We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Gastropub situated in the heart of Cork city offering fabulous food, delicious cocktails & drinks in a unique historical building. The venue is full of old relics of times gone by. The name Dwyers is woven into the fabric of Cork, beginning in 1820 with the establishment by James Dwyer of a drapery, wholesale and haberdashery business at 26-29 Washington St. Over the next century, the enterprise grew into an empire that employed thousands, Dwyer and his descendents striding tall among the ‘merchant princes’ of the city. At the heart of that empire was the original commercial location at 26-29 Washington St, which grew over the decades into a remarkable complex of warehouses and factories, covering
PRICE RANGE
US$5 - US$25
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Live Music
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
113
18
9
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
113
18
9
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch buttermilk chicken guacamole fish and chips eggs benedict brownie burger potatoes sarah jane great atmosphere washington street top ups staff are extremely friendly last night lovely waitress beautiful restaurant a late lunch
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

Please everyone that is Ceoliac, gluten intolerant or follows a gluten free diet, be aware that the fries are NOT gluten free! The loaded fries are falsely advertised as being gluten free and regular fries and sweet potato fries have no allergens listed after them!...They are not suitable for Ceoliacs despite what the menu says. I have brought this to their attention and they said it was an “oversight on our behalf” Can you imagine the amount of people that have been sick because of their “oversight” regarding allergens! It’s scary! I’ve been informed while their fries Ingredients are gluten free they are fried in oils containing gluten so therefore are not safe!! Please be careful and order at your peril!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 November 2021 via mobile

Aggressive and unhelpful staff. The bouncer wouldn’t let me in to my own booking. When I asked to speak to the manager he simply said it’s not his problem. I was left out on the street by myself. If you book this venue be prepared...not to be let in for no reason at all.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Dwyers of Cork, Owner at Dwyers of Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2021

Thank you for your feedback. We'd love to hear more about your experience if you could email us on info@dwyersofcork.ie

Reviewed 8 October 2021 via mobile

What a great evening we had! Six of us all pals in our 60s on a night out. Table was reserved for us very comfortable. Service was first class to our table for the evening. The grub was just lovely and we had a few...pints of stout. The decor is fabulous in there, they’ve used some of the artefacts from the old Dwyer’s store that used to be there.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Dwyers of Cork, Owner at Dwyers of Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2021

Dear TripAdvisor user, Many thanks for taking the time to review Dwyer’s. We were delighted that you enjoyed your time with us during your visit and that our team looked after you so well. Regards,

Reviewed 3 October 2021

We heard a tip off that this was the spot to be on a Saturday night. Definitely the case with amazing food and cocktails. Just make sure to book in advance

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Dwyers of Cork, Owner at Dwyers of Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2021

Dear TripAdvisor user, Many thanks for taking the time to review Dwyer’s. Glad the good tip paid off and you enjoyed all on offer during your visit. Regards,

Reviewed 26 September 2021

I really would recommend anyone to do the bottomless brunch. There’s nowhere more attentive and generous with topping up the glass. It was a great experience . Were going again in few weeks. Thanks to staff

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Dwyers of Cork, Owner at Dwyers of Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2021

Dear TripAdvisor user, Many thanks for reviewing Dwyer’s. So glad ye enjoyed our bottomless brunch experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again in a few weeks. Regards,

Reviewed 5 September 2021

Only went here for a few drinks but the service as impeccable! I mean talk about above and beyond! From our warm greeting to excellent table service all I can say is AMAZING!!! Special mention to our server Niall (those french martinis ;) spoilt rotten!!!...thanks again Dwyer’s TEAM! 11/10 Thanks!, Moira and Co.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Dwyers of Cork, Owner at Dwyers of Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Dear TripAdvisor user, Many thanks for taking the time to review Dwyer’s. We are thrilled to read about how much you enjoyed your visit and how well our team and Niall looked after you so well in the night. We pride ourselves on having a...More

Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

All I can say is WOOOOOOW!!! Niall our server went above and beyond for us constantly cracking up terrible jokes and making us laugh. Is service was second to none also to tried to poach him to the bakery where I work unfortunately he declined,...Give this man a raise! Thanks Niall 😊More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Dwyers of Cork, Owner at Dwyers of Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Dear TripAdvisor user, Many thanks for taking the time to review Dwyer’s. We are so happy that you were so well looked after during your visit with us by Niall and the rest of the team. Unfortunately Niall is not for turning but worth a...More

Reviewed 4 September 2021 via mobile

Had a meal here on our last night in Cork and really went out on a high. The place was buzzing and the music and atmosphere amazing. I don’t know how many staff came and asked if we were OK. Every one of them seemed...genuinely interested in making sure we had a good time. It was very well organised regarding Covid and the tables were all set up with menus waiting. The food was very nice indeed, and the service was friendly and efficient. Next time we come to Cork this will be our first stop. Thank you everyone.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Dwyers of Cork, Owner at Dwyers of Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Dear TripAdvisor user, Many thanks for taking the time to review Dwyer’s. We are delighted our team looked after you so well during your visit and that the atmosphere and our covid practices were up to standards. We look forward to welcoming you back again...More

Reviewed 24 August 2021

The service and atmosphere at Dwyer’s is great, you can’t beat it but I have to say I was very let down by the food. We booked brunch and all ordered different types of the American style pancakes. There was 6 of us dining outside...and we all felt like the pancakes came out of a packet. They weren’t hot, very bready, and crumbled very easily. Either they were packaged or had been prepared hours before which I could understand if it was heaving but it was not busy that day. We had a train to catch so we didn’t mention this to the staff, which in hindsight we should have. I’ve had dinner in Dwyer’s many times and loved it but the brunch was a very big letdown. Again couldn’t fault the service!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Dwyers of Cork, Owner at Dwyers of Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2021

Dear TripAdvisor user. Many thanks for taking the time to review Dwyer’s. We are very disappointed that we didn’t live up to your expectations with our brunch offerings. I have addressed this with the kitchen team and review our system for serving brunch going forward....More

Reviewed 24 August 2021 via mobile

We popped in for a quick drink after a late arrival on the advice of our b&b host. Really lovely, buzzy bar, great service and all the staff were super friendly and helpful. It was so good we went back for a late lunch the...following day. I chose the chilli prawns with guacamole on sourdough, it came with 2 poached eggs (perfectly cooked) and a little side of cubes potatoes which was lovely. My partner chose the waffles with buttermilk chicken from the brunch menu, 4 immense chicken goujons and 3 huge waffles proved way too much for him! There were lots of very well dressed ladies making the most of the bottomless cocktails and prosecco with their brunch and listening to them getting very Merry was brilliant entertainment in itself. It felt quite sad when they all upped and left! One of the bar staff noticed us on our return visit and commented on the fact that we were back again and seated at the same table which was lovely as you felt that the staff really were paying attention and noticing everything going on. Can’t praise the attentiveness and good service enoughMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Dwyers of Cork, Owner at Dwyers of Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2021

Dear TripAdvisor user, Many thanks for taking the time to review Dwyer’s. It’s great to read how well you were looked after by our team during your stay in cork. We pride ourselves in giving a good experience to all of our customers and are...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Lancaster Lodge
1,198 reviews
.28 km away
The River Lee
4,572 reviews
.46 km away
The Imperial Hotel
3,317 reviews
.60 km away
Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
951 reviews
.63 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The SpitJack
978 reviews
.05 km away
Liberty Grill
1,788 reviews
.04 km away
Shake Dog Cork
675 reviews
.10 km away
Feed your Senses
162 reviews
.09 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Triskel Arts Centre
110 reviews
.13 km away
Saint Francis Church
21 reviews
.07 km away
Saint Augustine’s Church
5 reviews
.19 km away
Cork Courthouse
5 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
easy_going97
9 September 2020|
Answer
Response from dwyersofcork | Property representative |
They can be cooked in a separate fryer with vegetable oil
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dwyers of Cork

Dwyers of Cork is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4