We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#300 of 2,101 Restaurants in Dublin
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$4 - US$12
CUISINES
Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Wine Bar, Catalan
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
813 results
Traveller rating
418
239
76
44
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
418
239
76
44
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas churros croquetas chorizo prawns potatoes small plates no booking food and wine lovely atmosphere city centre dishes dundrum euro ireland
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food is lovely, it's a nice place to go and enjoy a few different dishes. Staff were lovely, my only complaint was the 1/2 cheese board ordered at the end, whilst tasty the price took the p**s a bit, 5 grapes (tiny) and 4...slices of cheese (very thin) accompanied with a (lovely) hone, chutney and giant biscuit (no nice bread?) - but seriously this was the most expensive dish ordered. Temple draft beer tasted a bit butterscotch, but the Galicia bottle of beer was nice and took me back to times in Madrid. Lovely setting but I can't help feel it's a touch overpriced, even after 5 dishes you will want to eat a few hours later - but tasty so kudos tot he chef.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
ThePorthouseIreland, Marketing at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Patrick, Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate all feedback we receive from our customers. We will pass on your kind message to the chef. Thank you & hopefully we will see you again at The Port House.

Reviewed 13 June 2021

Have visited this restaurant previously and can't fault the food, unfortunately didn't get to enjoy food at the Sth William restaurant today. We ensured to book a table in advance but upon arrival we were told table wasn't ready and were handed drink menu and...told to wait somewhere out of the way, which we had no problem with. Half an hour later, still no table or acknowledgement/apology. Asked the front of house for update, she was rude and said they had already explained to us that table wasn't ready and to wait out on the road! No apology, she actually came across irritated that we even asked. We decided to leave and had a lovely meal and service elsewhere. I can see a lot of complaints here about the rude service, pity management don't seem to be dealing with this.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?2  
ThePorthouseIreland, Owner at The Port House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

Hi Fernanda, Thank you for your feedback, we take allegations such as these very seriously in our restaurants. Unfortunately, I think the main cause of this issue is two fold. The first being that, due to government guidelines the maximum seating time in any restaurant...More

Reviewed 13 June 2021 via mobile

We went there on the 12nd of June. As usual before the lockdown I frequently have gone to the restaurant with friends because I really enjoyed the atmosphere, food and drink. So today we decided to go there again. Today we waited almost one hour...to get a table (we understand and accepted the wait because of the COVID restrictions). Me and my friend were in the middle of our drink and food, then our nightmare started. The manager asked me if I would like to order something else, and my answer was until now we are fine, because I didn’t know if I want something else at this point or not, so she brought the bill (without my permission), and I didn’t have other option except pay, so I paid. After 10 minutes she came back to the table talking to us in an extremely rude manner and without patience “You have to finish your drink out of the table, in that case out of the table means on the road, because we were already on the pavement”. I was confusing about what was going on, and asked her why we should leave and if she asked the same to the others customers. Surprisingly her answer was they are different, they are spending more money than you. Actually there was a couple in a table close to us more than one hour just with one drink, and we had sat minutes ago. Only in that time I realized we were suffering racism and xenophobia, because all other clients that were in the restaurants were white and Irish, and at no time were they required to leave the table. Making the situation worse I also had to show my receipt with the amount I spent to keep sitting to finish my drink and food (we had already spent almost 100 euros). Obviously, we left the table as soon we finished our drink, but with some many question in our mind. Do you finds this treatment of customers acceptable? We spent nearly a 100€ so we were not just taking up the table? People spending less were not asked to do the same, only us. For what reason were we asked and they were not? When will the racism/xenophobia with foreigners specially towards black people stop? I trust that you will seriously consider our complaint and give us a reasonable explanation. Thank you. Expecting your reply, Fernanda BarbosaMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 5 January 2021

We dined here in December. Food was delish and service was great too. Only downside was that it was a little bit pricey for what you get.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 3 January 2021

We arrived around 2 and the restaurant was almost empty with one waiter. While we waited for our food to be prepared the restaurant filled to capacity. We were astonished by the waiters ability to attend to everyone in such an efficient and kind manner....He was refilling our water bottle even before we asked! The atmosphere is very romantic and cozy with candles and wine bottles everywhere. The food was delicious. The only improvement could have been to have the food served at a warmer temperature. However, it was very cold and the place was packed so it was understandable. Definitely one of our faves in Dublin. Hope they add gazpacho to the menu in the summer.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 14 December 2020

Food was gorgeous, staff were very friendly and helpful. Red wine was unreal. Gluten free options too which is great for me as I am a coeliac. The only thing I would have changed is, where we sat it was very dark. So could use...a little light. We had to use our phones to see the menu. Will definitely go back.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 12 December 2020

Went for first meal out since lock down in March was really looking forward to it and left extremely disappointed.only one member of staff serving and under a lot of pressure. Ordered a caipirinha cocktail which should be made with cáchaca and we got a...half shot vodka with lime juice poured over a glass full of ice and priced at 11euro. Food was terrible left after 15mins still hungry. Thankfully the Temple bar pub across the road was absolutely amazing very warm and friendly saved the day.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 12 December 2020 via mobile

Absolutely excellent service from Odelia, Raphella & all the rest of the team. Efficient, friendly & warm service, everyone we interacted with was delightful, we could tell they were all smiling beneath their masks! Though there was a delay in seating customers this was to...be expected in these trying times. I would suggest a safer queuing system, given the location of the restaurant this may be difficult to achieve, perhaps some clear signs at the entrance to direct people how to queue safely or even better a staff member at the outside entrance to direct customers? Odelia the hostess is a consummate professional & handled a challenging environment with grace & efficiency. Our main waitress Raphella was so friendly & knew the menu very well, patiently recommending the best dishes to try. As the only vegetarian in our party I particularly appreciated her advice, there’s simply so much to choose from! The food was delicious & very reasonably priced. We’ll most definitely be back! In the meantime wishing all at ‘The Port House’ a successful festive season & a happy & healthy 2021.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 11 December 2020

Whilst the food was nice unfortunately this was overshadowed by the incredibly rude and aggressive front of house. We booked into Porthouse as our first post lockdown meal. Having been before I was really looking forward to it but unfortunately the service was a huge...let down. As a result I will not return. We arrived for our 8.45 booking on time, and waited at the door to be greeted as is usually the case at a restaurant. By 9.15 pm nobody had acknowledged us despite trying to grab the attention of staff several times. There were a few bookings waiting at the door, not one was greeted meanwhile front of house is frantically running up and down the stairs with the reservation list. We finally grabbed the attention of the lady who appeared to be front of house and her attitude could only be described as aggressive and intimidating. We were looking for reassurance that our table would be ready soon. Instead she shouted at us to point out our name on the reservation list, after which she shouted at us again to not touch her list (which we hadn't). I felt very uncomfortable at this point to be spoken to like that and it's something i've never experienced in a restaurant. At 9.30pm, 45 minutes after our reservation time, we are brought to our table by front of house. No acknowledgement of the delay. I felt it would have been very simple and standard customer service/manners for her to say "sorry about the delay". I simply pointed out that our reservation was 45 minutes ago and was again met with aggression and had her shout at me that people were staying past their allotted time. I completely understand that reservations can be difficult to manage at times and there's bound to be delays. My issue was not with the delay itself but more so with her lack of acknowledgement and general bad manners. Unfortunately it didn't matter what the food was like at this point as her attitude had soured the whole experience. When leaving the table beside us asked did we notice the attitude of front of house and commented that they had a similar experience. Stay clear of here if looking for a friendly welcome and good customer service.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 20 October 2020

Food was fine but the service was absolutely awful. Our waitress was incredibly rude and off-putting. We actually didn't tip at all as a result and gave the tip to a homeless person on route home instead. There are much better options in Dublin for...a nice meal.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?3  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Central Hotel
1,070 reviews
.13 km away
Central Hotel
20 reviews
.14 km away
The Sweeney
85 reviews
.16 km away
Adams Trinity Hotel
112 reviews
.17 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Murphys Ice Cream
773 reviews
.03 km away
Red Torch Ginger
1,630 reviews
.06 km away
Boeuf
344 reviews
.01 km away
Cornucopia Restaurant
1,596 reviews
.04 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Powerscourt Townhouse Centre
201 reviews
.08 km away
Fallon & Byrne
107 reviews
.08 km away
John Farrington Antiques
5 reviews
.08 km away
Irish Music Bar Tour
14 reviews
.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Port House staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Port House

The Port House is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5