We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Tron

Neighbourhood:
Old Town
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
9 Hunter Square, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
+44 131 225 3784
Website
Today
10:00 - 01:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 227: English reviews
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is cheap and cheerful, what you see is what you get. You will find mostly students come here. I have never had any issues here, it is in a good location for the train station which is handy

Helpful?
Thank TheHoneymans
General Manager A, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. Our location is fantastic for students, tourists and locals alike and we are glad you agree. Regards Adam More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered nachos and cheesy chips, they literally came in a dip pot, was the worst portions I've ever seen!! The decor is awful as well, I know it's cheap, but even then you don't get what you paid for. Over £6 for food and less than a mouthful.

Helpful?
Thank Nikki K
General Manager A, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we appreciate all feedback, good or bad. I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time at the Tron. We have two portion sizes of nachos, one of which is our tapas choice. In the last year or so we have had work done to a number... More 

Blackwood Gwent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent staff & service, Nice pint and good value for money too. Will definitely return on the next visit. 😆👍

Helpful?
Thank fowler79
General Manager A, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit here and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Edinburgh. Regards Adam More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Attended here for a lunch on Saturday with some work colleagues. We were sitting in the alcove in the basement area. The tables and seats were dirty and sticky. One person had to even was their trousers when they got home! The ladies toilets were absolutely filthy, a door was even missing from one of the cubicles! Onto the food,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Samaris29
General Manager A, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we appreciate all feedback whether positive or negative. I'm sorry to hear your recent visit to The Tron wasn't a positive one. Within the last year we have had a number of areas of the pub that work has been done but there is obviously still more to be completed.... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

The Service was pretty quick and we ate in the bottom bar. Toasties were very nice and served quite quickly with two children this is always a plus. The decor is very shabby and sadly the carpet was dirty and sticky where we sat on table 34. Maybe scrubbing the toilet cubicle walls and doors could be beneficial as my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sar T
General Manager A, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Sar, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your food, we will soon be getting a bit of money spent on the pub so hopefully this will improve the standard of our toilets, we also have toilets on the upstairs bar which we recommend for families. Regards Adam More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017

Popped into this pub with a friend yesterday evening for couple drinks and some food. Had been previously but for drinks only. Ordered drinks and 7oz Gammon for both of us in upstairs bar. There wasn't any problem and food arrived reasonably quickly.However the guy arrived with the food placed both plates on the table and disappeared quickly without a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill O
General Manager A, General Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Tron, we appreciate all feedback. We are very often praised on our team's great service, and I am very sorry to hear, and can only apologize that the service on your visit wasn't up to standard. I hope you can give us another chance to show... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

We visited the Tron after a quick Web search of nearby places to eat on our recent visit to Edinburgh. The pub was busy (Rugby was on) but we found a table upstairs. We ordered food and drinks (which we had to ask to be poured as they were forgotten.) Food came relatively quickly. There was very little chicken in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kimberley M
General Manager A, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Hi Kimberley, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Our chicken curry is one of our most popular dishes so I am surprised to hear you didn't think it was up to standard and can only apologise for this. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your deserts and felt we were good value for money. Regards Adam More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2017

This was my 2nd visit to The Tron, the first visit was early 2016 on that occasion the food was delivered on time but I was over billed, the management rectified this with not issues. I visited again on the 9th of February the service at the bar was prompt and the bar person was very good, unfortunately after that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
General Manager A, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Hi Paul, thanks for taking the time to leave us your review. We appreciate all feedback whether positive or negative. I can only apologise for the mix up in your food order and the substandard food you received, I can assure you this is not a common occurrence. Hopefully you will give us another chance to make a better impression.... More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Don't ever bother with this place. The worst gin and tonic I've ever had. And the attempt at nachos was pathetic. I could have done so much better just popping across to the grocery store.

Helpful?
Thank bubblybeky
General Manager A, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave your review, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your recent visit to the Tron, we offer a number of different varieties of Gin in the hope that there is something for everyone. If you wish to discuss your experience further then please contact the pub directly at ilove@thetronedinburgh.co.uk. Regards Adam More 

North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2017

Stopped in here for lunch - 2 burgers and chips, 1 pint and 1 Pepsi for £14. I was surprised how delicious the burger was. Good, fast service from friendly bartender. Located right off the Royal Mile. Best lunch deal we found on our week-long trip to Edinburgh!

Helpful?
Thank Heather M
General Manager A, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Hi Heather, thank you very much for taking the time to leave your great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal and we will hopefully see you back next time you're in Edinburgh. Regards Adam More 

Travellers who viewed The Tron also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Tron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$15
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Waitstaff, Street Parking
Good for
Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 01:00
Monday
10:00 - 01:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 01:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 01:00
Thursday
10:00 - 01:00
Friday
10:00 - 01:00
Saturday
10:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Hunter Square, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > Old Town
  • Neighbourhood: Old Town
  • Phone Number: +44 131 225 3784
Description
Large 3 level pub in the centre of Edinburgh. We have some of the cheapest drink selections in town so we are very popular with students and backpackers. Traditional pub food served at brilliantly low prices.

We are not affiliated with the venue known as the Tron Kirk.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Tron staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood