We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
British, Cafe, Scottish
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
61
33
14
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
61
33
14
3
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Breakfast with family. Good service and pleasant staff. Great view to Glasgow City. This is part of a very beautiful garden centre. The food was nice but no wow factor I would like to have a more adventurous breakfast menu.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 9 May 2022

This was our first visit since the pandemic started 2 years ago. We were impressed with the differences in the layout of the garden centre and were very pleased with our coffee and lovely apple pie and cream. Staff were friendly and polite. Wheelchair access...is very good, no ramps as it is on the level and parking is goodMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Deborah R, General Manager at Caulders Newton Mearns, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to post your rating and review - is is very much appreciated and our team are grateful that you have taken the time to post such lovely feedback. Thank you.

Reviewed 9 February 2022

went here for breakfast with my wife on saturday morning on arrival the girl who asked if we had booked was not nice and abrupt. was then shown to a two seater table and given menus we then watched two tables arrive after us both...had orders taken we were still ignored. at this time my wife suggested we leave which we did passing man with blue shirt on way out on phone who never stopped to ask why we were leaving. am sorry but dont go to places and beg to be served this place is a disgrace. upside nice place food looked good but waited way to long and ignored poor service get your act togetherMore

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?1  
Deborah R, General Manager at Caulders Newton Mearns, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am sorry to hear of your recent experience. I am not sure what has gone wrong, but we have let ourselves down and have discussed this review with the team to make sure that they are aware of the issue and avoid any repeat...More

Reviewed 15 May 2021

Went for light lunch. I had Cullen Skink which was pretty good and we all had light food. Service was friendly and efficient. It had a nice atmosphere and social distancing was fine, It was abit cold and draughty . A good place to go...for a drink or light food and a blether but not for fancy food.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Deborah R, Admin at Caulders Newton Mearns, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2021

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your rating and review for your recent visit. Our team are always on hand and happy to help out with any enquiries and we always welcome customer feedback and suggestions on how we can make...More

Reviewed 23 October 2020 via mobile

Visited Caulders restaurant Newton Mearns today for lunch. Had a table booked which I think is necessary. We were quickly shown to table and service was good. Plenty of staff and all very pleasant. Food was good and good helpings. COVID distancing was good and...we felt very safe. Many thanks to all staff.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Deborah R, General Manager at Caulders Newton Mearns, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2020

That is fantastic to hear . Just ask our team if there is anything further we can do to help. Kindest regards.

Reviewed 24 September 2020

Writing on behalf on my mum and aunt who had lunch in the outdoor section today. They were sat near a table of 8 people. Two tables were for four each then two extra chairs were added by the customers. They were clearly all together...and sharing sandwich platters. My aunt asked to speak with the manager. Unfortunately he was too busy on a phone call. When he finally appeared, the group had left. He said that he was aware of the situation and he had it in hand. When asked to explain what he meant, they were told that the manager had the phone number for the booking and the people would be decided another booking. This is unacceptable. As soon as he became aware of the situation, he should have come out and resolved this. Totally unacceptable during this pandemic. My family are regular customers and feel very let down. This poor management is putting lives at risk. Avoid this place whilst Covid is around.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?3  
533deborahr, General Manager at Caulders Newton Mearns, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2020

UPDATE - We have now concluded our investigation and would love to speak to you about this. I can be contacted on 0141 370 0123. Kindest regards. Debs I am sorry to hear of your recent visit and would like to let you know that...More

Reviewed 3 March 2020

Very busy at midweek lunchtime and popular, but discovered that you can book or reserve a table and the portions are good sized and the food is good. Cullen Skink is thick and soup and sandwich very reasonable.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
533deborahr, General Manager at Caulders Newton Mearns, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2020

Thank you David for taking the time to post your review - and please accept my apologies for the delay in responding - we had a few technical gremlins at work which are thankfully all now resolved. I hope you have continued to visit Caulders...More

Reviewed 10 February 2020 via mobile

Visited with a friend for coffee and cake.Home baking delicious. Have visited previously for lunch and coffee and never disappointed.Can be busy though,so sometimes there's a bit of a wait.Excellent selection of gifts in the gift shop.Would definitely recommend a visit.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
533deborahr, General Manager at Caulders Newton Mearns, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and please accept my apologies for the delay in responding - we had some technical Gremlins that meant we have only just seen all of our reviews from earlier in the year. I am delighted...More

Reviewed 18 January 2020

Had lunch here today. Pre booked a table. Service terrible , probably one of the worst experiences I have ever had. Took over 20mins after we were seated for anyone to come near us - and that was only after catching the eye of a...waitress. Ordered, amongst other things 3 soup/ sandwich combos asking specifically if we could upgrade to a small “ Club” sandwich and pay a bit extra - “ no problem “ we were told. Also requested a full sugar Fanta. Food was okay- soup a bit salty for my taste, chips were cold and inedible ( obviously from a bag of cheap frozen fries)Fanta was low sugar. No one came to check if everything was okay. Took another 20 mins after we had finished before we managed to catch someone’s eye to order pots of tea. When I went to pay the assistant asked if everything was okay I explained re the poor service and the reduced sugar drink - she explained that they only do reduced sugar drinks ( would have been helpful if we had been told that on ordering). She did apologise re the service. The bill was wrong as we were charged for a full soup and full sandwich- assistant said she did check with Manager but to be charged full price. No apology for incorrect information- just a shrug. Very disappointed.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
533deborahr, General Manager at Caulders Newton Mearns, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Good afternoon Anne and thank you very much for your comments. We'd love to speak to you in person about this and see if we can set things right for you. If you could e-mail a contact number to debs@caulders.co.uk we can take things from...More

Reviewed 17 December 2019 via mobile

Impressed by the reviews so drove out from town looking forward to lunch, not thinking the restaurant would be busy on a Tuesday, but it was crampacked with seniors. No chance of a seat, so went on to find somewhere else. If you want to...eat here best to book ahead.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
533deborahr, Admin at Caulders Newton Mearns, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2020

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I'm sorry you were not able to have lunch with us, but as you have surmised yourself, lunch time is always very popular and I would always recommend booking ahead - whatever day of the week...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Parklands Hotel & Country Club
337 reviews
1.79 km away
Orchard Park Hotel
200 reviews
2.16 km away
Busby Hotel
1,647 reviews
2.23 km away
Holiday Inn Glasgow - East Kilbride, an IHG hotel
900 reviews
4.80 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ian Brown Food and Drink
503 reviews
1.52 km away
Banco Glasgow
279 reviews
1.47 km away
The Broom Cafe
13 reviews
.86 km away
Hook Fish and Chips
34 reviews
1.18 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Greenbank Gardens
115 reviews
.36 km away
Rouken Glen Park
83 reviews
1.60 km away
Cathcart Castle Golf Club
5 reviews
.57 km away
Whitecraigs Golf Club
10 reviews
.71 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jdarnborough
17 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 533deborahr | Property representative |
Hi there. As a Garden Centre restaurant we are open 9am to 5pm, seven days a week with last orders at 4.30. If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Kind regards
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Caulders Newton Mearns

Caulders Newton Mearns is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4