We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cleaver East

6-8 East Essex Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
+353 1 531 3500
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good24%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (81 reviews)
“pork belly” (33 reviews)
“burger” (52 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Irish, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
6-8 East Essex Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Disappointing visit. I’ve been to Cleaver East countless times with friends, family and work colleagues. Always find the food and staff very good. Booked a table for last Friday night for a family meal. My aunt had recently lost her son so we wanted to...More

Thank Ciaran M
Graham D, General Manager at Cleaver East, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Ciaran, Many thanks for passing on this feedback. I was most disappointed to hear about your experience especially at such a hard time for your aunt. Let me offer my sincere apologies for the events that occurred on this particular evening. If you wouldn't...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited on Saturday with 4 friends visiting Dublin. We opted for the early bird. I have been twice before (ages ago) to Cleaver east for brunch never for dinner. But I was worried it would not be good as the reviews are rather bad. BUT...More

Thank curley_9
Graham D, General Manager at Cleaver East, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hey There, Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. Delighted you enjoyed a recent visit to Cleaver East. You will not find a better value Early Bird in all of Dublin!!! I will pass on your kind words to all staff...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked in for the bottomless brunch.The Mimosa and Bellini cocktails were topped up regularly which was good. The starters were enjoyable but the mains (burgers) were completely over cooked and rubbery. We had to wait 1 hour 10 minutes for our starters after ordering....More

Thank Shelly274
Graham D, General Manager at Cleaver East, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Shelly, Firstly, I am sorry for the delay in responding to your comments. I can only apologise sincerely for your disappointment on the day. Please email info@cleavereast.ie as a member of management would like to get in touch personally to discuss this matter in...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this restaurant for a pre-theater early bird dinner before attending a show in the Olympia nearby. It was also my birthday. Our table was reserved for 5.30pm. We arrived at 5.30pm on the dot and were asked to wait in the bar for...More

Thank Mel N
Graham D, General Manager at Cleaver East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Mel, Many thanks for the feedback. I was most disappointed to read about your experience and can assure you that is not the usual standard of food or service we provide in Cleaver East. I can only offer my sincere apologies for what happend...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My first evening in Dublin. Tired but swept with the beauty of the city. I'm looking for "clean" food, can't eat a lot of stuff these days. I find The Cleaver complete with installations of...Cleavers along the window and back wall. I enter and the...More

Thank LizW2316
Graham D, General Manager at Cleaver East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Liz, Wow thanks so much for your fab feedback. I will be sure to pass it on to the whole team. Delighted you had a great time in Cleaver East. Hope to see you back again when you are next in Dublin, the carrots...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Service was friendly, but not very professional, particularly when it comes to wine. Food was ok, but not more than that. Some of the meat in the main course was overcooked, and the desserts were bland.

Thank Rexborg
Graham D, General Manager at Cleaver East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi There, Many thanks for your recent review. I was sorry to read you were disappointed on this ocassion. Your comments prove extremely valuable to our company and all staff will be informed and re-trained if necessary on our wine list. Thanks again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Awful experience at Clever East Brunch Club in Dublin. Wait staff are highly pretentious and could care less about customer satisfaction. They also knew nothing about the menu and the portion sizing. A waiter told us not to order the “light breakfast” as they are...More

Thank TinyTraveler89
Graham D, General Manager at Cleaver East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Laura, Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was sorry to read of your disappointing experience in Cleaver East recently. I can assure you that is not the normal standard of service we provide. All staff concerned will be...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not great but not awful, we popped in whilst spending time in Temple Bar as we needed to eat. Food ok, service a bit slow, feel the waitress was new. I love rose wine, but only had one variety on the menu. Probably other better...More

Thank Thyme44
Graham D, General Manager at Cleaver East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi There, Many thanks for your feedback. All your comments will be passed on to the relevant department managers and dealt with accordingly. Hopefully you will give us a second chance in the near future and enjoy Cleaver East in all its glory.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had made reservation for brunch as enjoyed the last brunch we had here. Firstly we were sat in a corner that was right beside the fire exit, felt excluded here so asked to move which was allowed. Don’t know why we weren’t seated at nicer...More

1  Thank Tinaanto
Graham D, General Manager at Cleaver East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi There, Many thanks for your valuable feedback. Sorry to hear you were disappointed with some of your dishes. If you were unhappy with a dish on the night we would have replaced it for you had we been made aware but I will of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon arrival at 5:30pm for the start of the early bird sitting, we were told there was nothing available, to return in 15 minutes. At this point we looked around the restaurant perplexed. The restaurant was empty and all of the tables were set. The...More

1  Thank Mel C
Graham D, General Manager at Cleaver East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Mel, Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was most disappointed to read about your experience. I can only apologise for the confusion caused on this particular night. I do know that the 15th had a large group coming...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 153 hotels in Dublin
The Clarence
1,987 reviews
.02 km away
Fitzsimons Hotel
383 reviews
.11 km away
Eliza Lodge
579 reviews
.11 km away
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
1,540 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Stage Door Cafe
590 reviews
.04 km away
Fish Shack Cafe
1,114 reviews
.08 km away
Bad Bobs Temple Bar
1,435 reviews
.04 km away
Corfu Greek Restaurant
798 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Temple Bar
16,761 reviews
.07 km away
The Porterhouse Brewing Company
542 reviews
.07 km away
Olympia Theatre
416 reviews
.11 km away
National Photographic Archive
33 reviews
.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Elaine P
11 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from trudyjane1966 | Reviewed this property |
we always dress up for dinner as it is becoming a thing of the pass but it is just smart casual. Some of the people in the restaurant with us just looked scruffy, not nice.
0
Votes
Sonya_m84
7 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from timntoots | Reviewed this property |
Yes from the front of Clarence Hotel, and there is toilet as well but let them know when you book as the tables are pretty close so they set you up. The staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:30
Monday
17:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
17:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
17:30 - 22:30
Thursday
17:30 - 22:30
Friday
17:30 - 22:30
12:00 - 15:00
Saturday
17:30 - 22:30
12:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6-8 East Essex Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin
  • Phone Number: +353 1 531 3500
  • E-mail
Description
Situated in the heart of Ireland's capital city, on East Essex Street in the popular Temple Bar area. Oliver Dunne who currently holds a Michelin Star for Bon Appetit Restaurant in Malahide has created an exciting dining experience at Cleaver East located within The Clarence Hotel. The ethos of Cleaver East is to deliver the highest standard of food and cuisine at really affordable prices. Open seven days a week, Cleaver East offers great food, friendly service, classic cocktails, affordable wines with Irish and International Craft Beer! We welcome group reservations at Cleaver East and offer semi-private dining facilities.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing