We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#139 of 2,118 Restaurants in Dublin
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

Chock full of characterful bric-a-brac, The Old Spot sits just a stone’s throw from the sports stadium. It’s a popular place on match days but with two...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
The MICHELIN Plate: Good cooking
Simple restaurant
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveller rating
334
138
33
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
334
138
33
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast steak gnocchi tuna prawns fries soup gastro pub great atmosphere wine list great food and service mains carrots pubs euro
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We arrived before dinner in restaurant up the road and were given a warm welcome. Beautiful pub and beautifully decorated. Very quick service Will return again for longer visit

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Loyola Group, Marketing at The Old Spot, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for visiting us at The Old Spot and for taking the time to review your visit. We hope to see you again soon, perhaps for dinner this time! Thank you The Old Spot Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

An absolutely fantastic meal. Great food packed full of flavour, friendly and helpful staff, lovely atmosphere. Wish I had this place as my local, we had a really lovely night out, and look forward to going back.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Loyola Group, Marketing at The Old Spot, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting us at The Leopardstown Inn and for taking the time to review your visit. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you The Leopardstown Inn Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely superb lunch! Amazing food, lovely atmosphere and the staff are excellent!! Wonderful oysters and the roast dinner is well worth a visit here!

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Loyola Group, Marketing at The Old Spot, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting us at The Old Spot and for taking the time to review your visit. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you The Old Spot Team

Reviewed 21 October 2021 via mobile

A welcome quality food establishment. Never sure of how good a place is even with a Michelin star but this did not disappoint staff amazingly friendly, Covid secure as much as any place can be and food top notch, definitely a revisit on next trip...to DublinMore

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Loyola Group, Marketing at The Old Spot, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2021

Thank you for visiting us at The Old Spot and for taking the time to review your visit. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you The Old Spot Team

Reviewed 9 October 2021

Following a recommendation from our hotel, we ventured on down for Sunday lunch. From start to finish this was magnificent. I had the soup to start followed by the greatest Sunday lunch of my life. The service, the ambience and the alcohol lead this to...being a contender for one of the best pubs I have ever been to.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Loyola Group, Marketing at The Old Spot, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2021

Thank you for visiting us at The Old Spot and for taking the time to review your visit. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our Sunday Lunch! We hope to see you again soon. Thank you The Old Spot Team

Reviewed 26 September 2021 via mobile

Gorgeous dinner and cocktails. The staff were lovely and accomadating. There was a great atmosphere in the restaurant. 100% would recommend a visit.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
orloyola, General Manager at The Old Spot, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2021

Thank you for visiting us at The Old Spot and for taking the time to review your visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 19 September 2021 via mobile

We’d driven from Downpatrick to Sandymount, checked in the hotel and booked a table here. Dumped the car got there early and they gave us the table straight away. The atmosphere was fantastic, great menu and even better wine list. The place was filling up...fast, plenty of locals in there. Denise looked after us all night and tried to save us from the girl sat next to us who was soooooooo loud. We tried to talk over her but had to come up for air at some point. This place was just what we needed after a long drive. We will certainly be going backMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
orloyola, General Manager at The Old Spot, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2021

Thank you for visiting us at The Old Spot and for taking the time to review your visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 19 September 2021

Sunday roast was cold, one carrot, 3 small potatoes, raw broccoli and a small Yorkshire pudding. Beef was raw. Over priced for what you get, very disappointing. Avoid if you want a nice homely well cooked Sunday dinner as you will not get this here....Shocked at how bad it was to be honest. The meal Was €27!!!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?2  
orloyola, General Manager at The Old Spot, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2021

Thank you for visiting The Old Spot. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us. If you have any feedback that could help us to improve your experience, please email us at info@theoldspot.ie. Thank you.

Reviewed 12 September 2021

Sunday roast beef was great and heard the beer roasted chicken was good too . Looking forward to having it all again soon.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
orloyola, General Manager at The Old Spot, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2021

Thank you for visiting us at The Old Spot and for taking the time to review your visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

Lovely birthday dinner for daughter. Buzzing wee place. Food was delicious and staff were very accommodating to vegan dietary requests. Lovely staff- very chatty and helpful. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
orloyola, General Manager at The Old Spot, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2021

Thank you for visiting us at The Old Spot and for taking the time to review your visit. We hope to see you again soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Roxford Lodge Hotel
1,847 reviews
.35 km away
Ariel House
1,894 reviews
.39 km away
Schoolhouse Hotel
1,554 reviews
.43 km away
Ballsbridge Hotel
2,993 reviews
.56 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Juniors
421 reviews
.07 km away
The Chop House Gastro Pub
918 reviews
.08 km away
Paulie's Pizza
602 reviews
.11 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Windmill Lane Recording Studios
69 reviews
.55 km away
Shelbourne Park Greyhound Stadium
468 reviews
.39 km away
Aviva Stadium
1,144 reviews
.39 km away
National Print Museum
98 reviews
.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Grainne_262
5 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from franmom | Reviewed this property |
Don't know but we had the "carrot cake" which was the dessert of the day and it was to die for.
1
Vote
Bluemo1878
4 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from FreezingIrish | Reviewed this property |
Your asking a fellow traveler. I've no idea how to fix. Email trip via their help.
0
Votes
Jane P
11 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from brianmP8993JV | Reviewed this property |
Hi. You have to talk to trip advisor to become 'owner ' of the page. This will let you respond.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Spot

The Old Spot is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5