We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Number 27

€€ - €€€, British,
27 Castle Street, Inverness IV2 3DU, Scotland
+44 1463 241999
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“buffalo wings” (6 reviews)
“scottish tapas” (10 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
27 Castle Street, Inverness IV2 3DU, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I visited last week with friends who had eaten here before, this was my first visit. Staff were pleasant and friendly. The food, disappointing. I had mussels as an appetizer. There appeared to be more shells than mussels and the mussels were small. I had...More

Thank Trevor S
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Been to Number 27 many times but on this occasion really disappointed. Our starters of Mussels were just not as succulent as usual and many shells empty. The Oven roasted chicken and Loin of Pork fine but my wife’s Sirloin Steak was tough and totally...More

1  Thank iainlreid1
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Had prawn sandwich at £6.25. First half not good with small amount of filling, way too much paprika doused over it then bit into second half and very fishy tasting so I left it. Inedible. Told waiter who said I should have said before. When...More

Thank LMacFadyen
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to this restaurant for the good reviews on tripadvisor. We are a really uncomplicated friendly family and were very disappointed. The food is good, but the portions are very very small (especially the fish plates) and the staff very rude. When we said...More

1  Thank TyahMah
number27inverness, Owner at Number 27, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We have been here before with you I think ,You have already stated your case on a previous review 2 weeks ago and you were answered maybe you did not like my answer as it was the truth , If it is the same person...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely little place. Was a bit confused when we first went in as I thought it was just a pub, but the restaurant was at the back. Great selection on the menu. Had mussels to start which were lovely and highland chicken for my main...More

Thank Sarah G
Reviewed 1 week ago

Probably the best burger I've ever had and my wife loved her steak as well. Staff were friendly décor was nice and modern had a very nice feel to the whole place.

Thank Scott O
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good food - nothing amazing or bad. Nice selection. The restaurant was clean and well light. The service was slow at best.

Thank helmerss
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent service; welcoming and helpful. Good menu - went for the roast pork dinner which was very nice. Whisky menu led me to a 10 year old Jura.

Thank janester2018
number27inverness, Owner at Number 27, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 1 week ago

Good service and staff. I ate the cullen skink, it was delicious - i would like to eat it again. The other guests have ordered a burger, sea trout and haddock. Everything was very very good cooked. If I have to say something negative is...More

Thank Martina R
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's really sad, because it was good cooked but the fish platters are really really too small. We told it to the waitress the reaction was not as expected.More

Thank bruuuni
number27inverness, Owner at Number 27, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

You were rude to my staff , so why should we sort it , being nice would have got you a whole different response, you will lean treat others how you would like to be treated , and it would have got the result you...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 36 hotels in Inverness
The Highlander B & B
71 reviews
.10 km away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
1,283 reviews
.17 km away
Redcliffe Hotel
185 reviews
.20 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
1,994 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Carnegie Hall Cafe
29 reviews
.08 km away
Blend Tea & Coffee Merchants
115 reviews
.15 km away
Cafe 1
1,000 reviews
.11 km away
The Rendezvous Cafe
401 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
North Coast 500
430 reviews
.07 km away
Inverness VisitScotland iCentre
254 reviews
.10 km away
Inverness Museum and Art Gallery
428 reviews
.07 km away
Inverness Castle Viewpoint
88 reviews
.08 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Catherine M
30 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from number27inverness | Property representative |
we can do gluten free but would struggle on the lactose free unless you can tell us what you can eat
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$53
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:30 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:30
Saturday
11:00 - 00:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27 Castle Street, Inverness IV2 3DU, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Inverness
  • Phone Number: +44 1463 241999
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing