We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bourtree

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
22 Bourtree Place, Hawick TD9 9HL, Scotland
+44 1450 360450
Website
Today
08:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 08:00 - 00:00
Fri - Sat 08:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 217: English reviews
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First time,unlikely to be the last. Large plate of fish as Managers Special, red hot and served promptly.....one of the best Wetherspoons meals we have had.

Helpful?
Thank challenger530
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Bourtree is typical of any chain restaurant, simple food at reasonable prices. There's plenty of choice and a decent bar. Service is usually fairly quick and the food is fine for a midweek dinner or lunch. However, the staff are not exactly competent. Tables are dirty and it takes ages to get plates cleared. On our last visit we... More 

Helpful?
Thank KirstyEkua
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food was awful- everything is fried in the same oil so chips/scampi all tasted of onion. Steak was like cardboard. As usual they'd run out of items. Service is appalling, staff are clueless. Food came out at different times so some of us had nearly finished whilst others were just getting their food. We gave them a birthday cake to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shelli W
Kris M, Manager at The Bourtree, responded to this review

Hello there Thank you for the feedback regarding your visit. I'm disappointed to hear about your poor experience with us at the Bourtree and I shall look into the points you have raised. Kind regards Kris More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I came here for a breakfast one morning while my car was at the local garage for servicing. We were amazed and impressed by the choices and variety of the menu. Great food, huge portions and really good prices. Service with a smile and joke. Beautiful building sympathetically renovated. In the immortal words of Arnie, we will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma L
Kris M, Manager at The Bourtree, responded to this review

Hi Emma Thanks for the lovely review! Kris and the team More 

Perth
Level Contributor
203 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Let's keep this simple this is quite simply one of the best Wetherspoon bars I have ever visited Spotless with excellent staff

Helpful?
Thank ScotlandFramed
Kris M, Manager at The Bourtree, responded to this review

Hello. Wow! Thank you very much for the lovely review! We hope to see you again soon. Kris and the team More 

Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Often pop in here for a cheap and cheerful coffee,breakfast, lunch, or tea if we have had a hard day on the farm and I am too tired to cook! It isn't fine dining but it is usually perfectly adequate and great value. Very relaxed atmosphere and actually really nice decor- the ladies loos are better than many really up... More 

Helpful?
Thank demelza1770
Kris M, Manager at The Bourtree, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for the lovely review It is nice to hear some kind words regarding the effort we put into making the Bourtree a nice place to dine! Thanks very much and we hope to see you again soon. Kris and the team More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Very average but also not very expensive - so take your pick. Not fresh ingredients and not great service. Nobody seems to care about clearing tables. Typical Wetherspoon's I guess.

Helpful?
Thank richard k
Kris M, Manager at The Bourtree, responded to this review

Hello there Thanks for the feedback. I'm disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your visit with us. If you give us another chance, I'd like to think that we may surprise you! Kind regards Kris and the team More 

scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Large pub serving cheap food & drinks,good selection of both, Several connected rooms. TV too small to watch the rugby from the back of the room. Dirty dishes could be cleared away quicker.

Helpful?
Thank tiger065
Kris M, Manager at The Bourtree, responded to this review

Hello there Thanks for the feedback. I agree that the tv is a little too small to see from the back of the room, (especially when Scotland are causing so much heartbreak) and we are working on getting a larger one put in place. We hope to see you again soon! Kris and the team More 

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We ate here on a Friday evening. Excellent value for money, with both of our main meals including a free drink (we both had a pint of real ale, but lots of other choices). Total bill was less than £20. The lamb shank was tender and delicious - one of the best I've ever had. Would certainly eat here again,... More 

Helpful?
Thank sfarrant
Kris M, Manager at The Bourtree, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for the lovely review that you have left! I agree that the lamb shank is beautiful (and great value too) We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards Kris and the team More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Orderd the chicken & rib combo the chicken was like rubber.god knows how long it was cooked for. I was visiting family in Hawick.a large table of 10 so spent quite a bit of money. Never be back again. Our table was still full of our dirty plates when we were leaving the premises.not good on the waitress/waiters side either.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
Kris M, Manager at The Bourtree, responded to this review

Hello there. Thank you for the feedback I'm disappointed to hear of your poor experience with us. If you could give me details of when you visited us and roughly what time, I will look into things directly. Alternatively, give me a call on 01450360450 to discuss it further Kind regards Kris More 

Travellers who viewed The Bourtree also viewed

 

Been to The Bourtree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 01:00
Saturday
08:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 22 Bourtree Place, Hawick TD9 9HL, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Borders  >  Hawick
  • Phone Number: +44 1450 360450

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bourtree and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bourtree staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?