We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#382 of 799 Irish in Dublin
#661 of 2,092 Restaurants in Dublin
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, Pub, International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
149
151
71
49
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
149
151
71
49
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken wings steak hake harbour master booked a table stone
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 7 September 2020 via mobile

Fabulous food and great service. I had steak on a stone and it was delicious. Lovely restaurant, I would definitely go back as the food was really good.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 September 2020

You’re response to my review, was quite condescending. The menu we where giving on our night, had none of the options you mentioned. I did have a pint, and it did cost €670. Just because €670 may be the standard cost of a pint in...Dublin, doesn’t mean it’s acceptable . The food was off a very poor standard, I’m only raging I didn’t read all the other bad reviews you have. Aren’t you great that you always leave a tip, I also always leave a tip, just found it uncomfortable to have card reader Put in my face, with options for yes or no to leave tip, call me old fashioned, I prefer to leave tip on the table, so it goes directly to the floor staff. Won’t be back.👎More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 29 August 2020

I went for food with a friend at lunchtime. We both got the chicken wings. They were clearly old and re-fried. They were dry and tough to eat. They smothered them in sauce trying to save them. By far the worse chicken wings I have...ever eaten I made a complaint to the manager he said ‘ no one has said that before’ then walked off and nothing was done Shocking food, shocking service.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 August 2020 via mobile

So this is the second time we have eaten here and was not disappoint on any occasion. Very warm welcome when we arrived. Staff so friendly and helpful. We ordered 3 Stakes and a large portion of chicken wings. The food was amazing. Very well...present and looked as good as it tasted. Absolutely no complaints about anything. Foot was reasonably priced so also a bonus. Food,Staff and Service perfect on both occasions. Would highly recommend heading to for a bit of food.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
roryk924, General Manager at The Harbourmaster, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2020

Ah thanks Eddie, great to get such lovely feedback - delighted that you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you back again soon :-)

Reviewed 24 August 2020 via mobile

Went here for a meal and it was ok. Nothing special. We were looking forward to having the hake and the lamb shank Unfortunately they had changed the menu and they now don't do hake. So my wife said she'd have the vegetarian option. All...they did was a bowl of ravioli with cheese.very dissapointing. Another criticism was the fact that on the table next to us was a woman using a vaping device in full veiw of the staff and nothing was said to her.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
roryk924, General Manager at The Harbourmaster, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2020

Hi John, sorry that you left the Harbourmaster a little disappointed. Thank you for your feedback, it helps us to address issues internally and improve our services. We do have two veggie options, I have let the head chef know your feedback re. the hake...More

Reviewed 8 August 2020

Very disappointed with reception on arrival had booked online a week in advance. Given table practically on the luas line. Many free tables but not happy I asked to be moved.we got not great table beside toilets.. Someone should tell staff that wearing a mask...under your nose is of no use at all shocked that staff did not adhere to guidelines. Toilets were filthy not flushed didn't feel safe will not return.. Food was nice but was kitchen clean I don't know.... Never againMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
roryk924, General Manager at The Harbourmaster, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2020

Thanks for the feedback, we are working hard to keep on top of the new and evolving government regulations surrounding covid19 with regular staff training sessions and cleaning rotas and checks in bathrooms every half hour. We appreciate your feedback so that any breaches can...More

Reviewed 6 August 2020 via mobile

Celebrated a birthday here during Covid19 and it was probably the best experience we have had of dining out during these times. The staff are attentive and very friendly. Well done Harbourmaster, we will definitely be back.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
roryk924, General Manager at The Harbourmaster, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2020

Ah thanks for the lovely feedback, nice to get positive comments, glad you enjoyed and hope to see you back again soon.

