We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Music Shop Restaurant

COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 29/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Old Music Shop Restaurant
Updated 29/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Sponsored by: Old Music Shop Restaurant

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Delicious Afternoon Tea
1. Delicious Afternoon Tea
"Our afternoon tea in the Old Music Shop Cafe was delicious."
See reviews that mention Delicious Afternoon Tea
2. Lovely Place with Yummy Food
2. Lovely Place with Yummy Food
"for steak i can honestly say its one of the best ive had"
See reviews that mention Lovely Place with Yummy Food
3. Excellent Service and Value
3. Excellent Service and Value
" Really blown away with the service and value of this restaurant."
See reviews that mention Excellent Service and Value
The Old Music Shop Restaurant at the Castle Hotel has a brand new heated outdoor dining terrace & four elegantly restored Georgian and spacious dining rooms, just off Parnell Square in Dublin 1. The clever amalgamation of styles from elegant to relaxed gives this restaurant a truly unique atmosphere in historical Georgian surroundings serving lunch, dinner and afternoon tea. Every afternoon we offer an elegant Traditional Afternoon Tea with a selection of organic herbal teas and fresh finger sandwiches, fresh scones, pastries and desserts. For our evening diners we offer casual dining with favourites such as pizza, pasta, steak, salads and fish. We also have an extensive wine list to suit all
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Irish, European, Healthy
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak salmon castle hotel city centre voucher
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 27 December 2021

We really enjoyed our afternoon tea at The Old Music Shop - the food was delicious and the staff were very friendly and made us feel at ease. A really cosy and affordable experience. Thank you so much!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Castle Hotel, General Manager at Old Music Shop Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2022

Dear Edel Thank you so much for your kind review, now the Christmas decorations have been taken down and we are moving into Spring, our classic Afternoon tea menu is available, would love to have the chance to welcome you back sometime in the future....More

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 19 August 2020

This was the nicest afternoon tea we have ever had. The food was delicious, service second to none, the hotel is a lovely old world gem. I would like to thank Trevor especially for his top class customer service. Other restaurants should take a leaf...out of Castle Hotels' book on quality and service. Highly recommend and will definitely return.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Sinéad S, Owner at Old Music Shop Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2021

Fantastic. We are so happy you had a great afternoon tea with us. We really do aim to please and of course the kind words about Trevor will be pasted on. Hopefully we will see you soon.

Reviewed 26 December 2021 via mobile

Pre Covid I bought my mum and her friend a voucher through Livingsocial for afternoon tea. I was very grateful the hotel honoured the voucher given how much time had elapsed with the various lockdowns/restrictions. Stephan was fantastic immediately putting me at ease when I...phoned that there wouldn’t be any issues on the day. He also mentioned the manager was Trevor. My mum and her friend arrived, despite there being a slight pickle with the voucher (as I hadn’t printed the correct part of the voucher) they assured them both not to worry and relax and enjoy it. My mum and friend both said it was “the best afternoon tea” they had both ever had and the service was outstanding! They particularly commended the female waitress that served them together with Trevor who personally made an appearance to welcome them which was a lovely touch. My mum phoned me afterwards and I managed to email the correct voucher across. I cannot put into words how special it made them feel but also how much the staff trusted me to email the correct part of the voucher and my integrity was never questioned. They were delighted we were impressed, will definitely return and recommend to others. Thank you Trevor, Yvonne, Stephan and the wonderful team at the Castle Hotel/Old Music Shop!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Castle Hotel, General Manager at Old Music Shop Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2022

Dear LandL80 Thank you for your kind review, I know you also were very kind to take the time to write to me and I have already passed on your lovely comments to Trevor and the team here. I hope we will have a chance...More

Reviewed 4 October 2021

I brought a group of 12 ladies here to celebrate an 80th birthday. The afternoon tea was plentiful and delicious. The staff were both friendly and proffessional & the manager Eoin was constantly checking on us to make sure we had everything we needed and...were enjoying our day . Altogether a great experience and such great value for money. Id highly recommend this restaurant.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Sinéad S, Owner at Old Music Shop Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2021

Thank you for the brilliant review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the time with us and look forward to seen you all again and of course we will let Eoin know he is still doing an amazing job. Thanks again.

Reviewed 3 October 2021

Yesterday 12 family and friends had a fabulous afternoon tea to celebrate our favourite Aunts 80th birthday,which lasted well on into the evening. The food was fresh and delicious, well presented and served .The surroundings are comfortable and beautiful in this Georgian Hotel .it was...our third visit and we'll definitely go back again for the food and the service ,and the good value cant be beatenMore

Date of visit: October 2021
dublin3326, Manager at Old Music Shop Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2021

Hello Deeode. I would like to thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you joined us once again to celebrate Aunts 80th birthday and hopefully we see you soon. Many Thanks. Trevor.

Reviewed 5 July 2021

Love the outdoor dining area, this was my second visit in a few weeks. Place is decorated nicely with colourful plants and lights, carrot and coriander soup was fab for starter and the salmon for main was great too, hearty unpretentious food. I didn’t catch...the employees name that served us, dark haired guy in a blue shirt but he was so lovely and accommodating!More

Date of visit: July 2021
Tom M, General Manager at Old Music Shop Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Thanks so much for the 5 Stars LouiseIK5581KN... we're delighted you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon... best regards Tom

Reviewed 18 June 2021

Ordered Afternoon tea it was fab everything was lovely and fresh and a great selection got it delivered and it was in a lovely box with a small birthday banner best afternoon tea i ever had beautiful

Date of visit: June 2021
Muir Kyey, Owner at Old Music Shop Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2021

Thank you so much for leaving this review. We will continue to offer Afternoon Tea at Home this summer - it's great for birthdays and other celebrations. we hope you all enjoyed the birthday celebrations. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Reviewed 7 June 2021

Food was bad. Got beetroot and goat cheese starter. Had the potential to be nice, good ingredients but drowned in dressing and cheese was gloopy rather than crumbly and way too much goats cheese. We both ordered the steaks. We were informed shortly after they...didn’t have any more chips. We were the third booking of the night from what I could see. We ordered mash and onion rings instead. The mash was ‘smash’ and the onion rings were the frozen Lidl kind. Steak was ok but greasy. They charged €27 for the steak. We complained (waiter admitted onion rings were frozen) and waiter brought another drink as an apology. My wife’s Malibu and cranberry was a Malibu and Fruice cranberry bottle that was 2 months out of date. The apology drink was 2 months out of date also. Waiting staff were courteous and friendly but the prices and quality of food were shocking to be honest. One starter, two drinks and two mains came to €83.50!!!! Cheeky to say the least.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Tom M, Manager at Old Music Shop Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Dear Fixerthegreat I'm truly sorry for the bad experience you had with us, I can assure you it's not the norm. It was our first day back having been closed for so long and unfortunately we made many mistakes. I would be grateful of you...More

Reviewed 27 December 2020 via mobile

I had a delectable afternoon tea here. It is very close to the city centre and yet it still maintains a cozy and peaceful atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We had a great chat with the owner. Overall it was a lovely...experience.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Muir Kyey, Owner at Old Music Shop Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Thank you so much Anna Rooney! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 7 December 2020

What can I say words nearly fail me. I was in The Oil Music restaurant for my birthday Saturday 5th Dec 2020. The menu on line says they cater for Coeliacs well that is not the case. I had to suggest the maybe the chef...could just do up a nice salad for me, this is after exhausting all other options, though when I say options there were none !!! I got a bowl of mixed leafs with so much oil on it my lipstick came off, in the ''salad' there was ONE fig cut into 4 pieces and 1 little with of broccoli. When it came to dinner the only thing I could have was the turkey and ham option , I had to ask if the mash had butter or milk in it because I am lactose intolerant also (I mentioned all this to the waitress when we sat down) I asked if I could have chips or roast potatoes in place of mash and was told they had none but could have baby potatoes which I said yes to. So our dinners come out my friend got his mine came out without the potatoes, the brussel sprouts where so under cooked and the shaved carrot's where cold. I called waiter explained . he took my plate away then brought back with potatoes, all the while my friend had nearly finished his dinner, ( he could have just brought the potatoes on a side dish) So I start on my very dry dinner as they had no gluten free gravy not even cranberry sauce !!!! And what do I find but stuffing between the meat, so to be on safe said called waitress to make sure it was gluten free, it wasn't so off my plate went again,,,,,,,,only to come back reheated dryer that the 1st time well as you can guess at this stage I couldn't eat it. The waiter in charge ,said he would get us a drink on the house as an apology, I told him we were still waiting on the previous drink we had ordered !!! I also told him they had ruined my birthday dinner so he agreed to take it off the bill. I am full aware that restaurants had only opened back up the night before and that they were under pressure, but their quality of staff really needs to be looked at so unprofessional. What if I had a nut allergy, I may not be here writing this now...........................More

Date of visit: December 2020
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Castle Hotel
2,786 reviews
.03 km away
Hotel 7
366 reviews
.07 km away
The Belvedere Hotel Dublin
1,710 reviews
.10 km away
Hotel St. George
929 reviews
.15 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
425 reviews
.12 km away
Chapter One
2,416 reviews
.07 km away
Mr Fox Restaurant
486 reviews
.21 km away
Restaurant SIX
286 reviews
.24 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane
650 reviews
.09 km away
Garden of Remembrance
317 reviews
.31 km away
Olivier Cornet Gallery
59 reviews
.11 km away
Dublin Writers Museum
478 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Gina L
20 December 2019|
Response from 555jewel | Reviewed this property |
It was 65 pounds per person. Lovely afternoon
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Old Music Shop Restaurant

Yes, Old Music Shop Restaurant offers takeaway services.

Yes, Old Music Shop Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Old Music Shop Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4