We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

#719 of 2,146 Restaurants in Dublin
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, Pub, International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
153
152
74
51
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
153
152
74
51
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wings steak cod ifsc euro
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

I used to go to HB quite often, for lunch or after work drinks. It was very enjoyable, with good pub food, reasonably priced and top service. Unfortunately, they recently put up the prices quite a bit (burgers +50% ???) and the quality of the...service went downhill (no service outside, queue at the bar, rude staff ecc). Personally, I would not recommend this place at the present time. I hope that the management will take action to improve, because the place is really nice and very convenient for people working in IFSC.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a house salad to start, really very dry didn't look like any dressing at all not worth 750, one of the party was looking for gulten free options didn't really have much, wasn't very friendly won't be backMore

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
rory k, Marketing at The Harbourmaster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit to the Harbourmaster, thank you for taking the time to give your feedback - it really helps us to improve our services. We are trialing new menu items at the minute and the house salad is one...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Harbourmaster presents an attractive impression but the food experience in the bar area is less so. The menu focuses on international rather than local choices and the proportions provided are less than what could be expected for the price asked; i chose the beer...batters cod with chunky chips which was more batter than fish. In addition the tartare sauce and mushy peas were served in non recyclable plastic mini containers. More suprising was the presence of a 'Mr Pipi' - toilet attendant in the bathrooms. This is a practice I have only found (and still exists) in Belgium and in former Eastern European Communist countries up (where it has disappeared as of the mid 1990s). It is a social anomaly and its existence in a restaurant pitching at a certain level of client customer is very strange indeed.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
rory k, Marketing at The Harbourmaster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Ronan, I agree completely re. the plastic containers, I have learned that we reverted to these from the porcelain ones as they kept getting thrown in the bin in error and re-ordering was costing a small fortune, we are currently looking into a paper...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

€6.20 for a pint of Guinness …you’re not in Temple Bar ffs! The pint was grand but I’ve had better #dockerspub #ferrymanpun! Pringles from a machine is poor show….crisps or peanuts from behind the bar shouldn’t be a difficult thing to provide.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
rory k, Marketing at The Harbourmaster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Paul, thanks for the feedback, I will have to sample the local pints to see what we are missing - thanks for the heads up :) We do actually have crisps in our adjoining coffee shop if requested, sorry to disappoint on the night....More

Reviewed 19 April 2022

I purchased three vouchers on Pigsback as gifts for some family members at Christmas.  Andrea and Aaron (my sister and brother in law) chose to use their vouchers on 31st March 2022 Aaron presented their Pigsback voucher upon arrival ( voucher no: 469017/4062234). They ordered...their food as per the voucher, 2 mains and 2 sides. They did not have an opportunity to order Tea/coffee. When their food arrived a man came down and told them that the voucher had expired. My sister advised that 3 vouchers had been purchased together and that the codes may have been mixed up. I retrieved the other 2 codes and provided them to my sister who in turn provided them to the man. He scanned those codes and advised they had also been redeemed. My sister explained that they could not have all been redeemed as only 2 people had used them.  The man went off while my sister tried to resolve the issue. Meanwhile I got onto manager Rory by phone. My sister was left waiting on somebody to come back to her at their table. She approached the lady at the register on 2 occasions and asked to speak to the manager. Nobody came. She then called a man and asked him for the bill as she was not interested to hang around as the service was terrible. That man advised her that she could probably try and buy another voucher online and use it, instead he would have to charge for all courses, sides separate. When she checked, the voucher was sold out. She should not have had to do this in the first place as there was no issue with the voucher. The first man my sister spoke to came back to her and advised me that I was speaking to the manager. She asked that man to confirm what dates the other vouchers had been redeemed and by who. The man showed that 2 vouchers were used in Jan and Feb. My sister confirmed these dates with my family and these were correct. Nobody could account for the March date as it was not used.  I referred the man to the Pigsback account screenshots which showed that 2 vouchers were notes as "redeemed" while one showed as "expired". Kindly note the expiry date on the voucher was 19th March 2022, however during a telephone call to the Harbourmaster the previous week, my sister was advised that the vouchers had been extended to the end of the month.  After 15 mins of getting nowhere with the Man, he came back out to my sister with Rory, the manager. She explained the situation to him. He also advised that the vouchers were redeemed. My sister asked him for the booking info etc and he advised he could not provide it as it would take him more than "half an hour to even locate". She told him this was not good enough. My sister asked again for him to confirm what date and time the voucher was used so he scanned it again. The scanner information showed that the voucher was redeemed on the 15th March at 00:00. Kindly note this was 2 days BEFORE the expiry date and at Midnight when the pub was closed. We referred Rory to the Pigsback account. we explained that IF the voucher has been used on the 15th March, it should show up on the account as "redeemed" and not "expired".  This conversation went on deaf ears. My sister then, for the 3rd time requested the bill to pay for their food and explained that they were also paying for the car park at €4 an hour across the street. It was at this stage that Rory explained that this fault was down to the "Third Party" and not him. My sister explained that she just wanted to settle the bill and leave as she did NOT enjoy her meal after all the hassle with the vouchers. Rory then said that my sister and her husband "looked like decent people and do not look like we intend any malice" which they were both completely offended by. He then said that as a gesture of goodwill he will clear the bill. They thanked him for his time and left. Rory did say to me on the phone that they would "not be eating here for free". I want it noted that NOT ONCE, did my sister ever demand her food for free, in fact she tried to pay 3 times even though the fault was in no way ours.  The service was awful and the level of customer service was ridiculous considering WE had to constantly follow up and request to speak to members of management regarding THEIR error. Trying to reach somebody to discuss this with was so difficult. The phone number you call is only open business hours for reservations and you cannot get through to the restaurant directly. After searching Google, I came across a phone number for Rory eventually. To say this man should not be in the position he is in would be an understatement. He is arrogant and rude, and continued to speak over me after asking many times to please stop cutting me off mid sentence. He eventually decided to speak with my sister in the restaurant and mentioned to her that I was being difficult. Now, I think that is extremely unprofessional and out of line considering all I wanted was to figure out why they would not accept the voucher which in the end turned out to be their own fault.  STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 13 April 2022

His ( Marco's) attitude was absolutely disgraceful, treated us like the scum of the earth! Is it because we availed of the voucher deal(28 €) or we were the same couple. He needs to re-trained. Tbl 48/2 Chk 725 13April,22 19:01 Philip

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
rory k, Marketing at The Harbourmaster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Philip, sorry only to hear you didn't enjoy your visit to the Harbourmaster - if you would like to let me know what happened please give me a call on 0861428280.

Reviewed 5 April 2022 via mobile

Poor quality food Tasteless burger and fries Beer selection is awful, no quality Irish breweries The staff were fine Disappointing experienceMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
rory k, Marketing at The Harbourmaster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, sorry to hear about your disappointing visit but thanks for taking the time to give your feedback, we have just released a new menu with 6 tasty new burger options, hopefully you will give us another shot one day. If you wouldn't mind...More

Reviewed 3 April 2022

Went for lunch Saturday afternoon. Food and service good. Function on up stairs. So noisy we could not have a conversation downstairs After paying bill we had to go elsewhere for desert and coffee. Asked if noise could be reduced told that was impossible. Don't...go here if you want to have enjoy a conversation.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
rory k, Marketing at The Harbourmaster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Michael, sad to see a one star rating :( sorry to hear your visit was ruined by the noise level especially when the food and service was good - our venue does get very busy at times - I believe that Sat you were...More

Reviewed 17 February 2022 via mobile

We return to this restaurant every time we visit Dublin. The food and service is always excellent. This time we had a Groupon voucher and again we were not disappointed.

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
rory k, Marketing at The Harbourmaster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, huge thanks for your lovely review, our team work really hard and appreciate kind words and feedback - THANK YOU :-)

Reviewed 24 November 2021 via mobile

Cannot fault them here. We have returned quite a few times as the service and food is always Amazing. Special thanks to Pino (frank) who always gives the best service with a smile. He is such a credit to the business. we’re already planning out...next visit back.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
rory k, Marketing at The Harbourmaster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Huge thanks for your very lovely review, Pino was a legend indeed - thanks so much for taking the time to give us your feedback, it is hugely appreciated THANK YOU :-)

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Address Connolly
4,321 reviews
.20 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
1,786 reviews
.25 km away
The Townhouse
625 reviews
.34 km away
O'Sheas Hotel
437 reviews
.37 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Thai Spice
361 reviews
.18 km away
Ely Bar & Grill
778 reviews
.10 km away
Urban Brewing & Stack A Restaurant
281 reviews
.08 km away
Seven Wonders Ifsc
135 reviews
.14 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum
8,072 reviews
.18 km away
The Famine Sculptures
2,681 reviews
.20 km away
River Liffey
770 reviews
.25 km away
Irish Family History Centre
119 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Munsterrugbydog
20 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 455eileeng | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I do not know.
0
Votes
Leonie P
3 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Berni110 | Reviewed this property |
Can't say for sure, but wud imagine 5pm -7.30(ish) Give them a buzz or find them on FB.👍
0
Votes
Gembem
2 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from rory k | Property representative |
yes i do call me on 0870541674 for further details, best wedding experience ever
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Harbourmaster

The Harbourmaster is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5