We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#234 of 797 Irish in Dublin
#378 of 2,082 Restaurants in Dublin
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Irish, European, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings
About
House Dublin occupies two Georgian Townhouses on Leeson Street, between The Grand Canal and St Stephen’s Green. House has a feeling of relaxed glamour, luxury and ease throughout. We love you to feel at home and choose the space you’d like for the time you need it – log fires burning daily in the Front Parlour, our Salon Bar and Conservatory, The Terrace by the pot bellied stove, down to the Garden with its olive and citrus trees. The GlassHouse, Wine Room, Library and Redroom all offer further areas in which to meet, eat and drink. Open from early morning to late at night.
PRICE RANGE
US$6 - US$30
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Irish, European, Bar
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
186
91
31
21
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
186
91
31
21
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meatballs patatas bravas scones wine room leeson street booked a table front of house stephens
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 9 March 2020

I hosted a surprise baby shower here for around 20 people. The setting was gorgeous as we were sat at a long table towards the back in the conservatory. The food was fantastic, catering for both vegan and coeliac guests. The balloons, flowers and personalized...menus were all wonderful touches. Would definitely recommend to anyone planning on hosting a baby shower in the future. Huge kudos to the staff especially who went above and beyond to ensure all the guests were happy.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
F4370BEjohnm, General Manager at House Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2020

Hi Maggie, Thanks so much for taking the time to share such positive feedback with us. We know how special these occasions are and we always want to make them as fun and memorable as possible. I will share your feedback with the kitchen and...More

Reviewed 8 March 2020

Me and my girlfriend were in Dublin from 3rd to 7th March. We slept in double room with breakfast included from 8 am to 11 am. All the receptionists were so kind to us. They welcomed us gently and friendly. They gave us all the...informations we needed. The breakfast was varied (Irish food) as dinner (we booked a dinner twice, during the journey). The waiters were fast with the courses, kind and always smiley. They always asked us if everything was OK. The atmosphere of the restaurant/pub was welcoming, elegant. The room was always well cleaned. There was a bottle of water for us and a coffee or tea machine. An important information: Ireland is a plastic free country, so you can't find plastic cutlery as little spoons or plastic glasses (what a piece of luck! Good for the environment). The bathroom was small, but you can have a shower comfortably. There was an hairdryer you can use next to the bed, in front of the mirror. You can enter into the room with a pass card and there is a lift and a beautiful sight on Leeson Street Lower from the 3rd floor. There wasn't a wardrobe in our room. I don't know if you could like it, but it was easier for us, because our bagages were just prepared and we had much more time to visit the city! We can only appreciate host's kindness. Dublin and House will have a place in our hearts. Thank you guys. God bless you, and Ireland people. Donato and Mariangela.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
F4370BEjohnm, General Manager at House Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Hi Donato and Mariangela. Thank you for the kind words. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed yourselves and hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future. If you are coming back, please contact us directly and we will make sure to give you...More

Reviewed 28 February 2020

Stayed for 2 nights when in Dublin for business. Positive: - Location, 5 mins walking from Stephens Green as well as LUAS in Harcourt Street Needing improvement: - Building is old and in need of maintenance - Bedroom floor is uneven and carpeted - TV...is not centered - No sofas or wardrobes in the room - Very cold on winter - Staff is not nice and often not in receptionMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
F4370BEjohnm, General Manager at House Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2020

Hi luismelo78 Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. We appreciate all feedback as it allows us the opportunity to improve our standards and services. I am delighted to hear that the location of the property was ideal for you....More

Reviewed 26 February 2020 via mobile

We had a very nice brunch in House. Staff was very friendly and the food was of good quality. It's a very nice place to sit and relax. Reservation is recommended.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
F4370BEjohnm, General Manager at House Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2020

Hi Stefan, Thanks for the kind words. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself and found House a relaxing place, an essential quality for weekend brunch! We hope to welcome you back again soon

Reviewed 25 February 2020 via mobile

Booked a table for Sunday afternoon here and we enjoyed it a lot. Very relaxing atmosphere, lovely music and really nice and friendly staff. We ordered a breakfast each and the only complaint we would have is the food was a little cold, I’m just...not sure it was freshly cooked or if it was microwaved. In saying that it was very tasty (2 sausages would be nice)! I had bottomless Prosecco for the afternoon and this was a lovely treat, hadn’t tried it before so can’t wait to return for it again. Hope to go back soon again.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
F4370BEjohnm, General Manager at House Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2020

Hi MeathJohn, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. I will discuss it with the kitchen team to ensure the breakfast is of the highest quality should you join us again in the future. We look forward to your return and if I...More

Reviewed 14 February 2020 via mobile

This bar is f... awesome great staff and place. Look for Guzman he is the most fun guy from the stAff!!! Highly recomendedMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
F4370BEjohnm, General Manager at House Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2020

Hi Iñaki, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and recommendation. I have shared your comments with the entire staff and Guzman is especially delighted to read them! We pride ourselves on our staff so it is always lovely to read words like...More

Reviewed 4 February 2020 via mobile

A little odd in layout and decor but initially charming. The restaurant and bar were perfectly fine and the food was also fine. However, when I got to my room the charm disappeared rapidly. The door was not fully closed or locked and I wondered...if it was actually the right room. I found that the door just didn’t like to close and had to be pulled hard to shut. The room was freezing when I went up after dinner. The wall mounted electric heater was hanging at an angle that I wasn’t sure if it was actually safe to use. The TV was so poorly tuned it was hard to find channels that worked. The bed’s Base was made of two single bases put together however the clip to lock them together was bent and hanging off with the two bases separated by a good few inches. The light in the bathroom over the basin didn’t work. The basin itself was tiny and the hot and cold water traps were both loose. The shower was a complete disaster. The hot water thermostat safety switch was broken (so the temperature could easily be set to burning hot beyond 38 degrees). I was both scolded and frozen: after waiting ages for any hot water to come it was then impossible to set to a temperature that worked. It went hot and cold constantly until after a few minutes it seemed as there was no cold water left for more than a trickle. I can’t say that the stay was a pleasure in any way.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
F4370BEjohnm, General Manager at House Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2020

Dear DordjeDude, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we appreciate all types of feedback as it allows us to improve our services and standards. I am disappointed to hear your stay with us was not to your satisfaction and for that,...More

Reviewed 1 February 2020

Lovely restaurant. Good food. Service was very poor. We had to physically seek out our waiter on numerous occasions to order drinks and the bill.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
John M, General Manager at House Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2020

Dear SajKate, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I assure you that they will be take very seriously and discussed among the management team. We will review the staffing levels as I have to admit, we have been surprised...More

Reviewed 31 January 2020

Awesome bar, slowest bar staff in the world. Got kicked out cause I was complaining, waited 25min for a drink, ridiculous. No good service at allMore

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
John M, General Manager at House Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2020

Hi Explore525641, I'm naturally disappointed to read a review like this. We never want people to have to wait at all for drinks but that night was definitely an unusual one. We had expected approx 200 in your group and ended up with more than...More

Reviewed 26 January 2020

House is like a Dublin version of the Tardis in that you enter through this modest Georgian door and a whole world is revealed inside that is many, many times larger and more interesting than what you were expecting.

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
John M, General Manager at House Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

Hi Dominic, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We're glad you found your time interesting. You're not the first person to use the Tardis description either, which is also interesting! Hopefully we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Leeson Inn Downtown
406 reviews
.04 km away
Number 31
1,080 reviews
.12 km away
Conrad Dublin
1,295 reviews
.18 km away
The Wilder Townhouse
173 reviews
.25 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Dax Restaurant
997 reviews
.08 km away
Forest Avenue
417 reviews
.37 km away
The Sussex
770 reviews
.38 km away
Suesey Street
399 reviews
.21 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Matt the Thresher
102 reviews
.40 km away
Newman University Church
33 reviews
.45 km away
Royal Hibernian Academy
28 reviews
.35 km away
Museum of Literature Ireland
47 reviews
.45 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
rachreb1
8 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Kristín M | Reviewed this property |
Hi and yes I´m sure they do.
1
Vote
Anne R
27 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Orla182 | Reviewed this property |
definitely not
0
Votes
oneill1995
5 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from 643fredrikn | Reviewed this property |
I wouldn't bet on it. Better to reserve a table or if not be prepared to wait. People tend to keep the tables though to have drinks afterwards.
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing