We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club

€€ - €€€
Grill, Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 St Mary's Place, St Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
+44 1334 476964
10:00 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Sun - Mon 10:00 - 00:00
Tue - Sat 10:00 - 02:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 296: English reviews
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Catered for 12 tipsy ladies to do life drawings of a naked man! Lovely venue and turns into a club at night....Good music and good choice of drinks. Very friendly bouncers (which makes a nice change)

Thank TraceyMak
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I asked for fish chips and mushy peas, per the menu. I got fish and chips and then they apologised because I only got peas. Someone couldn't be bothered mushing. Poor.

Thank Andrew M
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

The Vic is a real fun pub that welcomes all ages . We particularly like it when happy hour is on and the cocktails certainly get the night started . Good food - 2 for 1 burger deal is worth watching out for

Thank Vincent W
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

This place had lovely waiting staff and were really friendly. The catered for all the needs of young children. The only problem is the number of stairs that you have to encounter to get there in the first place, and with no lift we had to lift the pram up a few flights of stairs. Other than that, the food... More 

Thank RJM84
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Good afternoon RJM84. Thanks for the lovely review. I'm glad you would recommend us to others. As you mention, we do not have a lift and we are soley on the second floor. Unforutnatly because we are a listed building, there is a limited about we can do to fix this problem. I do hope to see you again. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2016

We have visited The Vic a number of times as my Son is at Uni in St Andrews. The Staff are always pleasant & helpful. The 2 for 1 deal on burgers is great, and the choice is very good too (they also do other food) It can get busy, but I guess that is good, as it shows how... More 

Thank Elaine L
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Hello Elaine L, Thanks for the glowing 5 star review. I'm glad you enjoy your visits to the Vic. It's great to ehar from regular customers. As you mention we can get a bit busy at times so we always recommending booking a table during our peak times. I'm glad you recommend us and we look forward to welcoming you... More 

Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2016

We have now eaten here a couple of times when we are through in St Andrews. The Vic is really clean and a good atmosphere. The menu offers plenty of choice at a decent price. Service in taking our orders has always been prompt but I must admit our last visit did hack me off slightly. Our food took a... More 

Thank GrantR94
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Hello GrantR94, Thanks for leaving your feedback on your recent visit. I'm glad you enjoy coming to the Vic and are a regular customer - we really do appreciate it. I'm sorry on your last visit a couple of tables that ordered after you, received their food first. This can sometimes happen depending on what items are ordered on each... More 

Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Had a meal here with a group of friends. Good food and staff excellent considering they were running around like headless chickens. Atmosphere brilliant and was so nice. However found 2 faults with my visit. 1. Toilets a bit smelly. I looked at the toilet cleaning schedule at 10pm and the toilets hadn't been cleaned since 5pm. 2. Went through... More 

Thank Alexandria G
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Good afternoon Alexandria, Thanks for leaving your feedback on our TripAdvisor page. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with your friends. And you found the food and staff to be excellent. I'm sorry about the condition of our toilets. I've spoken with the team to ensure our toilet checks are up to date. I'm also sorry about your concern regarding... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

I made reservation on their website and got immediately a confirmation for a table (9pm, 2 persons) for dinner. When we arrived, we can't eat there because the kitchen was closed! thank good that there is 100m beside them the best fish restaurant in St. Andrews (Tailend) and they were so friendly to give us a table without reservation

Thank Roland H
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Good afternoon Roland, I'm sorry with the issues with our reservation system. The system should not have allowed you to book a table for 9pm. We have spoken to the team who run our online reservation system to ensure it doesn't happen again. Many thanks, The Vic More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2016

Pub has a pleasant atmosphere with mixture of student & middle aged patrons! The Mrs asked first for fajitas but due to issues within kitchen not available,she then requested chilli which again was not available due to issues within the kitchen!,we did feel that the waiter might have been quicker advising us what was left!!,it was only 8pm on a... More 

Thank Blair M
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Good afternoon Blair M, I'm sorry for the lack of availability in items when you visited last Saturday. Unfortunately, our oven broke down in the middle of service which meant we were left with being able to offer a limited menu. I'm glad you did enjoy your Fish & Chips and despite the issues would still recommend a visit. I... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

We stopped by the Vic for a bite to eat on Saturday whilst sightseeing around this beautiful town. I hadn't been here in years and barely recognised the place it once was - completely refurbished but still looking rather inviting. It was sparsely populated on our arrival, one or two small groups of tenants still in 'recovery mode' from the... More 

Thank Christopher M
VicCafe, Manager at Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club, responded to this review

Good afternoon Christopher M, Thanks for your kind review. Happy to hear your visit back to St Andrews was enjoyable and you enjoyed your visit back to The Vic. I'm glad you found our Scottie Hotdog and Mac n Cheese so tasty and our service friendly. We hope to see you again, The Vic More 

Travellers who viewed Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club also viewed

St Andrews, Fife
St Andrews, Fife

Been to Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$2 - US$14
Grill, Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
10:00 - 00:00
10:00 - 00:00
10:00 - 02:00
10:00 - 02:00
10:00 - 02:00
10:00 - 02:00
10:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 St Mary's Place, St Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  St Andrews
  • Phone Number: +44 1334 476964
The VIC is a twin venue of sorts, like the Olsens, except everyone here is a healthy eater and we don't see ourselves being billionaires anytime soon. There’s the pub/kitchen, which pretty much does exactly what it says on the tin, clinkity clink drinks from crafty craft beer to posher than posh teacup gin serves. Food glorious food, there may or may not be hot sausage and mustard (depending on the day and the chef's mood and whether or not we were able to catch fresh sausages that morning). The social club, although on the same floor as the pub/kitchen, is on an altogether lower level morally. The DJs are fresher than the air up on the 11th hole, totally non generic and they show up and play records really good. Then there's the one off club nights, the ceilidh and a whole bunch of other great stuff.We’re all about cheap as chips food, shin digs befitting of this ancient old town, cocktails, fairy tales, and pretty much anything else we can get away with doing in a licensed premises that won't result in our long suffering manager and his associates spending a casual weekend in the jailhouse.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you’ve got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Vic Pub\Kitchen and Social Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?