We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Contrast Brasserie

€€ - €€€European, British,
The Glenmoriston Town House, 20 Ness Bank | Glenmoriston Town House Hotel, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
+44 1463 223777
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good27%
  • Average11%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (21 reviews)
“steak” (26 reviews)
“chicken” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
European, British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Glenmoriston Town House, 20 Ness Bank | Glenmoriston Town House Hotel, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Lets start with the good stuff. Staff is friendly and accommodating Menu is fresh and exciting, we spent long deciding on the food. Felt spoiled for choice. Located right by the river. Now with all that there is a cringe. The food did unfortunately not...More

1  Thank Johannes Sælsen N
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice atmosphere and OK food. Definitely a hotel restaurant with pretensions to be better than it is. Overly fussy garnishing, confused combinations and some outlandish flavours. It's a shame because they use fabulous ingredients, but try too hard.

Thank DCL0nd0n
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I hosted a birthday lunch for 14 of my friend. We all met in the bar and ordered cocktails which were all delicious. Some were not on the menu, but that was no problem. We all enjoyed our lunch, which was beautifully presented and served...More

1  Thank ShonaAviemore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Such a lovely cool and calm atmosphere. The afternoon tea was yummy although there isn’t very much for the price! The food was all tasty, fresh and well presented, with exception to the scone which was a wee bit too hard!

Thank Cara C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A nice option for a late dinner as we had just arrived from the airport and they were open. The food was good. We asked to change tables because we almost couldn’t read the menu and they obliged us.

Thank mcarmoan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We did love going to this restaurant, however, there has been gluten cross contamination on three occasions, each time reported to the manager, Ben. On the last occasion, however, there was no apology at all. This is awful for a "good" restaurant - coeliac disease...More

1  Thank Alex S
Angela W, Guest Relations Manager at Contrast Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Alex, thanks for getting in touch. We take the dietary requirements of our guests very seriously so its extremely disappointing to see written that we do not, and that we lack basic knowledge of what is and isn't acceptable food for someone with coeliac...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On a recent visit to the city we stopped here for a drink. We were walking the dogs by the river and this place looked lovely. We sat outside with the dogs and enjoyed the hot chocolate. This was amazing and came with smarties. Such...More

Thank KcharlesC59
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So it was our first time to contrast, usually I skip any hotel/restaurant venues but it was pretty busy in town and we heard some good reviews. Upon arriving we were greeted promptly and given a very nice seat in a well decorated room... the...More

Thank Razzaa
Angela W, Guest Relations Manager at Contrast Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Razzaa, many thanks for reviewing your visit to Contrast. Really delighted that you found us, and that you had such a good time. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 14 August 2018

Dinner with my wife, since it is just round the corner from us. Service was slow and disinterested, despite there being at least 12 empty tables, so hardly busy. We had scallops for starter. At £12 for 3, not cheap, especially when they were pretty...More

1  Thank Garbitash
Angela W, Guest Relations Manager at Contrast Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Garbitrash, thanks for taking the time to review your visit again. From your description of the service we delivered, it certainly isn't consistent with our usual standard. We certainly don't leave food on the pass, and our staff are very attentive - look at...More

Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

I reserved a table through a booking app which was great. We have been before. Had a drink before dinner in the Piano Lounge. We were able to view the menu here and order before going to the restaurant. Standard of food was excellent. My...More

Thank Corran9
Angela W, Guest Relations Manager at Contrast Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Corran9, many thanks for reviewing your visit to Contrast. We are so glad you had an enjoyable meal, and I will pass your compliments onto the front of house and kitchen teams. It may sound a cliche but they all work extremely hard to...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 36 hotels in Inverness
Glenmoriston Town House
899 reviews
.05 km away
The Waterside Hotel
721 reviews
.10 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
1,560 reviews
.19 km away
Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
701 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe 1
1,097 reviews
.47 km away
The Castle Tavern
1,499 reviews
.36 km away
The Waterside Restaurant
305 reviews
.11 km away
La Tortilla Asesina
622 reviews
.40 km away
Nearby Attractions
North Coast 500
531 reviews
.51 km away
River Ness
2,118 reviews
.49 km away
Eden Court Theatre
430 reviews
.18 km away
Inverness Museum and Art Gallery
461 reviews
.59 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
pollyandfred
10 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Wellerjam |
No, but there is a stuffed cat.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$66
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Glenmoriston Town House, 20 Ness Bank | Glenmoriston Town House Hotel, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Inverness
  • Phone Number: +44 1463 223777
  • E-mail
Description
In Scotland, the traditional way of cooking is to create simple dishes, built around one great ingredient. Contrast Brasserie is no different. From succulent rare breed pork or prime dry-aged beef to locally grown market vegetables and fresh fish from sustainable we try to stay true to our Scottish roots. With a sharp focus on Scottish, locally sourced produce, Contrast Brasserie is a refreshing addition to the Inverness restaurant scene. Located a short walk along the river the city centre and across from Eden Court Theatre, it's the perfect lunch, pre-theatre and dinner destination.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing