We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Herges on the Loch

) #2 of 34 Restaurants in Galashiels €€ - €€€ British, , European
Tweedbank Drive | Tweedbank, Galashiels TD1 3RP, Scotland
+44 1896 759909
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good29%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pavlova” (9 reviews)
“sea bream” (5 reviews)
“pork belly” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Scottish, European, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Tweedbank Drive | Tweedbank, Galashiels TD1 3RP, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We went there for dinner on my wife's 70th birthday. We had a table overlooking the loch. The food and ambience were excellent. The service was attentive and the people very pleasant indeed. The prices are very reasonable for what you get. I am also...More

Thank Chris G
Reviewed 1 week ago

We met friends for lunch today (Monday). The food was nice but one of our waitresses was unpleasant and ruined it for us. I would say here the other two were very nice. After paying our bill and heading out of the restaurant she called...More

3  Thank OaDog
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited yesterday for lunch and asked the lovely waitress to recommend a light course to myself, ordered the Crayfish, smoked salmon Caesar salad and side of chips...mouthful after mouthful of deliciousness! Beautiful relaxed setting sitting by the loch...lovely!

Thank taitfaith
Reviewed 1 week ago

Came across the Herges completely by accident today so my wife and I popped in for lunch. As my title said what a pleasant surprise to find such a lovely restaurant that we did not know about. The restaurant is a nice modern building with...More

Thank George B
sandysan0189, Owner at Herges on the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind words. We are really glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can understand why Herges prompts such a wide variety of responses as I have visited on several occasions and each has been different. This last visit was mid afternoon and it was warm enough to sit outside, there was only one member of staff...More

1  Thank louiedebounce
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

lovely place to drop in for morning coffee, lunch or dinner great location with lovely views watching swans swimming past. food is excellent quality and good value for money; staff are very helpful and pleasant well worth a visit if you are in Tweedbank

Thank Alexandra S
sandysan0189, Owner at Herges on the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks Alexandra, so glad you enjoyed the restaurant. It is such a lovely place to work!

Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

Decided at last minute to come here for dinner, wasn't disappointed, absolutely lovely yet again. Haggis parcels for starters then fettuccine carbonara for main, piping hot and good sized portion. Excellent service from all the staff and it's also lovely to watch the swans and...More

Thank Carol R
Reviewed 6 June 2017

We had lunch, fish and chips and fettucine. It says on the table that food is freshly cooked so may take 20-30 minutes, it does and they don't provide bread. The batter on the fish was uncooked and raw inside. The chips were fine but...More

3  Thank fredblogs123
sandysan0189, Manager at Herges on the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

I am so sorry that you felt that we didn't address your complaint the other day. I do apologise and wish that we had taken the fish off your bill at the time. It was the fact that you had eaten it that we didn't...More

Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

We went for a Sunday Bank Holiday lunch - 4 adults, 3 generations, 2 children, 1 vegetarian, 1 vegan: and despite the slightly pretentious title (no Frenchman) - it's a pond, with a fountain, and a couple of swans - it was very friendly and...More

Thank Courtenay Y
Reviewed 23 May 2017

One of my favourites. Late decision and just managed to squeeze the 2 of us in so my tip would be to book before you turn up ! Great food and especially the Perthshire Burger - almost a meal on its own.

Thank Donald F
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Hoebridge
100 reviews
2.64 km away
Zaika Tandoori
129 reviews
2.82 km away
Seasons
224 reviews
2.64 km away
Nearby Attractions
Abbotsford House
684 reviews
1.02 km away
Bank Street Gardens
32 reviews
2.91 km away
Melrose Abbey
742 reviews
3.10 km away
Milestone Garden and Leisure
46 reviews
6.54 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
hairbraid
4 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from x-trailer | Reviewed this property |
I would say, no, not inside, but there is an outdoor seating area which is very pleasant
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$23
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tweedbank Drive | Tweedbank, Galashiels TD1 3RP, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Borders  >  Galashiels
  • Phone Number: +44 1896 759909
  • E-mail
Description
Herges is a superb place to watch the wildlife outside on the water. The ambience is magical, the food delightful and the staff friendly and helpful.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing