740 South Circular Road, Dublin 8, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin
  • Phone Number: +353 1 677 8707
  • E-mail
Description
Union8 is a new contemporary neighbourhood Eatery situated in the heart of the vibrant residential, cultural & business district of Dublin 8. Close to Kilmainham Gaol, IMMA, St. James's Hospital and Hilton Hotel Kilmainham. The name reflects our goal - to become the hub and focal point of our community & for those from further afield! We also chose it because of our location (union of roads) and our belief as to what a truly local restaurant should be (union of people). We are interested in achieving prominence based on consistency & quality rather than publicity. The seasonal dishes are modern & well-balanced, with just a few ingredients. The wine list is adventurous and keenly priced, and the service is professional while appearing casual and friendly. All of which can be enjoyed in a stylish contemporary space. We are open 7 days every week. Our food offering encompasses the entire day and evening. From morning coffee, daily lunch / food menu to casual eatery by night. Not to mention Sunday brunch! - served from 10.30am to 3.30pm. -SELECTION OF WINES, BEERS & SPIRITS NOW AVAILABLE-
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing