We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Jellyhill Bistro

€€ - €€€
Cafe, British, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
195 Hyndland Road | West End, Glasgow G12 9HT, Scotland
+44 141 341 0125
Website
Today
09:00 - 20:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 20:00
Mon - Thu 08:00 - 22:00
Fri 08:00 - 00:00
Sat 08:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 60: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered 4 double gin and tonics, not told there was no price for a double so had to pay for 8 singles, 4 tonic waters and one piece of very average cake..... a WHOPPING £44! Not impressed. Avoid.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Thanks for your feedback on your visit to Jelly Hill. In Scotland Licensing Law prevents any establishment on offering a two for one or double for an extra £1 like you can do in England. This means if you order a double in a Scottish bar, you would need to pay for two singles. It may be worth keeping this... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped for coffee and cake. The interior is unusual polished wood benches and tables. Its quite small but there is some outdoor seating if the weather is ok. We just ordered coffee and cake. The coffee was very nice and served with a small piece of tablet. The brownies where stale and we really should have complained but we... More 

Helpful?
Thank stoneleigh19
Management response:

Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to Jelly Hill. I'm sorry that you felt the Brownie was stale, I will certainly feed this back to our local supplier. Please let us know feedback in the cafe next time and we will certainly offer an alternative. We were happy to hear that you liked the complimentary tablet that... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Visited yesterday after driving past many times. Atmosphere was lovely, range of clientele in rage add to age. Food was very nice, staff chatty and friendly but not too much. Great service. Toilet looked newly refurbished, very nice. Dog friendly but weren't any there yesterday. I'm looking forward to coming back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Familywith3olderkids
Management response:

Thank you for your great feedback on your visit to Jelly Hill. You are correct that the cafe bar has recently been refurbished in the toilets and a light refurbishment in the main seating and bar area. Although, no dogs present on your visit, we are extremely dog friendly and have many regulars who love bringing their furry companion along... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Jellyhill has been refurbished, it is now fantastic, i came for lunch and was delighted with my food, the atmosphere is great and in the evening it turns into a wine bar.

Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa R
Management response:

Thank you for noticing the new management at Jelly Hill. New owners took over and refurbished the cafe bar in September 2016, before opening later that same month. Glad to hear you love the food and atmosphere for a wine or two. Don't forget we also sell draft beer, spirits or even if you just want a great cup of... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Place has been decorated and cleaned up. It was previously looking pretty tired. Beer is now sold on tap and the bruschetta was lovely. It's doggy friendly and the staff are great. I'd recommend visiting this place.

Helpful?
Thank DAW1980
Management response:

Thanks for your recent visit to the newly refurbished Jelly Hill. Great to hear you're loving the Peroni now sold on draft and that the food was lovely. We appreciate your comments on our team and I will make sure to pass these on. We look forward to seeing you back in Jelly Hill soon. Thank you More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2016

Although it as a fairly extensive menu and serves alcohol, Jellyhill really excels in its lighter fairs. Great cafe with good soups and sandwiches, as well as sweets, teas, and coffees. If you need a lunch spot in Hyndland, look no further than here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2016

Small bistro / coffee shop on Hyndland Road in the West End of Glasgow. Regular users for coffee and chat. Brilliant tablet (according to my 82 year old mother!).

Helpful?
1 Thank gillianmclarenscott
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

I regularly go to jelly hill for coffee but have found recently the coffee is bitter and not properly served by the baristas. Excellent location but the baristas need more training as the standards are slipping. Friendly atmosphere and great location.

Helpful?
Thank GlasgowItalian
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2016

Myself and two friends arranged to meet here for a quick catch up lunch. We were unsure whether we would be served at the table or had to order at the bar.... after no eye contact from staff we assumed that it was bar service. I ordered the Avacado, and the girls ordered a bagel and cream cheese and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grosvenor Rivbe... C
Thornton le Moor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2016

Came here with a group of colleagues for dinner. The bistro has a great atmosphere and was typical of an academic area quality eatery. I had a ham terrine which was excellent and not as salty as they can be. That was followed by a chicken dish which was well cooked with potato and broccoli. There was a large piece... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mikesalter

Travellers who viewed Jellyhill Bistro also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Jellyhill Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$3 - US$10
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Scottish
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 20:00
Monday
08:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 22:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 195 Hyndland Road | West End, Glasgow G12 9HT, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow
  • Phone Number: +44 141 341 0125
Description
Scottish Bistro, Quirky bespoke furniture by Paul Hodgkiss...with friendly safe atmosphere, freshly prepared food served all day at reasonable prices (Prices include daily trip around the Sun)! Winter and Summer Menus with Specials..Free wi-fi and a chunk of free tablet with your hot drink. Outside heated area to watch the 'Wendy's' (West End trendy's) go by.....! Come in and get Fed up.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Jellyhill Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?