We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 23/4
20:00

Ratings and reviews

#33 of 273 Asian in Dublin
#318 of 2,086 Restaurants in Dublin
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Asian, Thai, Fusion
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
177
130
43
19
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
177
130
43
19
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shaking beef gyoza duck prawns our waiter great cocktails christmas party work colleagues set menu starters massaman buzz euro
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 16 December 2020 via mobile

We were in for lunch today, 29 euro for three courses and a glass of Prosecco each which was very good value. The boneless ribs starter was seriously good. Both mains the Mekong duck and massaman were really delicious, great portions as well for a...lunch menu. Our waiter was really efficient and professional, excellent service. The decor was lovely and festive too, we had a really lovely afternoon. I can’t wait to return.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 September 2020

Very well organised. Great food & service at good value. Sat in the ‘outside’ area. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 29 August 2020 via mobile

Organised a large group meal and cocktail class in 2019. Cocktail class was disappointing. We should have gotten 3 cocktails each but the guy talked so much we only got 2 as we were booked for a meal and ran out of time. I wasn't...drinking and was checking on part of our group who arrived downstairs for the meal so I only found out about this after we left. On top of this, the price I was given for our group (weeks beforehand) was wrong. Mistakes happen but I felt it was overlooked that the error was on their part, the manager just said if I didn't pay then the staff wouldn't get a tip so I felt guilted into it tbh. On the upside food was nice but I wish I'd known about the cocktail issue as I felt between that and the price error it wasn't great.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 4 August 2020 via mobile

We booked in to the drag show and it was amazing, 20 euro for a ticket and well worth the money for the entertainment, we had a brilliant night and it was such a great laugh. Would definitely go again

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 August 2020 via mobile

The food and cocktails at opium are delicious and the service is excellent. This weekend was my third time returning in a month. The shaking beef is incredible. Would highly recommend

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 4 February 2020 via mobile

There for a Christmas party there was 20 of us and we all had a great night food came out quickly no messing the buzz in the place was brilliant we had a fab time

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
MercGroup, Marketing at Opium, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2020

Thanks for your lovely feedback. We're delighted you enjoyed your Christmas party!

Reviewed 16 January 2020

Went here for a Set menu Christmas meal with the company i work with. Although the food was nice to eat there was a very very small portion of food served per person. Even the smallest person left hungry. Prices are well but servings need...to be upped a bit if they expect to keep people coming back.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?2  
MercGroup, General Manager at Opium, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2020

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're sorry to hear you thought the portions were too small for your recent event. We will be taking your feedback on board and reviewing our portion sizes. We hope we'll have the chance to welcome...More

Reviewed 22 December 2019 via mobile

Visited here with work colleagues late December for Christmas lunch mid afternoon Menu was the festive menu - staters was mix platter with dumplings- very fresh well cooked , mixture of mains ordered - spicy beef prawns and duck - all delicious , the thin...noodles served would have been great even on their own - desserts limited but very nice - last but not least staff busy but still attentive- provably more a 4.5 stars 👍More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
MercGroup, General Manager at Opium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Thanks so much for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your meal so much! We hope we'll have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 18 December 2019

We arrived in a large group. First impression was entering through the doors manned by the usual "Bouncers" who obviously give you a stare as if you are coming straight out of Shawshank. Wasnt a comfortable experience. food was being masqueraded as Asian. greasy and...overpriced for what it was. Drinks watered down it seemed. yucky cocktails. Went to the club afterwards which again was an underwhelming experience. wait for ages to get drinks and again overpriced and watered down. Music was lousy. again the security staff were quite mafia like and talking to people like they owned them. Place to avoid for me atleast.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
MercGroup, General Manager at Opium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Hi, We're sorry to hear you were unhappy with your recent experience with us. With regard to your comments about the drinks being watered down, we can assure that this is not or never will be the case. However we are sorry to hear you...More

Reviewed 2 December 2019 via mobile

Im impressed! Love Asian Food, but this beats everything i've tasted. Excellent Presentation, good service and mindboggeling tastes. Great cocktails too, and the wintergarden in the back is brilliant too. Can't reccomend this enough.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?2  
MercGroup, General Manager at Opium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2019

Thanks so much for your lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Camden Street Hotel
568 reviews
.06 km away
Russell Court Hotel
1,220 reviews
.18 km away
Albany House
1,015 reviews
.19 km away
The Green Hotel
262 reviews
.20 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Landmark
474 reviews
.10 km away
Gerry's Coffee Shop
346 reviews
.09 km away
Las Tapas de Lola
1,239 reviews
.05 km away
Zakura Noodle & Sushi
235 reviews
.04 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Iveagh Gardens
266 reviews
.19 km away
Royal College of Surgeons
23 reviews
.34 km away
Dublin Unitarian Church
17 reviews
.27 km away
Cherry Comedy at Whelan's
158 reviews
.01 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Saramana91
8 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from gill77 | Reviewed this property |
No the music wasn't loud at all, they have background music where the food is served
0
Votes
hpp63
27 June 2015|
Answer
Response from | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Opium

  • Opium is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 4