We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#132 of 395 Bar in Dublin
#449 of 2,002 Restaurants in Dublin
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
€8 - €23
CUISINES
Bar, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (322)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
119
94
31
9
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
119
94
31
9
24
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to watch the football as they have multiple screens in multiple parts of the pub. It has a good atmosphere, very friendly. Service was good, they offer table service but the quality of the food was a bit basic but for Dublin it was...not too expensive. Would recommend for sports viewing.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2024

Went to watch an NFL game. This is not a sports bar; it is a karaoke bar. The karaoke is played at extreme volume. They had the game on high volume but couldn’t hear a word. Had to shout at each other over the tuneless,...deafening karaoke singing. Had a headache and left at halftime. DO NOT GO HERE UNLESS YOU CALL IN ADVANCE AND CONFIRM NO KARAOKE.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt Hudson, Owner at The Wool Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2024

Hi Greg, Apologies for what happened on Saturday night. I put my hands up and agree that it wasn't a good experience for you. Please let me explain what happened: We have a dedicated NFL room which we show all the NFL games and it's...More

Reviewed 14 October 2023

My partner and I went in to get some food along with our baby we were sat down at the table asked for a menu and the staff were originally polite, My partner then had started feeding the baby when one of the door men...who we had just walked past to gain entry to the restaurant, came in to us and says “ how did you get in here “ extremely rude to my partner and asked us to leave… apparently you can’t go for food at 5pm in the day with a baby in their bar because of the match being on TV which I wanted to watch while eating food, while walking out a lady tied to explain why we couldn’t be there my partner politely explained to her that we were regular customers and have never had the problem before, I then proceeded to tell them that it is a disgrace and my partner was in the middle of feeding the baby and your staff are telling us to get out all we wanted was some food and to watch the match the baby wasn’t even crying or being loud we won’t be back.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2023 via mobile

Won't be back to this bar because of their blatant discrimination against customers. Pity really because I only work 2 minutes walk away. Due to their discrimination against me I am glad that all my co workers in office building have decided not to go...to this bar again in their support for me. No reason given for not serving me but was just ignored at bar which shows the lack of courtesy this bar shows to customers.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt Hudson, Owner at The Wool Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2024

Sorry but I can't really answer this complaint as I don't understand what you mean. We blatantly discriminated against customers for what? Being customers?

Reviewed 8 February 2023

Not a good experience, One member of staff I found to be ignorant, rude and bad mannered and had very poor communicative skills when dealing with customers.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Woolshed D, General Manager at The Wool Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2023

Sorry to hear you had a bad experience, can I advise that if you have a problem with staff in ours or any establishment it's a great idea to ask for a manager and explain the situation. Very difficult for us to comment on what...More

Reviewed 28 November 2022

A big thank you to Ann Maria and all the staff at the Woolshed Baa for looking after us on Saturday. It was so good to watch the Rugby in such a relaxed and welcoming environment. The food was excellent and the bar service brilliant....We had a couple of incidents where drinks were knocked over but it was soon cleaned up without a drama by the fantastic staff Would have no hesitation in recommending this bar. A Great experienceMore

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Woolshed D, General Manager at The Wool Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2023

Thanks for the review, if there was a site for bars to review our customers you would have got 5 stars too!

Reviewed 23 November 2022

We had a group booking for lunch but there was no waiter service at our table so we had to order and prepay for our food at the bar. The food was AWFUL. My burger was cold and not much improved by sending it back....My colleagues waited an hour (despite several reminders) for their nachos before giving up and cancelling their order and getting a refund. The place was packed so the waiters kept popping over with various dishes as they didn't know who ordered what. Most were cold but at that stage people were hungry so they ate them anyway as they had already paid for them. Will not be returning and would advise others not to bother either.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Woolshed D, General Manager at The Wool Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2023

Hi Audson, we really do apologise for the bad experience you had. It was during the World Cup with a very big game for Argentina being played and in retrospect we should not have taken a lunch booking during that time. We did since then...More

Reviewed 28 October 2022 via mobile

Great fun night but don’t expect to get there on time and pick a song to belt out until the DJ decides if he wants to call you up . 2 hours later when the pub was almost empty our names were called . AND...we were sensational ! The staff are fabulous and hard working 😁More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Woolshed D, General Manager at The Wool Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2023

So sorry you had to wait for a chance to shine on the karaoke stage! On a busy night it can be frustrating to wait for sure. But our DJ runs a system where every request is queued in the order it comes in, that...More

Reviewed 1 May 2022

Ate here with my pal for lunch and I must say, they have a good selection of drinks and food. The pub food here are quite filling for its price. The place was decently clean and the staffs were friendly. Satisfied with the drinking and...dining experience and would visit again!More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Woolshed D, General Manager at The Wool Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2023

Thank you, we do try and offer good value on our food and drinks, something that is becoming more important to customers than ever in this current market.

Reviewed 29 December 2021

Awful food! Awful service! Never again! Burger was cold and tasted old, Heineken was not Heineken! ????

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Woolshed D, General Manager at The Wool Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2023

Sorry to hear about your bad experience, unfortunately you did not bring any issue to the attention of any member of staff at the time so very difficult for us to comment further, other than to say our Heineken is definitely Heineken.

Reviewed 30 November 2021

Have visited this establishment many times over the past few years ,with my family. After some Xmas shopping my wife and I went across to the woolshed. My 2daughters followed. On entry both of my daughters presented the covid passes. The waitress said it was...over 21s .my daughters are 22 and 18. The manager comes across to our table to inform us of the age ,,,then asked us to leave . We had already ordered our food and a couple of drinks.......and paid for them by card ..... I told him we had paid etc .......so he said we could eat and would have to leave after our food etc. I should have demanded my money back but I didn't want to lose my temper I front of my family ,as we were out for my birthday . I have to say I will never give this place any more business in the future . It was 6 o clock in the evening. With about 12 people in the place ..... Who ever owns this place is obviously a sound buisness man. So please be mindful before considering going here ........just don't. Drink was terrible , Although the food was good. To change the age like this is disgraceful,it was changed after they reopened in June.........they obviously don't need the buisness. Won't be back😡More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2020

We spent a night with restictions but was still So much fun such a great waitress thank you alex had a great time xxx

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Woolshed D, General Manager at The Wool Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Thanks a mill for the understanding, we did our best to make sure everyone had a great time within the restrictions. Not easy but great to hear we pulled it off!

Reviewed 6 December 2020

Booked 2 tables for a group of 5 couples. Separated into lads and girls each table. They served us our food 40 minutes before the girls and we’re quick with our drinks too. Before the time limit was up they told the girls they couldn’t...order anymore drinks which they should have been allowed as we had only been there just over an hour of the allowed 1 hour 45 minutes. After a talk with the manager they allowed the girls to order more drinks until she seen we had ordered more drinks (which we ordered at least 15 minutes before talking to the manager) when the drinks for the lads arrived to the table the manager said if yous get more drinks the girls cannot have theirs now. It was all very unprofessional as we booked 2 separate tables and didn’t mix with the other table due to restrictions then they proceeded to give us the bill for the two tables as one which again made no sense why the girls were punished for us ordering drinks and then put our bills together very emotional decision from the manager when all we wanted to do was purchase drinks in our allowed time before moving on. Wouldn’t go back unless there was a new manager workingMore

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Woolshed D, General Manager at The Wool Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Can I just draw your attention to the Government guidelines in place during December 2020, and remind you that everything was done on the part of the Woolshed to stick to the rules and keep staff and customers safe. The actual events were a little...More

Reviewed 5 December 2020 via mobile

Thanks to Matt and the team. 4 Cork boys and a local. Amazing night. Thanks for everything. Ye should definitely consider a pub in Cork. Mark.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Woolshed D, General Manager at The Wool Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Welcome anytime. Say, that's not a bad idea about Cork!!

Reviewed 14 September 2020 via mobile

Used to really enjoy this place. Unfortunately, the food has really gone downhill which was shown with the hair I found in the food recently. They have raised the prices as well. Great TVs for sports but multiple times I have asked if they will...show a match on the big screen and then gotten there and it’s just NASCAR with literally no one there to watch it. I mean it’s completely empty in front of the two biggest TVs in Dublin lol.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Woolshed D, General Manager at The Wool Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

So sorry to hear you had a bad experience with regards to the food. I do hope it was brought to a Managers attention and resolved for you immediately. Yes our prices did go up slightly last year as did the prices from our suppliers,...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Kingfisher Guesthouse
78 reviews
.18 km away
Staycity Aparthotels, Dublin, City Centre
785 reviews
.25 km away
Kingfisher Townhouse
510 reviews
.30 km away
Leonardo Hotel Dublin Parnell Street - Formerly Jurys Inn
6,214 reviews
.32 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Church
6,036 reviews
.16 km away
The Black Sheep
368 reviews
.14 km away
Krewe
176 reviews
.16 km away
Blas Cafe
59 reviews
.15 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Henry Street
355 reviews
.25 km away
Jervis Shopping Centre
139 reviews
.22 km away
Ilac Centre
31 reviews
.19 km away
Moore Street
145 reviews
.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Adam S
1 July 2018|
Answer
Response from Matt H | Property representative |
Hi, yes sure it is. What time and can we please get a contact number from you?
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE WOOL SHED, Dublin - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Wool Shed

The Wool Shed is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5