We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Number 27

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
27 Castle Street, Inverness IV2 3DU, Scotland
+44 1463 241999
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:00
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 21:30
Sat 12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

497 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 428: English reviews
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We hadn't made a reservation but were accommodated in the bar for an evening meal on a busy Saturday. Loved the tapas selection starter. Our chosen main course of Surf and Turf was just superb. The scallops were divine, a meal in themselves and the venison was so flavoursome and perfectly cooked. One of the best meals of our trip.

Helpful?
Thank Cork_IrelandScm
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a little gem this place is. I have eaten here on many occasions and every time the food has been fab. Sunday roast is my favourite with the lamb coming a very close second 😀 Staff very friendly, I would highly recommend trying this wee gem of a pub/restaurant

Helpful?
Thank williamstocks55
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have eaten here several times before but never got round to actually writing a review! I have NEVER had a bad meal in this place. Staff are always so friendly, and even if you've not got a table booked, they manage to fit you in some how. Last time I was in I had the spicy Cajun pasta which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank thechocl8girl
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having booked a Premier Inn at short notice, and staying overnight in Inverness, for a hospital appointment the next morning, it was a quick search online for places to eat. There was a Beefeater where we were staying, but I find the prices a bit high. I found No 27 and really liked that you could book a table online... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On a rainy, cold night, with no reservation for dinner, four of us had an excellent meal of mussels, cullen skink, two kinds of pasta, the sea bream special and chicken. Each dish had a unique and savory sauce. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This was our first meal in Inverness - and it was a knockout. Recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank David K
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff was very friendly ! Quality of the food is quite high, very nice tastes. Prices are really affordable ! Really enjoyed the dinner !

Helpful?
Thank Alex T
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited and asked if okay for our kids to eat with us. They said okay. When we returned less than 5 minutes later they obviously didn't like the look of us and advised we should have booked in advance and couldn't fit us in. Hard to believe, when you're open for a further 3 hours or more. You should... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ewen B
number27inverness, Owner at Number 27, responded to this review

I ask you . Did you ask if you had to reserve a table ??? Sorry out Chrystal ball was in for repair that evening so we did not know you were coming back !!! People ask if we do certain dishes or accept children or various other request then disappear and don't come back , so we cannot hold... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was average nothing to shout about, the staff were friendly, atmosphere good 😊It seemed to much for one member of staff, that took us to our table, muttering to herself.☹️

Helpful?
Thank B J
number27inverness, Owner at Number 27, responded to this review

I am sorry you felt the food was not up to scratch , I do not know what you expectations were , we are not fine dining or a fully fledged restaurant, we are a pub restaurant serving home cooked fresh food , and average is not how 99% of our customers describe our food quality. From looking at your... More 

Turriff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here for my sons 18th birthday. Very reasonable priced. Food was lovely and the staff were great and very friendly. I will definitely return to number 27.

Helpful?
Thank Liz S
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Took Haggis sliders off the special board £6.50 was charged £11.30 for chips and ironbru. My Haggis was cold, and served on a wooden board. I tipped my chips onto a napkin as my request for a plate was ignored. Hungry and angry!!! no refund replacement food went back.

Helpful?
2 Thank Allyson R
number27inverness, Owner at Number 27, responded to this review

NO PLATES Thank you for your review !!! You were not charged £11.30 for Chips and Irn Bru , You were charged £11.30 for the everything ie Haggis Sliders, Side order of Chips and a can of Irn Bru We did offer you plates for the Haggis and Chips but YOU declined on both occasions We did ask if we... More 

Travellers who viewed Number 27 also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Number 27? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$53
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27 Castle Street, Inverness IV2 3DU, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Inverness
  • Phone Number: +44 1463 241999

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Number 27 staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?