We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#636 of 2,147 Restaurants in Dublin
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$3 - US$20
CUISINES
Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Wine Bar
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (314)
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
120
85
45
29
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
120
85
45
29
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas churros nice food lovely atmosphere dundrum sangria
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately this was our first and last visit to this place. Service was a distaster. Booked 7.45 seated at 8.10 food arrived 9.30 some were luke warm and others cold. My first and only time I have ever sent everything back and left a restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 April 2022 via mobile

I took my parents here as they were new to Tapas. It was fairly quiet as a Thursday lunchtime but still a good atmosphere. Service was good and they soon saw to our needs. The food was really good and accompanying wine was excellent too....I will be returning soon!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ThePorthouseIreland, Marketing at The Port House Ibericos, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2022

Hi Tom, Thank you for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate it. Kind Regards, The Port House Team

Reviewed 27 March 2022

We popped into one of your restaurants on Saturday for some lunch, we did plan on booking a table but from your online booking system you seemed to have a lot of availability so we strolled in whilst passing. The restaurant was very quiet with...only two customers seated in the corner. We stood there whilst a male employee walked past us on a few occasions ignoring us, finally another employee asked were we okay and asked if we had a reservation which we noted we didn’t and then proceeded to lift menus as if to seat us.The other employee who had earlier ignored us then informed us that the restaurant was fully booked until 6pm which we found very surprising especially seen as we could only see two other people in the restaurant coupled with the fact a party of two had just been seated as we entered. We were then told if we were still around 4 hours later we could pop back as a side place would be open.The manner in which the employee dealt with us was very cold, inpolite and borderline rude. We left a bit confused by the encounter, we proceeded to go onto your booking system and to our surprise there was plenty of availability for several different time slots around the time we were there! We dine in your restaurants all of the time and thoroughly enjoy the food but this experience has left a very bad taste in our mouths.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ThePorthouseIreland, Marketing at The Port House Ibericos, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2022

Hi Lisam, Thank you for your review and feedback on your visit. We are very sorry to hear and apologise it was not a positive one for you. Our manager has looked into this complaint thoroughly with his team on site and is extremely apologetic...More

Reviewed 26 March 2022

Just decided to get evening dinner here as we were in Dundrum on a Tuesday night and it was a logical choice for something different. Was not surprised as food is really enjoyable, the atmosphere is just brilliant and the whole experience gives you a...desire for more. A definite revisit is on the cards.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 March 2022 via mobile

The menu is full of variety and the food is very tasty, staff are very helpful and prices are fair, would highly recommend!

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 February 2022

I booked a table for 3 online and when we arrived for our booking the woman said there was no booking under my name for 3 people at that time, I told her I booked online and she still proceeded to tell me no there’s...no booking. It was a fault in their booking system not my fault but I was made feel as though I was in the wrong. She told us to wait and she would see if there was anything, we could see her talking to a coworker and they both seemed annoyed at the fact we were there. After 5/10 minutes we were finally seated. The service was good at first while ordered our first drinks and food but once the food arrived we were completely abandoned. We were there for over an hour and had finished our food and the drinks we ordered when we first were seated. We wanted more drinks but servers would rush past our table and avoid even looking at our table. When someone finally came to take our empty plates we ordered another drink. After this we were abandoned again until the place was basically closing, we wanted to pay our bill and leave but there was no staff around. It took forever to pay and leave and that point all the staff were sitting around waiting to go home after closing it felt as if we were holding them up but no one had even bothered to come over to check on us. It was just an awkward experience and unfortunately this is the second time I have experienced this service from The Port House.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ThePorthouseIreland, General Manager at The Port House Ibericos, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2022

Hi there Emma, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am truly sorry to here that you have had this experience, and not for the first time. This is not acceptable, and not in line with our standards of service....More

Reviewed 22 December 2021

I was there this evening for a nice Christmas meal. The food was lovely, as was the atmosphere. However, come 7.59pm a waiter came over to us insisting that we leave. He offered a plastic cup for my drink and I politely declined stating that...I would be finished within one more mouthful. He stated that the entire restaurant was waiting for us to leave when there were multiple other tables left be. I said that’s no problem however he insisted on standing there and watching me finish my drink while there were still plenty of other people in the restaurant. I explained that I would not be finishing the meal I had paid for under duress however he refused multiple times to leave, which was highly inappropriate and very intimidating. This experience ultimately spoiled the evening entirely and I will most definitely be sharing my experience with rude staff with others.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ThePorthouseIreland, General Manager at The Port House Ibericos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2022

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback taraghs. Sorry that you were made to feel this way, that's the last way you want you to be leaving us. Unfortunately we current government restrictions we are left in a very difficult situation, as...More

Reviewed 18 November 2021

Lovely evening and impressive Covid compliance. This is the only restaurant I’ve been in where I was asked to show ID along with my Covid cert. Great atmosphere and really nice food. We’ll be back.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ThePorthouseIreland, Marketing at The Port House Ibericos, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2021

Thank you very much for this review. We look forward to your next visit! :-)

Reviewed 16 October 2021

Visited Port house Iberico with a friend last night. Booked a week in advance and they gave us a 9pm slot. Surprised when we were seated in the cold outdoor space with tarpaulin roof which is really only suitable for summer eats. So ended Tom...putting coats on and off for the duration. Within a short time of getting our food we were asked by the waitress did we want anything else to eat because the kitchen was closing. Food was tasty but cold. We hastily ordered a couple of additional dishes but not even wanting them at that point. Not long after - another visit to ask us if we wanted anything else to drink as the bar was closing. We’re talking 10:30pm here! Then a bell ringing like we were in a schoolroom and an aggressive and rude staff member telling us we need to leave the premises within the next 10 mins as they were closing the doors. There were a good number of other tables equally startled by this announcement. What a total disgrace. Don’t call yourself a restaurant if all you do is make people feel unwelcome with rude, badly trained and unwelcoming staff. Don’t make a booking at 9:00pm if you cannot allow people to have a meal in peace without you giving them time warnings every 20 mins. Staff having a great laugh and get together at the bar as we left. Not even a nod to us leaving. All about them so rather than those who are paying their wages. Been here lots of times before but will not be returning. Shameful behaviour, dreadful service and mediocre food. This used to be a good spot - definitely not worth a visit now. Save your money for somewhere that values your custom!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ThePorthouseIreland, Marketing at The Port House Ibericos, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2021

Hi, Thank you for your review and feedback on your visit. We are very sorry to hear and apologise it was not a positive one for you. Our manager has looked into this complaint throughly with his team on site and is extremely apologetic the...More

Reviewed 13 October 2021

We booked a table for 6 at lunch time last Monday. There was literally nothing good about our experience. Service slow and lazy (we were the only people there), had to ask for menus for each person, had to take the order to the waitress,...hot food was cold, salads....no idea how anyone can get them so wrong..a bowl of spinach with two tiny pieces of chicken and no dressing. Nobody asked if everything was OK, if we enjoyed our meal. We really couldn't believe how poor our experience was. Here are 6 families who will not be returning and will advise others not to do so either.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ThePorthouseIreland, General Manager at The Port House Ibericos, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2021

Hi Tara, We are extremely sorry for the service you received on your visit to The Port House Ibericos. Unfortunately on the day you visited we were having electrical issues, which was causing coffee, ice and till systems to be offline during the early afternoon,...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
IMI Residence Dublin
270 reviews
1.70 km away
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
2,406 reviews
2.84 km away
Abrae Court Guesthouse
144 reviews
3.03 km away
Clayton Hotel Leopardstown
1,672 reviews
3.16 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Siam Thai
430 reviews
.09 km away
Jamie's Italian
949 reviews
.02 km away
Zizzi
193 reviews
.04 km away
Hailan Asian Cuisine Restaurant
56 reviews
.09 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Dundrum Town Centre
282 reviews
.09 km away
Uncle Tom's Cabin
7 reviews
.75 km away
Rainforest Adventure Golf
93 reviews
.41 km away
dlr Mill Theatre Dundrum
13 reviews
.06 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
711annn
4 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Vieira_Joao84 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they provide very good options, also is better book reserve a table. it's charming place and is allways full.
0
Votes
Google Translation
AINE Q
4 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from ciarano675 | Reviewed this property |
Wrong guy to ask, I eat and ask later.... its not expensive.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Port House Ibericos

Yes, The Port House Ibericos offers takeaway services.

The Port House Ibericos is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4