We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YO! Sushi

78 Princes Street | 1st Floor, Edinburgh EH2 2ER, Scotland
+44 131 341 2062
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good28%
  • Average22%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“katsu” (5 reviews)
“sushi dishes” (4 reviews)
“curry” (6 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 21:00 Hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Fast food, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
78 Princes Street | 1st Floor, Edinburgh EH2 2ER, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was a great little place to have a quick bite in the late afternoon. The sushi train is fun and I actually liked our own personal water tap with sparkling water. The views straight across to the old town are amazing! My favorite thing...More

Thank zicheryzachery1
Team-YO, Manager at YO! Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Zicheryzachery1, thanks for spreading the good news about our food. We hope to see you back soon. Thanks, Yo! Sushi - Edinburgh Princes St

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

sushi was average quality... literally can get better sushi at Waitrose than this. Everything is overpriced especially considering the food isn’t even amazing. They also make it extremely difficult to get the student discount to a point where you just give up. Honestly don’t go...More

Thank corawinslow
Team-YO, Manager at YO! Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Corawinslow, we regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us. Your feedback is important to us so that we may improve in future. We wish you a great day and hope that you will consider trying us again in...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My first ever trip to this chain. Very busy, great views across Edinburgh. Brilliant service, every little thing arrived within seconds/minutes. The dish portions are not huge but the great thing is you can eat as much or as little as you want. Only downside...More

Thank Triskelion123
Team-YO, Manager at YO! Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Triskelion123, thanks for spreading the good news about our food. Thanks, and have a great day!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Overpriced, the portions are super small and the food is average. The sushi train has limited plates so you have to order and the wait for food is too long for what is meant to be a sushi train. They also charge pp for tap...More

Thank ashkiz
Team-YO, Manager at YO! Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Ashkiz, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location. Just to clarify the water at our tables are tripled filtered mineral water, so instead of charging for a bottle of mineral water, we charge for the glass which gives you...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in to Yo Sushi on a Monday, it was very busy and we had to wait about 20 minutes. The staff were all very accommodating and friendly especially the manager Kayleigh who was particularly nice. We had 6 blue dishes and one sumo katsu...More

Thank Jessica B
Team-YO, Manager at YO! Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Jessica B, reviews like this keep our chefs rolling. Thanks for sharing! Let us know if we can help with anything else! Thanks!

Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

I would rather give 3.5 because the food is nothing amazing but the service & views are about a 4.5. They do not open on time as an FYI & I recommend ordering your food quickly as they get super busy. Would visit again!

Thank Dr_ADuarte
Team-YO, Manager at YO! Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Dr_aduarte, thanks for stopping by Yo! Sushi - Edinburgh Princes St for your favourite food fix! We open daily at 11:30am :) See you soon, have a great day!

Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

We took a visit into this restaurant on a quite Tuesday night around 7.15pm. We had a shocking experience here. Have never been treated like this before just because we asked how long the noodle is going to take. No one came back with an...More

Thank do k
Team-YO, Manager at YO! Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Do K, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. I have been made aware of the circumstances of your experience previous to you writing this complaint, several members of my team witnessed the incident and heard what...More

Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We had a nice afternoon here. Although on the belt there wasn't that many options. The labels on the items didn't correlate to times so we were unsure of how long they were on the belt. The kastsu curry was delicious! But £1.50 each for...More

Thank Natasha K
Team-YO, Manager at YO! Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thanks, Natasha K; your feedback helps us to create a better experience for next time! Let us know if we can help with anything else! Thanks!

Reviewed 6 September 2018

I loved Yo Sushi, and always go there when I'm in the City, however I don't think I will be going back. We waited 45 minutes for Gyoza, and I never got my Avocado Maki after an hour, so I left hungry after one dish....More

Thank paulhutchison8321
Team-YO, Manager at YO! Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Paulhutchison8321, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. Please reach out to us at yo.princesst@yosushi.com so we may assist you in moving forward towards a resolution.

Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

This place was frustrating. Nice setup, but we were put too far away from the serving chefs, so no way of knowing when the dish was made. Or how long it's been circling on the conveyer. Basic staples like tuna was smothered in ponzu, so...More

Thank Mariya I
Team-YO, Manager at YO! Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Hi Mariya I, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing...More

Nearby
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street
is only half one, since buildings only line one side.
But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views
are from Princes Street as a result. From here you
look onto expansive and decorative public gardens
beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s
Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old
town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 151 hotels in Edinburgh
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
675 reviews
.08 km away
Hub by Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre
747 reviews
.10 km away
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
2,714 reviews
.15 km away
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
912 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Lowdown Coffee
154 reviews
.14 km away
Veeno Edinburgh - Rose Street
275 reviews
.11 km away
The Scottish Cafe & Restaurant
801 reviews
.10 km away
Mussel Inn
2,432 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Scottish National Gallery
4,923 reviews
.14 km away
New Town
341 reviews
.13 km away
Princes Street
1,628 reviews
.18 km away
Royal Scottish Academy
59 reviews
.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from YO! Sushi staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 78 Princes Street | 1st Floor, Edinburgh EH2 2ER, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > Princes Street and Gardens
  • Neighbourhood: Princes Street and Gardens
  • Phone Number: +44 131 341 2062
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing