We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clipper

€€ - €€€, British,
3 High Street, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 1LF, Scotland
+44 1389 731981
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good35%
  • Average20%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3 High Street, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 1LF, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I recently had the pleasure of visiting this restaurant for a family meal. I had the steak pie which was delicious. We were looked after by our waitress called Nicola who was very friendly and helpful, it was a nice relaxing meal and we all...More

Thank shemniman
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered the Louisiana chicken which was amazing, great service from Nicola! Will definitely be back.

Thank Emma25394
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a family meal here and enjoyed all of it, and it was well priced. The decor is good and the service was friendly and well priced. I've marked it down slightly for the fact that the food was not quite as hot as...More

Thank Jordan1964
CLGSocialMedia, Social Media Manager at The Clipper, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jordan, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're delighted to see you enjoyed your experience with us. We're sorry that the food wasn't quite as hot as desired and if that ever does happen again, please let us know. We'll...More

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Visited for a meal recently - served by Nicola who was very friendly and gave good advice on the menu. Food was fantastic and we were disappointed we didn't have time to stay for the quiz night. We will definitely return next time we are...More

Thank Helen L
CLGSocialMedia, Social Media Manager at The Clipper, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Helen, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We greatly appreciate all feedback. We're really pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and we will be sure to pass your feedback along to all the staff, including Nicola. Thanks again and...More

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Was in on Thursday night for a meal. First time trying the new menu and loved it. Was served by the lovely Amy who made our visit even better. Will be back soon!More

Thank Morven M
CLGSocialMedia, Social Media Manager at The Clipper, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Morven, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for giving us 5-stars. It's much appreciated. We're delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and we will be sure to pass your feedback along. We're sure that Amy will greatly appreciate...More

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

we came in Friday 1st september and were served by Amanda - amongst other members of staff (didnt catch tbeir name). We ordered chicken fajitas and tbey were to die for. All the staff including Amanda were fantastic, nothing was too much bother. cant wait...More

Thank Miabumbuie
CLGSocialMedia, Social Media Manager at The Clipper, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Miabumbuie, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We greatly appreciate all feedback. We're really pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and we will be sure to pass your feedback along to all the staff, including Amanda. Thanks again and...More

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Visited today for lunch with my son. Food was excellent. Particular thanks to our waitress Amanda. Lovely friendly nature. Nothing a problem. A credit to the ClipperMore

Thank Sharrin L
CLGSocialMedia, Social Media Manager at The Clipper, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sharrin, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for giving us 5-stars. It's much appreciated. We will be sure to pass your feedback on to Amanda, who I'm sure will greatly appreciate your kind words. Thanks again and we hope...More

Reviewed 31 August 2017

I swore I would never go back after the awful experience I had here at my last visit The Clipper having been a previous favourite restaurant of mine. However on a family occasion with everywhere else suitable full we decided to give it another chance...More

Thank eileentaylor76
CLGSocialMedia, Social Media Manager at The Clipper, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Eileen, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we're sorry to have taken so long to respond. We're very sorry to see that we didn't get it right for your visit. We're obviously delighted that you enjoyed your food but...More

Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Visited for lunch today. Wish we hadn't bothered. We waited for an hour for our lunch despite it not being that busy. When mine came it was cold, so I sent it back. They supposedly heated it but it was still lukewarm when they brought...More

Thank Abi S
CLGSocialMedia, Social Media Manager at The Clipper, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Hi Kevin, Thank you for getting in touch and providing us your feedback. We're sorry your visit to The Clipper was not positive. Would you be willing to send us an email and we can look to resolve this with you? You can reach us...More

Reviewed 25 August 2017

My husband and our friends went for Friday night hot stone steaks and wine deal Only to be told when we ordered that it was not available, we had not been advised of this before we were seated. We complained that we had not been...More

Thank Kevin D
CLGSocialMedia, Social Media Manager at The Clipper, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Hi Kevin, Thank you for getting in touch and providing us your feedback. We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry we clearly didn't get it right during your experience. We will take this on board and look to make improvements where possible. In terms of...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Dining Room
79 reviews
.59 km away
The Glencairn Lounge
292 reviews
.37 km away
Bollywood Lounge
59 reviews
.13 km away
Grill on the Bridge
21 reviews
.45 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dumbarton Castle
361 reviews
.79 km away
Scottish Maritime Museum
182 reviews
.34 km away
River City Set Tour
50 reviews
1.17 km away
Stags Head
14 reviews
.87 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Clipper staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$46
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 High Street, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 1LF, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park  >  West Dunbartonshire  >  Dumbarton
  • Phone Number: +44 1389 731981
  • E-mail
Description
We are a Dumbarton City Centre Restaurant and Bar at 3 High Street, G82 1LW. Whether you're wanting to sit and have a meal in our fabulous restaurant area, to come in for a refreshing pint or gorgeous cocktail, or to watch the sports on our numerous screens, The Clipper offers it all! We also have a variety of options for all occasions and events from table packages to venue hire. Whatever it is, The Clipper can make it special! Twitter: The_Clipper_ Instagram: theclipperdumbarton Food is available from 12:00 to 21:00 every day of the week.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing