We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Sheep Pub

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Main Street, Campbeltown PA28 6AG, Scotland
+44 1586 810036
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 112: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic homely pub thanks to Andrew the barman made us so welcome remembering even our names from our last visit in October. Someone who pays attention great pub food on the menu I had the ale pub angie had the Cull and skink soup John salmon. Yolanda chicken and haggis. Thanks guys. We will be back

Helpful?
Thank Hendersons K
Greg S, Manager at The Black Sheep Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'd have to say one of the most frequent compliments we get is the above-and-beyond service they received from the staff. Thank you for dining with us again, we hope to see you soon! More 

Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good selection of drinks and a really friendly, efficient barman. It was really busy when we visited and a nice atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Mowbers
Greg S, Manager at The Black Sheep Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, cheers! More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stopped in for lunch the other day. We were immediately greeted by a very friendly woman behind the bar and were seated right away. We both ordered the fish and chips, a duplication we try to avoid, but we were glad we did-- we'd have fought over the dish otherwise! The fish had a great fry:... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony C
Greg S, Manager at The Black Sheep Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! The fish and chips is one of our most popular dishes - as you can see why! We look forward to your return. Cheers! More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This pub is within the Royal Hotel. It is smallish and in the afternoon it can be quite busy and boisterous. The clientele are friendly and the staff is accommodating. A great place to mingle with the local boating crowd.

Helpful?
Thank Burlie B
Greg S, Manager at The Black Sheep Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! More 

Adlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's a pub which is fine but a pub in Campbeltown that for 2 nights had no scallops or mussels that can't be right! Couldn't even get scampi Anyways apart from this it's nice enough

Helpful?
Thank JimRodger
Greg S, Manager at The Black Sheep Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for writing to us and stopping in to the Black Sheep Pub. I was personally working in the pub and restaurant that day and it was a very busy day. You are correct - we did run out of scallops and mussels. This is due to the fact that we receive those items fresh almost every day. We... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Lovely clean bar with well set out decor. Friendly but not intrusive bar person and the freshest fish supper with peas. Delicious. It was perfect. Glad we didn't have a starter as portion size was generous. Would visit here again.

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline F
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We were at the Black sheep restaurant in January with my wife. I went for the fish menu. My scallops were amazing and my sea bass perfect. My wife was not as lucky, her prawn cocktail was not fresh, and the fillet steak was not fillet at all, but very chewy low quality beef. She asked if she could have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank X5185OMthomasm
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a coffee and stopped for lunch. Friendly staff and lunch was good. Great roast beef sandwich. It was that good popped back in a little later for another drink.

Helpful?
Thank jezsmyth
Greg S, Manager at The Black Sheep Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope you be seeing you again soon! More 

London, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2017

In Campbeltown overnight and had a great meal here. Between us we had the classic Cullen Skink, salmon and roast beef washed down by local ale and whisky. All brilliantly prepared and presented at decent prices. Service was quick and there was plenty of space on a Sunday night. Good harbourfront location.

Helpful?
Thank Fulhamish
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Whent too this pub for evening Meal staff were friendly when ordering drink and food felt cosy with fire burning away in corner quiet busy for Thursday night only thing asked for cheese burger and chips after waiting nearly half hr gave me chicken burger instead chips and salad also onion rings the grand total for this was 12.60 I... More 

Helpful?
Thank debsalan

Travellers who viewed The Black Sheep Pub also viewed

Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
 
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
 

Been to The Black Sheep Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$30
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Campbeltown PA28 6AG, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Argyll and Bute  >  Kintyre Peninsula  >  Campbeltown
  • Phone Number: +44 1586 810036

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Black Sheep Pub and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Bramhall, United Kingdom
over a year ago
campbeltown

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Black Sheep Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?