We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Harbour Restaurant & Bar

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Single-use or sanitised menus
Read more
Updated 14/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Harbour Restaurant & Bar
Updated 14/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$6 - US$36
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Irish, Pizza, European, Seafood
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
features, about
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
169
33
9
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
169
33
9
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza steak fish cakes salmon seafood soup great evening recommend this restaurant first class gorgeous food lovely restaurant the early bird menu from start to finish great atmosphere could not fault angela mary
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

Amazing food! We had a great time and the service was the best we had in Donegal! Emma and Hannah were lovely.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
theharbour1993, Owner at The Harbour Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Amadeu Bernaus, We are delighted to hear that your holiday dinner was an enjoyable one. Thank you so much for dining with us, and Emma & Hannah will be thrilled about the mention. Kind Regards

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Travelled to Donegal town to see what it had to offer. First we went to McCafferty’s for some food but after waiting for around ten minutes with disinterested staff , including what seemed to be a manager that didn’t make any effort to approach us...we continued to look else where. Two friends and myself then seen some outside dining being hosted by The Harbour Restaurant & Bar . We approached and were greeted straight away by a warm and friendly Daithi already off to a better start . He then explained that they had just reopened today and that he would discuss with the host if there was availability. Then we were greeted by a busy but very professional Sean who checked the bookings and was quick to get us a table against all odds , He had menus and a drinks order taken straight away very swiftly to our relief as we were quite hungry from visiting the Wild Atlantic Way during the afternoon. The menu was impressive, good balance of fish , red and white meat dishes. The starters and main course sections on the menu was really easy to read and all uniform , very well done. The menu was also very informative of what was included in each dish regarding relevant allergen advice/information. Daithi recorded our order with ease and no issues and was able to recite it back clearly, then our Guinness arrived your cold room must have new mono blocks or the keg must have been well chilled before being tapped but it was fantastic big well done to who ever pulled it. Our starters came and we had ordered, Steamed Donegal Bay Mussels , Spiced King Prawns and Chicken Wings. All received quite highly & included lemon wipes for fingers and a wedge of lemon for a palette cleanse highly impressed by that. I’d also asked for a wine list and was expecting one of the servers to quiz me on what I was having as mains to see if they would pair any wine for me or try and maybe upswell some but I was also conscious that it was full at this point and they had quite a journey to travel with the food, so I ordered what I would have recommended myself. For main course we ordered , The Signature Surf & Turf and two Irish Americans. Presentation was perfect, really liked the crockery they came on . Where is the beef sourced from ? A local supplier or an industrial one? What about the onion rings are they made in house ?. The food was exceptionally well my steak was rare and not a bit of myoglobin in sight. Main course was excellent, we were cleared and then approached by Hannah who presented us with our dessert menu and recited all the relevant information that we needed going forward with our decision on the course , the only thing I would say is from experience but then again not knowing the demographic popularity of the area I would have personally added a hot chocolate brownie to this menu as was lacking with a warm sweet especially with outside dining . As having said that the menu is also again extensive and has a great range of variety, We settled for Harbour House Profiteroles. I found this dish was the best branded dish on the menu. I also ordered a latte , the dessert was lovely with honey ice cream and bailey’s chocolate sauce. The only thing I could really fault was the coffee , the milk was burnt and had no texture , also the glass it was served in had been quite difficult to deliver regarding this it did have some access coffee spilt around the glass and was made in effort to clean this mistake with a napkin maybe? A wet napkin to polish the glass would have been a better way to hide this. But I appreciate yous have just reopened and everything can’t always be perfect but it wasn’t very far off. I’d like to thank Daithi ,Sean & Hannah for a great service tonight. Will certainly put the word out that The Harbour Restaurant is definitely worth a visit.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
theharbour1993, Owner at The Harbour Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Mobile55882458063, What a great title "Staff to be credited", thank you so much for referencing our hard working and dedicated staff, I will be sure to show this to Daiithi, Shaun & Hannah. We appreciate you and your friends dining with us on the...More

Reviewed 22 February 2021

Got a fish and chips takeaway here on Friday (19th Feb). Very very tasty and the size of the portions were great...I could not fault it!! The fish tasted great and the tartar sauce was the nicest tartar sauces I have had in a while....Great sized portions and great value for money. Would definitely recommend it! Thanks a million guys, I will definitely be back!More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
theharbour1993, Owner at The Harbour Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2021

Dear Garvan, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent takeaway, we appreciate your business and delighted to hear all was to your satisfaction. Kind Regards from all the team here.

Reviewed 16 February 2021

Over the past few years I have dined in restaurant but since covid I have gotten take out a few times to wich we were disappointed each time. Frozen vegetables from a restaurant of this standard you would expect to be fresh??? And half portions...of poor quality food for high prices isn't good. I understand businesses are trying to make ends meat with everything going on but this is how you loose customers. Sorry to say I won't be dining here again.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
theharbour1993, Owner at The Harbour Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2021

Dear Staryeyes123 Thank you very much for your business. I am very disappointed to have received this review, as you have said you have purchased a few take - aways and on some of these occasions I have spoken directly to you myself and your...More

Reviewed 21 January 2021

I would like to thank Mary and Paul for lovely meal delivered to our home after the funeral mass of my husbands father. It was delivered shortly after we returned from mass. The food was fabulous a choice between turkey and ham and salmon, with...all the trimmings and even a couple of pizzas for the children. Just what was needed. The service we received was amazing, this is a business that cares for the community and there customers. I can't recommend the Harbour Restaurant highly enough. 100%. Cant wait to visit when restrictions are lifted. Thanks again. Fintan and Patricia Boyle.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
theharbour1993, Owner at The Harbour Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2021

Dear Patricia & Fintan, We really appreciate you's taking the time to write these very kind words after the sad time you's went through. We look forward to seeing you both once it is safe to do so. Take Care & Stay Safe.

Reviewed 1 October 2020

We had a terrific evening here mid September 2020. The food was out of this world, we both had steak. Don't normally have room for dessert and though I didn't, i had to try the lemon drizzle cake which was devine. The staff are so...pleasant especially the lovely Hannah. We look forward to returning next time we are in Donegal.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
theharbour1993, Marketing at The Harbour Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2020

Dear Deb K, Thank you both for dining at The Harbour . We and Hannah appreciate your lovely comments . Hoping you will get the opportunity to be in Donegal in the future and dine with us again. Regards

Reviewed 27 September 2020 via mobile

Had a beautiful meal on 19/09/20 before the level 3 restrictions too hold. We had 3 pizzas and Mum had the Chicken of Eireann. All meals were fab could not fault it. Staff lovely as always. Hopefully will be back once the restrictions lift. See...you all soon xxMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
theharbour1993, Owner at The Harbour Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2020

Dear Doreen M, Thank you so much for your recent review, it was so lovely to see you all and glad each one enjoyed their meals, once it is safe to do so we look forward to welcoming you all back. Stay Safe

Reviewed 22 September 2020

We had a meal friday 18th september 2020. We had soup and the seafood balentine and seafood linquine. The seafood was excellent. The food and service was excellent from all staff. The restaurant appears to be well run covid-19 with friendly staff and Angela tried...to promote their guesthouse Farmleigh. We might try it in the future. We will return to Donegal town again. ThanksMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
theharbour1993, Owner at The Harbour Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2020

Declan J C. Thank you very much for recently dining with us whilst visiting Donegal Town, it was lovely to meet you both. We are glad to read that you both enjoyed your meal and experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in...More

Reviewed 18 September 2020

Had a fantastic meal here tonight service was brilliant. All covid restrictions in place. The waiter Daithi needs to be mentioned so friendly and helpful thanks guys will definitely be back.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
theharbour1993, Owner at The Harbour Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2020

Dear Biidy, Thank you for your recent review and for referencing our hard working staff member Daithi, it was a pleasure to have you dine with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. Warm Regards

Reviewed 11 September 2020 via mobile

Had a lovely meal and a few cocktails, great atmosphere and good value for money. Shout-out to Daithí for friendly service and recommendations.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
theharbour1993, Owner at The Harbour Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Dear Sd123, Thank you for your recent review and for dining with us, it is so nice to read that you enjoyed your evening, meal and cocktails, I will pass on your lovely words to Daithi who will be thankful of same. Hoping you get...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Central Hotel - Donegal
1,030 reviews
.14 km away
The Abbey Hotel
1,051 reviews
.15 km away
Mill Park Hotel
1,218 reviews
.86 km away
Donegal Manor
495 reviews
2.26 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Chandpur Indian Restaurant
1,191 reviews
.21 km away
Quay West Restaurant Donegal Town
400 reviews
.04 km away
The Blueberry Tea Room
802 reviews
.20 km away
Market House Restaurant
436 reviews
.14 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Donegal Castle
1,157 reviews
.27 km away
Donegal Railway Heritage Centre
65 reviews
.51 km away
Church of Ireland
10 reviews
.24 km away
Famine Graveyard
8 reviews
.86 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Harbour Restaurant & Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Harbour Restaurant & Bar

Yes, The Harbour Restaurant & Bar is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Harbour Restaurant & Bar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5