We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Tontine Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
British, Scottish, Bar, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
High Street | The Tontine Hotel, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland
+44 1721 720892
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 293: English reviews
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at the hotel and came downstairs for dinner. The wait staff were very very exceptional with their professional and polite persona. Second to none! We had a couple of drinks in the front room, where they took our order and directed us into the dining room when it was ready. We had the stuffed mushrooms and smoked salmon... More 

Helpful?
Thank S G
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

While visiting Peebles had a very nice evening meal. Food is excellent. There is a good menu and it is not expensive. Lovely bistro and dining room. Comfy lounge. Staff very good

Helpful?
Thank 18Karen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Beautiful food choice. Excellent menu and quality of food is amazing. Great relaxing and formal dinning. Welcoming and well stocked bar. Staff very polite and professional. Prices are great for the quality of food and choice. Good to see local produce on the menu.

Helpful?
Thank Lynne P
Gordon I, Owner at The Tontine Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much "Lynne P" an "Excellent" review, great feedback regarding food quality and special thanks for your kind mention of the service from the team here at the hotel. Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team". More 

scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Yummy food... ( bread on the table would have been a bonus! ) the staff were really well trained friendly young people...I watched them look after the older customers with genuine care...the receptionist whet out of her was to get me information on the surrounding areas ...

Helpful?
Thank gilliwooscotland
Gordon I, Owner at The Tontine Hotel, responded to this review

A "Lovely" review "gilliwooscotland" some great feedback regarding the food on offer here at The Tontine. We serve homemade bread with Soup, but otherwise as a "side order". Thank you especially for taking time to highlight guest service from the team! Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team". More 

Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed a lovely dinner as part of a hotel offer. Chefs special of Boeuf Bourguignon was fantastic as was all other food. Staff were excellent too. Highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank motherwell1991
Gordon I, Owner at The Tontine Hotel, responded to this review

An Excellent review "motherwell1991" very pleased to note your enjoyment of our dinner offer. Thanks for taking time to mention the service team and I also agree with your observation about the "Bourguignonne". Thankfully there was a little left for me to try!! Our Chef will be pleased. Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team". More 

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the main dining room for a Saturday family lunch. We had one child who ordered the off the kids menu, this was a frozen pizza which looked terrible. The table next door ordered the kids chicken strips, again frozen and they also were disappointed. The fish and chips were very good. Very disappointed to see the scampi also... More 

Helpful?
Thank SPP7
Gordon I, Owner at The Tontine Hotel, responded to this review

A "disappointing" review "SPP7", so sorry your visit did not meet your expectations. We do have some frozen product, but not much. Most of the menu is freshly prepared and cooked and indeed we have always served a frozen scampi product. We did experiment with fresh, very expensive and in fact we found the vast majority of guests prefer, good... More 

Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Peebles was our stopover on our way to the Borders. We scoured the town centre and settled on the Tontine hotel for lunch. The atmosphere in the hotel was very relaxing. We chose to sit on the comfortable plush seating facing on to the main street. Service was very good and the food was attractively presented. We would recommend the... More 

Helpful?
Thank John W
Gordon I, Owner at The Tontine Hotel, responded to this review

An "enjoyable" review to reflect upon "John W". Very pleased to note your satisfaction with your recent visit for Lunch. Thanks for taking time to post a great recommendation! Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team". More 

scottish borders
Level Contributor
225 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We popped in here for lunch and were impressed with the olde-world grandeur of the hotel. There is a very comfortable-looking lounge and a less formal contemporary bistro area. We chose the dining room complete with white tablecloths! Very smart and it has an interesting minstrel gallery. Service was a bit slow at first but the apology was genuine. Our... More 

Helpful?
Thank romagScottishBorders
Gordon I, Owner at The Tontine Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks "romagScottishBorders", loved reading your review and delighted to learn you were so impressed with your recent visit to "The Tontine". A super recommendation! Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team". More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fairly standard pub fare, though good. Very friendly staff, good service and good atmosphere - fire was on and although a Wednesday afternoon it was quite busy.

Helpful?
Thank kclyde
Gordon I, Owner at The Tontine Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks "kclyde", enjoyed reading your review. Food OK but we were quite busy?? Hopefully we try and make sure there is something for everyone on the menu. We feel the menu reflects good traditional fayre with some fine locally sourced menu items (Venison Beef and Fresh Fish) also. Thanks for your kind mention of good service from the Team. Kate,... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely for a large family group. Good selection of delicious, reasonably priced food. Beautiful restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Cheviotshirley
Gordon I, Owner at The Tontine Hotel, responded to this review

We love a concise review "Cheviotshirley" with a super review header. Thanks very much indeed! Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team". More 

Travellers who viewed The Tontine Hotel also viewed

 
Peebles, Borders
Peebles, Borders
 

Been to The Tontine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$14 - US$45
Cuisine
British, Scottish, Bar, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street | The Tontine Hotel, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Borders  >  Peebles
  • Phone Number: +44 1721 720892

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Tontine Hotel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?