We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chop Chop

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
248 Morrison Street, Edinburgh EH3 8DT, Scotland
+44 131 221 1155
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Sat - Sun 13:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

777 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 756: English reviews
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The score review is a shame as this place is meant to be highly rated. We were greeted well and sat down in a pleasant manner. It was after this that the problems started, we ordered the banquet for 4. The food was okay but I have had better and wouldn't say it was fantastic here at all. The odd... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank 1RDavido
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Thanks, 1RDavido, for your review. Sorry that you didn't enjoy the food. That's your personal opinion. Based on the overwhelming popularity of our food and the awards it has received over a long period, we will not be changing anything. I was very disappointed to read that on the evening of your visit the service was poor and the toilet... More 

Grangemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food is good but with a party of 10 on the unlimited banquet, the food supply appears to have rather dried up after 1 round. Service is slow (the place is far from packed) have been waiting for 20 minutes for more drinks. Don't think we'll be back

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M M
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Thanks, Brian. I'm sorry about this experience and have no idea what could have gone wrong here but will check with the staff. We have ample staff and plenty of free refills. Please contact me and I will arrange some compensation More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We used to be regulars down at the chop chop in Leith until it shut :( so we decided to give this one a go. Food – Just amazing everything is just so tasty and delicious I cannot fault the food in anyway. I would recommend the banquette meals if you are new to the place as you get to... More 

Helpful?
Thank carriexx5
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, Carrie, and your compliments about the food! We have some great staff but are also in the process of training some new staff members, who might have been struggling a little when we were absolutely full this past weekend. Within a couple of days they'll be fine and service will be back up to its... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the best Chinese food we have ever had. Don't be put off by the old fashioned decor. I guarentee you are in for a treat. Food is Devine, service friendly. Get the banquet meal, you will not be disappointed. Book well in advance, this is a popular place

Helpful?
Thank Liz C
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Thanks, Liz, for your five star review. The "old fashioned decor" is, of course, intentional as it reflects our old fashioned values of simple, completely natural food such as a very talented Chinese Mum would have cooked in north eastern China for her large family fifty or more years ago. Nouvelle Cuisine, Fusion Food and other contrived flashes of food... More 

Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have just had a dinner in this restaurant. I mean I am pretty sure people not coming here for the subtle decore, fine dining or impeccable service, although everybody I have encountered was really helpful.The main attraction is the food which is superb. I had some boiled and fried dumplings, some fried aubergine and it was really remarkable. Richly... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kaccca K
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Kaccca, thank you for your review, which summarises perfectly what we are all about. Unpretentious in our decor or service, we serve authentic northern Chinese food in an informal environment with flavours that most of our guests have never tasted before. Very relaxing and very surprising! More 

Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had great expectation but... dumblins were not tasty, not at all. Maybe the pork and cabbage but definitely lamp and carrot taste nothing. My veggies noodles were good tho. My friend ordered chicken and rice as sider but it was nothing special. Service was terrible. The waitress were very nice but we have waited a lot for everything (I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AmelieBorderCollie
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Thank you, AmelieBorderCollie, for taking the time to review your visit. Very sorry that you were disappointed, especially in the dumplings, which are so popular and of which we are so proud. As for the chicken and rice, that is a simple side dish, pleasing enough but not one of the many unique and interesting dishes on our menu .... More 

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Do not be put off by the appearance of the outside of the restaurant. what it lacks in modern décor it makes up with the fantastic food. dumplings are the speciality. the stir fried spicy beef was the best ive ever tasted and just melted in the mouth. we shared about 6/7 plates of dumplings and small dishes and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank karenadixon85
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Karen, thank you for your generous remarks. Apart from our signature dumplings, you are right in describing the stir-fried beef. It is remarkable and just one of the 57 side dishes that go with our dumplings. A dumpling restaurant, yes, but so much more! We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a meal two adults and two children which consisted of two starters for kids and noodles for my partner! I ordered chicken and potatoes which came in the smallest plate imaginable,food was bland and final bill was nearly £50 which included charging £2.60 for a can of diet urn bru?? Food bland and felt totally ripped off ! Avoid... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Hello, Frank. Thanks for your review. I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy the food and thought it was expensive although under £50 including drinks for a family of four is not expensive unless you are comparing it to a fast food outlet, which we are not. You also complain about the portion sizes.We strongly recommend Chop Chop for... More 

Hitchin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the second time that I have visited Chop Chop and to be honest I was disappointed. Visiting 5 years ago, I was very impressed not only with the food but the general buzz and enthusiasm of all the staff. Returning this year I found the interior is starting to look very tired. The plastic crockery - which I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian_T
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Thanks, Adrian, for your point of view. I was sorry that you were disappointed but delighted that you were so enthusiastic about the food. Regarding your other comments, they are all noted. We are building a great team in front of house but it seem more training is required if your bill had to be corrected twice! Certainly not typical... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went in for dinner as it was recommended by a friend. Almost Everything was perfect, food tasted great, service was amazing and prices were decent. But on 2 seperate occasions a hair came out on our plates but obviously from 2 different people. Understanding that these things can happen I was angry when the second hair was found. I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Menna B
Roy K, Owner at Chop Chop, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, Menna. I was very sorry to read of your complaint and I would have offered you compensation had I been made aware. Our kitchen staff all wear hats. I do not know which dishes this occurred in so it is more difficult to investigate (could be from one of our suppliers or sometimes the ginger... More 

Travellers who viewed Chop Chop also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Chop Chop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$32
Cuisine
Chinese, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
13:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
17:30 - 22:00
Saturday
13:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 248 Morrison Street, Edinburgh EH3 8DT, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh
  • Phone Number: +44 131 221 1155
Description
Authentic north eastern Chinese cuisine featuring dishes rarely found outside China but very appealing to the western palate.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Chop Chop and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Chop Chop staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?