We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gusto Restaurant & Bar

#207 of 1,832 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Neighbourhood:
New Town
As featured in Our beautiful Capital
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
135 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JS, Scotland
+44 131 225 2555
Website
Today
11:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 22:00
Mon - Thu 11:00 - 22:00
Fri 11:00 - 23:00
Sat 10:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,312: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

They were as friendly as they are every year we go. I have digestive problems and they catered for me amazingly. Food cooked by God. Actual God. So so good. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Booked a table here two months in advance as it was a Friday night in a busy city during the Six Nations Rugby. We arrived ten minutes early and had a little wait. Many couples came in after us not all had booked but they were escorted to table in the upstairs. We were eventually taken to a squashed table... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nottmduo
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Right from the initial reservation ,there was fantastic friendly service. On the day ,because of the weather , we were able to have a table outside in the sun which was superb as there was a sleepy baby in the company. The waiter couldn't have been more helpful, even going the extra mile and checking our sleeping babe.The food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank nhbarnes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We came to Gusto with my daughter. She had called ahead and explained that her father had mobility issues. The staff could not have been more helpful! More importantly, the meal was lovely too, The hostess was welcoming and helpful as was our waitress. The atmosphere was a relaxed yet vibrant. The cocktails were great. I have recommended the restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Recommended by friends...lovely restaurant with open kitchen. Waiter and waitresses attentive. Only problem I found was the restaurant was dimly lit and if your eyesight isn't great you will struggle to read the menu. 2 and 3 course evening and lunch menu with varied meals 3 course £19.99..Mon to Thurs so excellent value. We chose from the main menu...no starters... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrshorny
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a great night but that may have been more about the company of old friends. Our waitress was a trainee and I hope she made it because she was friendly and accommodating. The food was decent and the wine list fair. Our experience overall was a great night. I had the lasagna which was quite a large portion.... More 

Helpful?
Thank HeatherMcD33
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Went with the wife to celebrate a wedding anniversary. Bit disappointed. Seats too close. Next table girl sitting in trackie bottoms. Not a place for a romantic dinner. Possibly nicer if in a group seated in larger circular tables. Food fine if a bit pricey. Staff pleasant enough when squeezing between tables.

Helpful?
Thank georgedoull
gustoedinburgh, General Manager at Gusto Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Firstly, many thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant, it is only through genuine feedback from our guests that we are able to continue to improve. I’m saddened to hear you did not enjoy the atmosphere on the evening. We always try to accomodate our customers' requests when it comes to special occasions. At Gusto we strive to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was attracted to eat in Gusto by the romantic fairy lights outside. The experience didn't disappoint. The waitress was lovely and attentive. The decor inside was sophisticated and there was a buzzing vibe for a Thursday. We couldn't decide what to eat to ended up sharing two dishes. The waiter kindly plated the two halves out so we didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruthio15
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Come here as a couple, ordered the special which was sirloin steak. It was so chewy and fatty I could not eat it and I'm not usually fussy. I told the staff about this and they were understanding but did not apologise or offer any alternative which was disappointing for a £100 dinner. Good interior and nice vibe but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank hdoor
gustoedinburgh, General Manager at Gusto Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Hi Hdoor, Many thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant, it is only through genuine feedback from our guests that we are able to improve. Firstly, I’m so glad you like the interior of the restaurant and that there was a nice atmosphere when you dined with us. With regards to the sirloin steak you had on the... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and 8 others came here for a meal on my sisters hen do. The meal was absolutely fantastic and I will definitely be back when I visit Edinburgh again.

Helpful?
Thank iloveholidays201182

Travellers who viewed Gusto Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Gusto Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$60
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 135 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JS, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > New Town
  • Neighbourhood: New Town
  • Phone Number: +44 131 225 2555

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Gusto Restaurant & Bar and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
London
4 months ago
Sherborne, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Gusto Restaurant & Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in New Town

Neighbourhood Profile
New Town
Suits and shopping bags rule the streets of New Town, until after dark when strappy dresses come out to play. This is the city’s central business district with its smaller offices, clothes boutiques, and many of the city’s flashiest restaurants and ritziest clubs. The architecture along roads like George Street helps give it a swank and formal feel: it’s a planned Georgian development of regal townhouses, geometric squares, and self-important statues. But it’s also a very wanderable neighbourhood, with a healthy bustle at almost any time of day and fine people-watching in places like St Andrew's Square which fills with picnickers around lunch. You’ll also find a series of cheerful basement bistros on Hanover Street, while dark Rose Street has something of the feel of an undiscovered back alley and is chock-full of characterful pubs and small independent shops.
Explore this neighbourhood