We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Roly's Bistro

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 Update: This restaurant is only available for takeaway or delivery at this time.
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 5/8
20:00
About
Roly's Bistro opened in Dublin in November 1992 and quickly became one of the city's busiest and best loved restaurants. Its reasonably-priced menu and wine list together with a casual, light-hearted atmosphere made it an instant hit with everybody from romantic couples to families, from business executives to local and visiting celebrities. Today, a team of 27 chefs serve freshly-cooked food to over three thousand people a week without compromising on quality and standards. Fresh heated bread is baked daily in the bakery.
PRICE RANGE
US$6 - US$50
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
French, Irish, European
FEATURES
Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (2,683)
Filter reviews
2,585 results
Traveller rating
1,484
656
239
127
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,484
656
239
127
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kerry lamb prawn bisque fish cakes bread pie duck steak salad top class take away rolys ballsbridge courses voucher downstairs
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

My husband and I ate here on 31 st July and it was so good, we returned for breakfast the next morning. The food was exceptional and the atmosphere was perfect. We both had the fish cakes to start followed by the hake and a...fillet steak; then we shared the chessboard. The wine and port was excellent too. For breakfast I had eggs Benedict and it was the best I’ve ever had. The porridge was also great! We will definitely return the next time we visit Dublin.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Tom O, Administration at Roly's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you Jojo P, great you enjoyed both dinner and breakfast the following day. We will be delighted to welcome you back to Roly's when next in Dublin. Paul Cartwright, Head Chef, Director Roly's

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

My partner and I are frequent visitors to Rolys and when celebrating birthdays or anniversaries we inevitably end up there. Because we like it so much our daughter bought us a gift voucher which has been gathering dust on the shelf patiently waiting for indoor...dining to reopen. Tonight was our first indoor dining experience since Covid began. Our illusions of a usual Rolys experience was shattered. My soup starter was served with no brown bread and the main course of haddock and chips was the worst presented meal ever. The fish was deep fried and when cut into the oil seeped out. The chips were frozen from a packet and were tasteless. My partner ordered the fillet of beef that came with one cherry tomato and a small disc of potato. No veg at all. Our jug of water was removed from the table halfway through the meal even though it was half full and never replaced. We complained to the manager who turned out to be a reasonable guy and apologised on the chefs behalf and even offered us 2 free desserts which we declined. The complaint is a genuine complaint and not some ploy to get free desserts. The prices are not cheap but the quality of the food and indeed the quantity of the food means Rolys have lost 2 good customers.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?2  
Tom O, Administration at Roly's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review Tomfitz60, that is certainly not the Roly's you expected and not the standards that Roly's strives to achieve. We will direct message you to make amends without delay. In the meantime we shall investigate immediately.

Reviewed 1 week ago

I made a reservation through their website for my friend's 25th Birthday celebration this coming Friday (30/07/21) , Since I wasn't too sure if the booking went through, I rang the restaurant and a girl named Lisa answered the call, I kindly asked her if...the booking went through . She responded "Well I can't do that yet" I then asked her if could I at least make some changes, and she told me "I can't do that now as I am not on it" she was rushing on the phone and her tone of voice was absolutely appalling. I do understand that Roly's is very busy but I am absolutely shocked by her unprofessional behaviour & how she talked to me. We were so excited to have dinner on the Terrace but then I decided to just cancel the booking at the end due to her unethical behaviour. Also this isn't the first time i've dealt with the girl as I have already made a booking before. I let it passed the first time but not gonna happen again.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?5  
Tom O, Administration at Roly's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review noreyernest. That is quite simply unacceptable. Our most sincere apologies. We have direct messaged you. We shall address this situation without delay. Paul Cartwright, Head Chef & Owner Roly's Bistro.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lunch today on terrace with my friend and little dog. Whole experience was so unprofessional, untrained disorientated staff, new restaurant furniture being installed, no apology to customers for noise . Inconvenience . Food was adequate, service was appalling,. Bit total lack of customer satisfaction from...long time restaurateurs left a lot to be desired. . Managers in profusion, but customer very low on their priority list. Would not recommend.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?5  
Tom O, Administration at Roly's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review Mary O, We recall that lunch service and a conversation with two persons and a charming little dog. We certainly recall apologising to a number of tables for a short period of moving furniture. Sometimes delivery vans have an uncanny...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I am sorry to be first in a long line of gliwing tributes but....Coeliacs dont bother with Rolys for coffee and cake!! The only gluten free cake available was a boring ubiquitous brownie. The quality was good and they are certainly kept in their own...separate display plate...but seriously...for such a highly rated restaurant., can you not come up with something more imaginative!! Any establishment in West Cork could do 100 times better. So I will go back and stay there ...to preempt any trollish comments. Also it should not be an imposition to the staff in any way to serve in a friendly manner Sincerely disappointedMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Tom O, Administration at Roly's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Corkie62, We have certain undelivered to you. We are very Coeliac friendly and appear to have totally failed to offer the many other Gluten Free options. Please when next planning to visit Dublin & Ballsbridge do contact me on paul@rolysbistro.ie , be certain...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The coffee in Rolys is great and it is also excellent value. The selection of sandwiches, rolls and pastries is the best in the area. Staff are very friendly and always helpful. Thanks to Angelo for a great americano.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Tom O, Administration at Roly's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you 467thev - Angelo loves your comment, most appreciated.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I’m here often and every day in between! Honestly the reason I return is down to the staff- the coffee is excellent but nothing beats the banter that those guys have! I adore them! However, I would really like the option of a scrambled egg...on the breakfast menu!More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Tom O, Administration at Roly's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you Trail648316 for the visits and the encouragement. We shall pass that request to Chef without delay. Do ask for the Manager on the day if you would like some scrambled eggs (if they've not appeared on the menu). Indeed we are delighted with...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a relaxing breakfast in Roly's new terrace. It is a beautiful structure - bright and airy, a lovely place to relax and eat. The quality of the food and service is excellent , as usual. I have been going to Rolys for a...long time and this terrace is a lovely addition and particularly welcome in this current climate where ventilation is so important.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Tom O, Administration at Roly's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Great to hear maire_10 We are 'over the moon' with the new Terrace. Best from all at Roly's

Reviewed 11 January 2021

Even during the restrictions the quality of food and service is exceptional. As a regular before the restrictions delighted that Rolys continues to deliver super experience not just through the exceptional food but also through the friendliness of their staff. Thank you.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 September 2020

Really enjoyed lunch the other day in the lovely bright big upstairs dining room. Great value. This is not cutting edge stuff but great reliable good dining every time!

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
ballsbridge7, Owner at Roly's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2020

Thank you dublindweller2015 , Very good to read that you enjoyed your lunch, Best from Ballsbridge, Paul Cartwright

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Herbert Park Hotel and Park Residence
3,228 reviews
.14 km away
Ballsbridge Hotel
2,996 reviews
.33 km away
Ariel House
1,895 reviews
.51 km away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
3,147 reviews
.61 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Bridge 1859
591 reviews
.04 km away
Girl and the Goose Restaurant
304 reviews
.13 km away
Baan Thai Ballsbridge
428 reviews
.15 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Aviva Stadium
1,144 reviews
.65 km away
National Print Museum
90 reviews
.65 km away
The O'Connell Monument
223 reviews
.79 km away
Jim Larkin Statue
64 reviews
.79 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Egle R
6 March 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ballsbridge7 | Property representative |
Thank you Egle R, Very good of you to get in touch - this is one of our usual salads on the salad bar. Do pop in when next nearby and we will be happy to replace. We respect of course individual tastes and if the pasta... More
0
Votes
Tom E
14 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from X1291BJphilipl | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do
1
Vote
Patricia M
24 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from 407timc | Reviewed this property |
Some restaurants do this and staff don't get much of a say in the practice. Not many people are aware however that the service charge is discretionary and you do not have to pay it. In the past I have asked for it to be... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Roly's Bistro

Yes, Roly's Bistro offers takeaway services.

Yes, Roly's Bistro offers delivery services.

Roly's Bistro is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4