We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$5 - US$35
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Healthy, Street Food
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Southside & Holyrood
0.6 km from Edinburgh Castle
Improve this listing
Reviews (102)
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
74
14
3
0
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
74
14
3
0
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dosa curry lamb rice bread south indian food normal indian restaurant excellent food best indian lovely meal nilgiris tollcross portions starters chef vegan
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Firstly waited for the menu for ten minutes and then had to ask for the wine list - not a good start! Food was palatable and service after the first “blips” was ok.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 days ago

I saw mixed reviews earlier and was initially hesitant, but was pleased to find that my food was quite good. I had the masala dosa and the uttapam. Both were worth coming back for! My waiter was friendly, personable, and happy to answer any questions...I had. The vegan options are fantastic for anyone who has a plant-based diet. I will be back :)More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 June 2022 via mobile

We have visited this restaurant twice now during our short stay, two nights in a row! We have loved the food each night especially the idli and dosa. I have tried lots of new things. Everyone in the group has been happy and the bills...are reasonable for our group size. Really lovely food and service. Thank you!More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 May 2022

Walked in, tables free, refused service at 21.20 on a Saturday. Been a couple of times before. Will never go back. Shocking service. Just eat guys in all the time. That's their market. Stuff them.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 April 2022

Oh dear, where do I start, ordered 2 dosa and starter. Dosa - horrible, With less than a table spoon of filling inside. Both burnt from bottom and uneatable. Sambhar - have a look at the picture before, watery and worse I have ever had,...straight in the bin. Looked like someone throw up in that tub. Coconut- powder coconut was used and just take like a flour and was not a chutney at all. Added a popodom- and I got 3/4 broken pieces with nothing with it no sauce. Ordered previously and have enjoyed but this was way beyond the worse, never again. Stay away there are many other South Indian restaurants in Edinburgh to try.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 March 2022

We enjoyed our food here, although it wasn’t quite the hot spicy Indian dishes we are used to. The waiter was really nice. Our wine was nice and cold. The menu said they had different flavour kulfi, but no, only one, and it was actually...pistachio ice cream ? Would have preferred to be told it was cash payment before the bill arrived!!More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 February 2022

Under new management and the place sucks. The dishes are mediocre and they get something wrong with every takeaway order.

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 February 2022

Very unsure what to expect as this was a first time visit. Smallish menu, but that's good as frankly I can never make my mind up. If the rest of the food on the menu is as good as we had then you won't be...disappointed. ( I expect it will be). We had two starters, two mains, two rice and two breads. Sounds a lot but portions were not huge but more than enough for us. The main surprise was bill, for all that it was just under £34, We did not have any drinks, but water was readily available on request. The waiter on duty our night was very friendly and knowledgable but not over intrusive. If their was one thing that let the restaurant down slightly, it was that it was a cold night out and even with a couple of infra red revolving heaters on it still wasn't over warm. Pity as that's why I could only give it four stars. Having said that we will certainly go back as in our opinion the food was great and value for money. GMore

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manoj K, Owner at Nilgiri Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2022

Dear Grahame68, Thank you for your kind review and 4 star rating. Glad to know that you had enjoyed your food. We really do apologise for the failed heating system during your visit. It has been rectified now and the gas heating system is working...More

Reviewed 8 February 2022

My food never arrived and they took my money took days to get it back. Scam ordered food once before and every item was stone cold. The owner comes across as arrogant ignorant and lacking in any real aptitude for customer service.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manoj K, Owner at Nilgiri Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2022

"My food never arrived and they took my money took days to get it back. " First of all we don't offer in house delivery services these days due to short staff. Since you had ordered via third party app, we didn't process the payment...More

Reviewed 27 January 2022

First visit for a while due to the COVID. As ever, absolutely fantastic meal. Could not recommend highly enough.

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manoj K, Owner at Nilgiri Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2022

Dear mrkrW7775HA, Thank you for the fabulous review. It means a lot. Look forward to see you back soon. Best Regards, Team Nilgiri Spice.

