We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Lower Gylen | Isle of Kerrera, Oban PA34 4SX, Scotland
+44 1631 566367
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 159: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped off here on a lovely walk around the island and had a great coffee and slice of homemade cake. Really quaint courtyard which is the perfect sun trap. Well worth a visit!!

Helpful?
1 Thank YoungTravellerLondon
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review- indeed, when the sun shines here, it is just delightful :) I'm really glad you enjoyed your coffee and cake. I hope you can come back to visit us again soon! All the best, Aideen More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My girlfriend and I walked to the Kerrera ferry from Oban (30 minute walk) and walked to the Tea Garden. The walk on Kerrera from the ferry terminal to the Tea Garden took 45 minutes each way. The quirky design and great food (wonderful home baking!) made the walk well worth it. The walk is beautiful. This was a wonderful... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel J
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review! We take pride in our presentation and our food, so I'm chuffed that you liked our "quirky design" and "wonderful home baking"! It can be quite a long walk to get to us, so I'm really glad you thought it was a great day out! I hope you can make it back for... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I recently visited Kerrera and stopped for a bite at the tea room. The location is beautiful and the food is fantastic. Homemade carrot cake that we had to wait for because it was just being iced. Would highly recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank r0siec2015
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this review

We're delighted you thought the food was fantastic- thank you! The carrot cake is my own recipe :) The location... well we are very lucky! Thanks a million for your review- I hope you can come back again soon! Best regards, Aideen More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent the day on the island and nearly half of that time in the Byre (barn) of this amazing retreat!! The Stovies (a stew which consists of Scottish sausages, carrots, onions, and tatties together with lovely chunks of bread) was to die for. Eldest son had the cheese platter which he was still raving about 4 hours later and... More 

Helpful?
Thank MKJL77
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this review

Well, that's the kind of review that makes us smile! Thanks so much for your kind words- we're delighted you enjoyed our food- and the island... we like to pretend we're in Lord of the Rings too ;) We look forward to welcoming you all back soon! Best wishes, Aideen More 

Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
443 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely afternoon on the island of Kerrera and the tea shop was more or less half way on the walk to the south side of the island to see the amazing Gylen Castle. The path was the track to the tea house all the way and was about 2 miles there and 2 back: if you carry... More 

Helpful?
Thank neddyb1
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this review

Thanks a million for your lovely review! We're delighted you enjoyed your visit- and our cakes! We do have a plumbed in toilet here for customers- our special "loo with a view", but yes the public toilets on the island (provided and maintained by volunteers) are compost toilets- a little more basic than what most folk are used to, but... More 

Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2017

About: There could not be a better cafe in a such a beautiful surrounding. Getting here is the hard part but once you are here , you would not want to leave. It is at the south end of the Isle of Kerrera, off the coast of Oban. You have to take a ferry to get here and then a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sultan c
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this review

Thank you! We have to agree- it really is a special place here... everyday we are blown away by its beauty :) We really appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back soon. All the best, Aideen More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2016

we arrived on Kerrera on a wet grumpy morning but the telltale signs (tea pots and cups placed on fence posts) that were nearing the tea garden. As we arrived the sun came out and we were able to sit outside. Coffee and homemade scones were the order of the day and we were not disappointed. The scones were excellent.

Helpful?
Thank BRYAN P
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this review

Ooh- I am always chuffed with a scone compliment- thank you very much! We really appreciate your review- and hope you can make it back again soon! Cheers, Aideen More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Came across this on our walk round Kerrera, pretty much as soon as we stepped off the ferry and started to spot their little tea pots and signs strategically placed along the route. Hadn't planned on stopping for tea, but this enticed us in! Had herb tea in a lovely spot in their tranquil little garden served in really unusual... More 

Helpful?
Thank Skippydog62
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this review

We're glad the teapots called to you! Thanks a million for your lovely review :) All the best, Aideen More 

Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
144 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We stopped here while walking around Kerrera unfortunately most of the walkers and bikers beat us here and there was little left on the menu when we arrived. My scone was delicious and the teapots were very whimsical.

Helpful?
Thank Teresa T
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this review

I'm glad we had some scones left for you! And I'm delighted you thought they were delicious, thank you! As we make everything ourselves (all homemade sourdough bread, specials/cakes)- occasionally we sell out. It's hard to predict how busy we will be, but we always try to ensure folk get looked after. Hopefully you can come back sometime to sample... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

A small little place on the Isle of Kerrera. Had a simple--but well prepared and delightful--lunch here. Soups and sandwiches that were excellent. Just a great little spot!

Helpful?
Thank Arnie R
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review! We do indeed keep our menu simple, but we don't scrimp on quality. We are delighted you thought your soup and sandwiches were excellent- that gives us a warm glow :) Best wishes, Aideen More 

Travellers who viewed Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Cash Only
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Romantic, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lower Gylen | Isle of Kerrera, Oban PA34 4SX, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Argyll and Bute  >  Oban
  • Phone Number: +44 1631 566367
Description
Set in a stunning location near Gylen Castle on the Isle of Kerrera, the Tea Garden and Bunkhouse is the perfect place to enjoy a nice cup of tea! We are now open 7 days a week from April to September and the menu includes delicious homemade cakes, soups, chutnies and breads with daily specials. Regular ferries depart from Gallanach Road, 1.5M south of Oban. Once on the island, you have a great opportunity to explore the natural, unspoilt beauty of Kerrera. The walk to us takes about 45mins if you choose the route on the left, about 2hrs on the western route, with fabulous views out to Mull and Lismore.

Should you wish to stay longer (and we believe you will!), The Bunkhouse has beds for 7-9 people. This 2015 season, we are delighted to offer our lovely new 4m Bell Tent for hire, complete with woodburning stove, perfect for couples. Our cosy Byre is also available for evening hire, with comfy sofas and large dining table, great for group getaways.

Newlyweds, Martin and Aideen Shields, will be delighted to welcome you to their wee slice of paradise! Please don't hesitate to get in touch with any enquiries. It's much appreciated if large groups (7 or more) visiting the Tea Garden call in advance to ensure we bake plenty of cake, bread and scones, thanks!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?