We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cleaver East

6-8 East Essex Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
+353 1 531 3500
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good23%
  • Average17%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (83 reviews)
“pork belly” (33 reviews)
“burger” (49 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Irish, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
6-8 East Essex Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had an early bird here for a family celebration. The staff were very friendly and helpful. But unfortunately I found the food a little underwhelming. I had the nude dog to start which was fine, but the chicken kiev for mains was bland and tasteless....More

Thank Fiona O
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A nice place located in all the action of Temple Bar. The staff are wonderful but our service was slow and we suspect someone forgot about our order. Nonetheless they brought us a wonderful tasting of desserts to make up for it. The pig cheek...More

Thank Airsucker
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Cleaver is a nice restaurant, but not special. Knowing this restaurant is owned by Bono and The Edge makes it special. The interior though is something which looks nice and gives a lovely ambiance

Thank Dilis2014
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dropped in here for the early bird one Wednesday with a friend and couldn't believe the price - 17 euro for 2 courses! Considering its location in the U2 owned Clarence Hotel which is smack in the middle of Temple Bar, this is seriously good...More

Thank Foomom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had brunch here with a few friends, staff friendly and menu looked promising, but was bit disappointed over all. I got chicken and waffles which were nice but I felt chicken could have been tastier and portion slightly larger with the price. Tea is really...More

Thank Deetravelsaround
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and the girls came here for bottomless prosecco Brunch and it was FAB. The food was out of this world we all cleared our plates some of the best food iv ever had. Absolutely delicious. The drinks where kept flowing and the ambience was...More

Thank Clemmie B
Graham D, General Manager at Cleaver East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Clemmie, Many thanks for the fab feedback. Delighted to read you and your friends enjoyed your recent #bottomlessbrunch experience at Cleaver East. We also have a great value Early Bird available every evening for only €17 for 2 courses so be sure to check...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here for brunch last Saturday. Food was ok, they charge for tap water which we found a bit odd but overall we were happy. We opted for the bottomless mimosas which tasted great, re-fills were quite slow but we found one waitress especially...More

1  Thank Dublin_Explorer2016
Graham D, General Manager at Cleaver East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi There, Many thanks for the feedback. I was sorry to read it was a disappointment on this occasion. If you would like to speak to a member of management in more detail please email info@cleavereast.ie and someone will be in touch. I can assure...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went there last week! The staffs are very friendly!! The food was good, and the cocktails really well made!! In average a nice place to go besides the prices a bit expansive which is understandable because the place is inside temple bar area.

Thank Rafaela R
Graham D, General Manager at Cleaver East, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Rafaela, Many thanks for the great feedback. Delighted you enjoyed your recent meal with us in Cleaver East. Hope to see you back again soon!

Reviewed 16 May 2018

I experienced exceptionally poor service when dealing with this restaurant recently. I really try to keep my reviews on here positive as you will see from those I have left elsewhere, as I feel restaurants do generally try their best to provide good service, particularly...More

Thank Seamus D
Graham D, General Manager at Cleaver East, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi There, Many thanks for the feedback. This matter has already been dealt with and a member of management has responded to the original feedback provided by the guest previously (See below) If you would like to speak to a manager in person please contact...More

Reviewed 12 May 2018

Eight of us attended for a special family occasion. As a group we opted for the tasting menu all round. A host of small courses with a myriad of flavours - the food was superb with everyone expressing extreme satisfaction with same. Service was excellent,...More

Thank PJMN
Graham D, General Manager at Cleaver East, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi There, Many thanks for the great review. I was delighted to read you had a fab time in Cleaver East recently. I will of course pass on your compliments to the chef about the Tasting Menu and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 150 hotels in Dublin
The Clarence
1,901 reviews
.02 km away
Eliza Lodge
579 reviews
.11 km away
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
1,481 reviews
.11 km away
Fitzsimons Hotel
371 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Stage Door Cafe
548 reviews
.04 km away
Fish Shack Cafe
1,018 reviews
.08 km away
Bad Bobs Temple Bar
1,360 reviews
.04 km away
Joy of Cha
257 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Temple Bar
15,243 reviews
.07 km away
Olympia Theatre
408 reviews
.11 km away
The Porterhouse Brewing Company
536 reviews
.07 km away
Project Arts Centre
21 reviews
.02 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Elaine P
11 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from trudyjane1966 | Reviewed this property |
we always dress up for dinner as it is becoming a thing of the pass but it is just smart casual. Some of the people in the restaurant with us just looked scruffy, not nice.
0
Votes
Sonya_m84
7 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from timntoots | Reviewed this property |
Yes from the front of Clarence Hotel, and there is toilet as well but let them know when you book as the tables are pretty close so they set you up. The staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:30
Monday
17:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
17:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
17:30 - 22:30
Thursday
17:30 - 22:30
Friday
17:30 - 22:30
12:00 - 15:00
Saturday
17:30 - 22:30
12:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6-8 East Essex Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin
  • Phone Number: +353 1 531 3500
  • E-mail
Description
Situated in the heart of Ireland's capital city, on East Essex Street in the popular Temple Bar area. Oliver Dunne who currently holds a Michelin Star for Bon Appetit Restaurant in Malahide has created an exciting dining experience at Cleaver East located within The Clarence Hotel. The ethos of Cleaver East is to deliver the highest standard of food and cuisine at really affordable prices. Open seven days a week, Cleaver East offers great food, friendly service, classic cocktails, affordable wines with Irish and International Craft Beer! We welcome group reservations at Cleaver East and offer semi-private dining facilities.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;