Reviewed 21 January 2022 via mobile

Dined here several times under the previous name/management but the pandemic caused a 2 year gap between visits to Edinburgh and was slightly surprised to find a new name. Definitely hadn't realised that the cooking style had also changed but no matter, the food was...just excellent. Slightly thrown by the absence of naan bread, but the waiter politely explained the breads choice and we chose two. I can't recall the exact names of the starters and mains but they were all superbly cooked and very tasty. The waiter was also incredibly pleasant and polite. The cost of the meal was also much less than expected. It will be a while before visiting Edinburgh again, but the first meal booking will be hereMore

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manoj K, Owner at Nilgiri Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2022

Dear kobo69, Thank you for the terrific review! We are so glad that your expectation about our place was met and you had a pleasant experience in our wee restaurant. Can't explain how helpful such reviews are for us in the process of growing as...More

Reviewed 3 January 2022 via mobile

First night in Edingurg. Its bank holiday most restaurant were closed. We didn't plan to come to this restaurant but its actually much better than my expectations.Best Indian food I ever had.

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manoj K, Owner at Nilgiri Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

Dear TiffanyLyu, Thank you for the 5 star review and kind review. Thank you for coming to our restaurant although you weren't sure about the visit. Glad that you'd enjoyed the food and service. Best Regards, Team Nilgiri Spice.

Reviewed 25 November 2021

My wife and I spent two nights in Edinburgh recently and decided to have our evening meal at Nilgiri Spice. We have been in India several times and are familiar with Nilgiri Hills area. The restaurant had a really authentic vibe and reminded us very...much of being in India. We are both vegan and the friendly waiter Brendon was very knowledgeable concerning this. We had plenty of options and the food was wonderful and extremely good value for money. Thank you so much for a wonderful dining experience!More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manoj K, Owner at Nilgiri Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

Dear Kenso54, Thank you for the 5 star rating and kind review. It's really appreciated. Best Regards, Team Nilgiri Spice.

Reviewed 3 October 2021

Very courteous staff, piping hot food, ice cold beers and lots of variety. Wish they'd be open for lunch!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manoj K, Owner at Nilgiri Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2021

Dear sakeerpaakereats, Thank you for the 5 star rating and fabulous review. It's really appreciated. At this moment of tough time, we wouldn't be able to open for lunch. We will, once everything get back to normal. Look forward to see you again. Best Regards,...More

Reviewed 14 September 2021 via mobile

Lovely meal with three friends here last week, we've been before several times, good food, great service, good prices.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manoj K, General Manager at Nilgiri Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2021

Dear Firod, Thank you for the 5 star rating and kind review. Loyal customers like you are the backbone of our business. We would love to see you back soon. Best Regards, Team Nilgiri Spice.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Southside & Holyrood
Many of Edinburgh’s student hangouts gather around
university buildings in Southside, the sort of
neighbourhood that supports a long string of
second-hand shops and eateries serving ethnic food for
just a few pounds. In August the student population is
replaced by vast numbers of boisterous visitors here
for the Fringe, Edinburgh’s world-class comedy and
arts festival which headquarters itself here. Flanking
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Leonardo Edinburgh City
1,802 reviews
.16 km away
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
3,577 reviews
.26 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
2,671 reviews
.27 km away
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
1,072 reviews
.42 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Taxidi
242 reviews
.03 km away
Indaba
965 reviews
.11 km away
Nutan's
269 reviews
.10 km away
Seven
325 reviews
.06 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
King's Theatre
224 reviews
.16 km away
Lothian & Borders Fire & Rescue Service
5 reviews
.28 km away
The Brauhaus
46 reviews
.10 km away
Cameo Cinema
116 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
debunty
6 October 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from | Property representative |
Hi, Thank you for your query. It's BYOB although we are fully licensed with a great collection of wine, beer and spirits. You can bring your beer and wine for a pound per head as corkage. Regards Team Nilgiri
1
Vote
Lesley A
2 November 2018|
Answer
Response from | Property representative |
Hi, Most of our dishes are gluten free except for some breads and starters. There are many suitable food to chose from the menu so welcome to Nilgiri Spice. Thanks Nilgiri Spice
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Nilgiri Spice

Yes, Nilgiri Spice offers takeaway services.

Yes, Nilgiri Spice offers delivery services.

Nilgiri Spice is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5