We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
The Jar is a comfortable bar with a warm welcome that embraces the spirit and vibrancy of Wexford Street. Our team is made up of young, familiar faces who share a love for great food, original drinks and superb hospitality. In selecting businesses to partner up with for The Jar, we looked for young, Irish companies that shared our values and vision with their produce, preparation and quality. We’re excited to have a Base Wood-Fired pizza oven here in the building. The Jar is an over 23s venue - please be aware you may be asked for ID at the door.
PRICE RANGE
US$10 - US$17
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, Pizza, European, Pub
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
248
34
6
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
248
34
6
4
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Myself and my colleagues had a fabulous evening at The Jar, thanks to the dedicated attention of their team - Jena, Lucas, and everyone else who helped to make our night out so seamless. The food was great value and delicious - there was something...for everyone - and I loved the ease of the wristbands provided for our large party. Nobody was thirsty or hungry throughout the entire evening! Not to mention the gorgeous Terrace event space. Jena, Lucas and the team are truly professionals and offered top tier hospitality. I can't recommend The Jar enough for gatherings large and small! We will certainly be back. Thank you!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 March 2022 via mobile

Rude staff and awful experience!!!! Worst place in Dublin, tables were tiny staff were rude and belittling. No love music. Cannot explain how rude staff were, we came for my birthday and they shoved us in a corner and laughed at us when we asked...to move. Apparently poor service isn’t a problem when there’s “a war going on so get over yourselves!” - the manager of The JarMore

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 26 February 2022 via mobile

Awful food, even worse service where I genuinely had to shout to be noticed (after 25 minutes) and genuinely undrinkable wine. Couldn’t be paid to return.

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 1 December 2021

it was really great pizza we had a group 7 we got several different pizzas as being off a sailboat nights on the town are few and far between this was worth every penny

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 25 September 2021

I was celebrating with a big group of about 20 friends at the Jar recently. It felt as if the staff were deliberately going out of their way to give us terrible service. For the first 2 hours we were there, we were the only...people on the ground floor and still the staff were beyond terrible. Each time we finished a drink, we were waiting roughly 20 minutes before a staff member even took an order. At one stage my friends drink was sent to another table, the waiter came back and said “sorry I sent that drink to that table over there, do you still want one?” Easily the worst service I have ever experienced in Dublin. Camden street is a busy place with a lot of other great bars so I will never be back.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Traveler62101946860, Marketing at The Jar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2021

Hi There, Firstly, we would like to thank you for your feedback, as we are always trying to improve on customer service in The Jar. We are very sorry to hear you had a negative experience in The Jar recently. As you can imagine, following...More

Reviewed 6 December 2020

Booked a table for Friday night for myself and two friends. The manager brought us to our table , the front doors were open and we were all freezing cold. We asked him could We move tables( as there was plenty more available) he said...he would take a look and then never came back to us. He was rude and rushed us when eating our meal. Kept asking if he can take away the plates when we hadn’t even finished eating. We got served a round of drinks by the bartender then the manager came back and told us we had to leave. Potentially the worst customer experience I’ve had in Dublin. We were made to feel uncomfortable the whole time we were there. Used to go there for drinks and food but that will certainly be the last time myself and my friends go there.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 24 September 2020

Scouting the city for outdoor dining places yesterday, I spotted the blackboard outside of The Jar advertising the terrace area and I'm so glad I spotted it! We were informed beforehand that they would need the table back for half 7 which still gave us...a generous hour and a half for a table of 5 without a booking. The terrace area is lovely and the heaters ensured that it wasn't too cold. As a vegetarian, I was impressed with the options and went for one of the pizzas which was delicious (there was also a vegan pizza that I didn't go for but sounded lovely). The staff were very accomodating and created a warm atmosphere in The Jar.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 23 February 2020 via mobile

Avoid, that was my worst dining experience Ive ever had. Food was horrible and staff were very unprofessional. We went expecting Base Pizza, but were never told that they had changed management. When the food arrived it tasted like frozen pizza and was cold, tasted...awful. We have been loads of times before and loved it but the change in owners meant the place has gone seriously down hill. 2 large pizzas and chicken wings - worst €45 I spent.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?3  
Traveler62101946860, Marketing at The Jar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Thank you for your feedback. It is regrettable that you feel this way about your recent visit to The Jar. Customer satisfaction is our highest priority here at The Jar and we would like to investigate your experience further. If you would like to give...More

Reviewed 14 February 2020

We hosted our end of year party here - for the third year in a row. Couldn't fault the service given to us - it was second to none. The food was so good and really reasonably priced. They gave us such a good private...area - couldn't be rivaled anywhere else in the city centre. Highly recommend.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 13 February 2020 via mobile

The pizza was very good. I totally recommend it. The place is more like a bar but it's totally worth a visit

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Camden Street Hotel
578 reviews
.10 km away
The Green Hotel
263 reviews
.16 km away
Russell Court Hotel
1,218 reviews
.19 km away
Albany House Dublin
1,031 reviews
.19 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Landmark
503 reviews
.06 km away
Zakura Noodle & Sushi
251 reviews
.00 km away
Las Tapas de Lola
1,274 reviews
.00 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Iveagh Gardens
271 reviews
.20 km away
Dublin Unitarian Church
17 reviews
.23 km away
National Archives of Ireland
5 reviews
.21 km away
Cherry Comedy at Whelan's
174 reviews
.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Frydaylaura
26 October 2019|
Answer
Response from doolingaling | Reviewed this property |
If you contact the Jar directly, I’m sure you’ll be able to reserve a space - they don’t do dinner reservations though!!
0
Votes
debasmitachak
24 April 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from LoyolaGroup | Property representative |
Hi There, Thank you for your interest in the Jar. We would be happy to accommodate kids until 7pm. After this time, we are a strictly over 23s venue. We would love to have you join us for some pizza in the Jar some... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Jar

Yes, The Jar offers takeaway services.

The Jar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5