We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Jellyhill Bistro

€€ - €€€
Cafe, British, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
195 Hyndland Road | West End, Glasgow G12 9HT, Scotland
+44 141 341 0125
Website
Today
08:00 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 20:00
Mon - Thu 08:00 - 22:00
Fri 08:00 - 00:00
Sat 08:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 65: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Heard this place had been taken over so I thought I'd nip in for a soup and a sandwich. Last time I visited the place need a good clean and some maintenance - this has been done by the new owners and the place is spotless and more organised. Ordered from the takeaway menu- veg soup and a tuna sandwich.... More 

Helpful?
Thank BigYin2016
Management response:

Hi BigYin2016 Thanks for your feedback on your recent visit. I'm sorry to hear about your sandwiches. We have greaseproof paper to wrap our sandwiches and I will certainly make sure all our team are aware of your issue to make sure this does not happen again. Our menu is served all day and the sharing plates are advertised for... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2016

Used to be a regular then Jellyhill changed hands, on the plus side the place is much cleaner, tables really immaculate, lighting improved (fixed) and toilets immaculate. On the negative side the new folk don't have a clue how to make a cheese toastie and they have stopped their loyalty card, ah such is progress.

Helpful?
1 Thank bigmillsy
Management response:

Hi bigmillsy We're pleased you like the cleaner, brighter, upgraded Jelly Hill. Sorry that something went wrong with your cheese toastie. It would be great to get a bit more understanding as to what went wrong. Our contact details are on our webpage and I would really appreciate if you could contact us with some more specific feedback on this.... More 

glas scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016

My wife and I popped in tonight 12/11/16 around 5 for a quick bite as we had some time between appointments, ordered 2 sandwiches and 2 cokes, cant go wrong there or so i thought, 1 was a parma ham the other was ham and mustard of which i took one bite, never ever in my life have i experienced... More 

Helpful?
Thank scotstravel'r
Management response:

Dear scotstravel'r We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, as it will help us to address training with our sandwich preparation and service skills. We would very much like to put this right and invite you back for complimentary sandwiches for you and your wife. Can you please contact us... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016

I went in on a busy Saturday and luckily managed to grab the last table. I had the smoked bacon and scrambled eggs on toast (highly recommend) and a latte which was great. The tablet that you get with the latte is handmade and melts in your mouth. A very welcoming Bistro in a great location in Glasgow's West End.

Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
Management response:

Hi Stuart Thank you for your review on your recent trip to Jelly Hill. I'm glad you enjoyed your food and I must agree, the complimentary tablet with our hot drinks is delicious and certainly melts in your mouth. The Team will be pleased to hear your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Jelly Hill Team More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Great little place, stopped in with my mum and young baby for some brunch. Food was great and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Lovely coffee too! Will definitely be back. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank marrio90
Management response:

Hi Marrio90 Thanks for your comments on your visit to Jelly Hill. I'm pleased we looked after you, your mum and little one. Glad to hear you will be back and we will certainly look forward to welcoming you with a cup of our lovely coffee. Jelly Hill Team More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Ordered 4 double gin and tonics, not told there was no price for a double so had to pay for 8 singles, 4 tonic waters and one piece of very average cake..... a WHOPPING £44! Not impressed. Avoid.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Thanks for your feedback on your visit to Jelly Hill. In Scotland Licensing Law prevents any establishment on offering a two for one or double for an extra £1 like you can do in England. This means if you order a double in a Scottish bar, you would need to pay for two singles. It may be worth keeping this... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2016

We stopped for coffee and cake. The interior is unusual polished wood benches and tables. Its quite small but there is some outdoor seating if the weather is ok. We just ordered coffee and cake. The coffee was very nice and served with a small piece of tablet. The brownies where stale and we really should have complained but we... More 

Helpful?
Thank stoneleigh19
Management response:

Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to Jelly Hill. I'm sorry that you felt the Brownie was stale, I will certainly feed this back to our local supplier. Please let us know feedback in the cafe next time and we will certainly offer an alternative. We were happy to hear that you liked the complimentary tablet that... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Visited yesterday after driving past many times. Atmosphere was lovely, range of clientele in rage add to age. Food was very nice, staff chatty and friendly but not too much. Great service. Toilet looked newly refurbished, very nice. Dog friendly but weren't any there yesterday. I'm looking forward to coming back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Familywith3olderkids
Management response:

Thank you for your great feedback on your visit to Jelly Hill. You are correct that the cafe bar has recently been refurbished in the toilets and a light refurbishment in the main seating and bar area. Although, no dogs present on your visit, we are extremely dog friendly and have many regulars who love bringing their furry companion along... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Jellyhill has been refurbished, it is now fantastic, i came for lunch and was delighted with my food, the atmosphere is great and in the evening it turns into a wine bar.

Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa R
Management response:

Thank you for noticing the new management at Jelly Hill. New owners took over and refurbished the cafe bar in September 2016, before opening later that same month. Glad to hear you love the food and atmosphere for a wine or two. Don't forget we also sell draft beer, spirits or even if you just want a great cup of... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Place has been decorated and cleaned up. It was previously looking pretty tired. Beer is now sold on tap and the bruschetta was lovely. It's doggy friendly and the staff are great. I'd recommend visiting this place.

Helpful?
Thank DAW1980
Management response:

Thanks for your recent visit to the newly refurbished Jelly Hill. Great to hear you're loving the Peroni now sold on draft and that the food was lovely. We appreciate your comments on our team and I will make sure to pass these on. We look forward to seeing you back in Jelly Hill soon. Thank you More 

Travellers who viewed Jellyhill Bistro also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Jellyhill Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$3 - US$10
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Scottish
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 20:00
Monday
08:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 22:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 195 Hyndland Road | West End, Glasgow G12 9HT, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow
  • Phone Number: +44 141 341 0125
Description
Scottish Bistro, Quirky bespoke furniture by Paul Hodgkiss...with friendly safe atmosphere, freshly prepared food served all day at reasonable prices (Prices include daily trip around the Sun)! Winter and Summer Menus with Specials..Free wi-fi and a chunk of free tablet with your hot drink. Outside heated area to watch the 'Wendy's' (West End trendy's) go by.....! Come in and get Fed up.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Jellyhill Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?