Reviewed 28 July 2020

So disappointed yesterday, made reservation for a table at 3:30pm for late lunch, got to Harbour Master Bar & Restaurant at 3'ish and saw every table in the place empty, we thought about leaving as zero atmosphere but said we made a reservation so given...the times we are in and circumstances we would be nice, honour our reservation and not cancel. The waitress met us and asked us very nicely to wait a moment, she returned with another person who I assumed was the person in charge. He told us they had a "dress code" and that no tracksuits allowed. My son was in tracksuit pants but in no way looked untidy or undesirable. He had no problem with my daughter or my choice of clothes thankfully. I wasn't mad about his shirt to be honest (not a uniform and no tie!) but I didn't hold that against him :) Anyway when he said this I said - "are you serious - the place is empty", he wasn't happy I had interrupted his flow and said "I was about to tell you I could offer you the big table in the corner where you would be out of sight" He could take our money but we could not be seen by other customers (again - the place was empty). The more I think about it the more upset I get, I understand a dress code, and, appreciate that places have to have them, but seriously, with no other customers at 3pm on a Monday afternoon! He was prepared to take our money but HIDE us away. WE LEFT! We spent our money in Mckenzies and really enjoyed our lunch. Won't be going back to Harbour Masters Bar & Restaurant any time soon!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
roryk924, General Manager at The Harbourmaster, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2020

Hi Claire, thanks for your feedback and very sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with the Harbourmaster. Yes unfortunately we do have a dress code for several reasons including no tracksuit bottoms, that is certainly not to say that your son did not look...More

Reviewed 28 July 2020 via mobile

Booked a birthday dinner. From time we booked manager was great, sent set menus, great value. Host upon arrival very friendly and nice. Accommodated vegan in the group, delicious meal. Food all arrived together. Kids menus with steak option. Great tasty hot food, spotless, table...beside us left & staff disinfected chairs table everything. All wearing masks. Service great! Would highly recommend, and will return. Thanks to all the staff.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
roryk924, General Manager at The Harbourmaster, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2020

Ah thanks so much for the very lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your visit - hope to see you again real soon :)

Reviewed 21 July 2020 via mobile

My wife and I availed of a special offer on pigs back. The menu had a very poor selection of food, unless you like steak of various weights. I myself don’t eat steak, so I just had chicken wings and chips for my main. My...wife had steak which came with a sub charge, because I guess that had to cook it. I question the sub charge, because my meal didn’t cost the price of a main meal, but sub charge was still applied on the bill. The chicken wings came in a bowl, some where just bones, and frankly they looked like they were collected from left overs from other guests. We did complain. Drinks where also very dear,€670 for a bulmers. You’re also put on the spot when settling bill. You are giving an option on card reader, to tap yes to leave a tip, or no, whilst the waitress waits beside you. I felt bad and explained to waitress, I would normally leave a tip, but the food was so poor and drink so dear I would not leave a tip. Will not be backMore

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
roryk924, General Manager at The Harbourmaster, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2020

Hi John, thanks for your feedback - €6.70 is the standard cost of a Pint Bottle of Bulmers - did you get a small bottle by mistake ? The pigsback vouchers you speak of are exceptional value for just €12.50 per person you have the...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Address Connolly
4,148 reviews
.20 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
1,677 reviews
.25 km away
The Townhouse
624 reviews
.34 km away
O'Sheas Hotel
437 reviews
.37 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar
627 reviews
.22 km away
Thai Spice
352 reviews
.18 km away
Urban Brewing & Stack A Restaurant
257 reviews
.08 km away
Seven Wonders Ifsc
133 reviews
.14 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum
7,781 reviews
.18 km away
The Famine Sculptures
2,661 reviews
.20 km away
The Jeanie Johnston: An Irish Famine Story
1,606 reviews
.30 km away
River Liffey
763 reviews
.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Munsterrugbydog
20 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 455eileeng | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I do not know.
0
Votes
Leonie P
3 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Berni110 | Reviewed this property |
Can't say for sure, but wud imagine 5pm -7.30(ish) Give them a buzz or find them on FB.👍
0
Votes
Gembem
2 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from rory k | Property representative |
yes i do call me on 0870541674 for further details, best wedding experience ever
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Harbourmaster

The Harbourmaster is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5