We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mustard Seed Restaurant

) #7 of 207 Restaurants in Inverness €€ - €€€ European, British,
16 Fraser Street, Inverness IV1 1DW, Scotland
+44 1463 220220
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (215 reviews)
“banoffee pie” (31 reviews)
“duck” (66 reviews)
Open Now
17:30 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
16 Fraser Street, Inverness IV1 1DW, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (3,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 2,868 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Apparently the restaurant is housed in a, once upon a time, church. However, that was not obvious from the layout of the place. We were each served a glass of house wine complements of the owner of Strathness House, where we were staying. For a...More

Thank reise-tanta-di
Reviewed 2 days ago

This was an interesting restaurant in downtown Inverness. First, parking is really difficult so be prepared to walk. Once there, the food was good but pretty standard Scottsh fare. It is very busy so be prepared for a noisy atmosphere. Overall: Good food in crowded...More

Thank LaRhee H
Reviewed 3 days ago

Lunch today with one vegetarian and two meat eaters. We had 3 different starters and 3 different main meals and we were all impressed with the food. Atmospehere was nice but the staff really made you welcome and were attentice without being over attentive. Looking...More

2  Thank A Time B
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We went for lunch at The Mustard Seed yesterday. We were made to feel welcome by the manager/reception and were promptly seated, despite not having a reservation. The starters arrived, the tomato soup was great but the chicken was rubbery and not great. The main...More

Thank mckiaj
Reviewed 4 days ago

We arrived at the restaurant early (at around 5:30pm) without a reservation. The reception person told us he didn't have a table for us and offered to call their sister restaurant to see if they could seat us, but while he was dialing someone else...More

Thank BethesdaMomof5
Reviewed 4 days ago

Our table had been booked by the owner of our B&B, and the table was ready for us. This restaurant was a real beehive, full of movements, people, noise and delicious food. Maybe a bit too noisy and too busy ? The servers were rushing...More

1  Thank Martina B
Reviewed 4 days ago

Given all the positive comment on tripadvisor and the possibility of an early dinner we decided to give it a try! Nice interior, very cosy, nice welcome despite the fact that we didn't book a table. (Many people after us got refused) Very nice and...More

1  Thank SnEm74
Reviewed 5 days ago

My mom had recommended this restaurant to us so we made a reservation to check it out. They were unable to seat us at the time of our reservation and suggested we go to the pub around the corner. We did and upon our return...More

Thank kalindria
Reviewed 6 days ago

They lost our confirmed email reservation so while I searched my phone for the confirmation, we lost our table. The manager (who sent the email confirmation) offered a free drink. Nice...but we didnt get it until after we finally sat down, received our appetizers, our...More

Thank btnusa
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Visited at lunchtime after reading some great reviews and we were not disappointed. Lovely service and my salmon mousse starter was delicious. I again had a salmon main course and swapped the rice for mash and again there was nothing to complain about. My wife...More

1  Thank brian_uk12000
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
River House Restaurant
686 reviews
.14 km away
Black Isle Bar
281 reviews
.09 km away
Sams Indian Cuisine
567 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Greig Street Bridge
208 reviews
.11 km away
The Scottish Kiltmaker Visitor Centre
65 reviews
.21 km away
Old High St Stephen's Church
42 reviews
.08 km away
St Mary's Catholic Church
37 reviews
.13 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Gail G
3 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jim Nicholson P | Reviewed this property |
Yes, you would have to contact the Restaurant....
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$55 - US$55
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 16 Fraser Street, Inverness IV1 1DW, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Inverness
  • Phone Number: +44 1463 220220
  • E-mail
Description
Open since 1995, the simple cooking and warm, friendly atmosphere has allowed The Mustard Seed to become one of Inverness’s favourite restaurants. The Location on the banks of the River Ness in a converted church building is simply stunning and helps create the wonderful ambience. The transformation from disused church to restaurant created a unique space; with a double-height ceiling and magnificent open log fire. Many of the original period features were retained and combined with a mix of natural and modern finishes. The addition of the terrace on the top floor allows alfresco dining and uninterrupted views of the River, another amazing asset for the restaurant.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing