We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Josephine's

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
18 Holburn Street, Aberdeen AB10 6BT, Scotland
+44 1224 590087
Today
16:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 17:00 - 21:00
Tue - Thu 17:00 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 16:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 216: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a works night here - a group of around 20. We were seated at 5.45 and were out on the street by 7.15. Decor is stark, bright lights. One toilet which wasn't flushing. Food was ok but very expensive- £25 a head!! It was certainly not worth the price. Being told to leave after just over an hour... More 

Helpful?
Thank carolclose_10
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Every time I have been food has been absolutely class and the atmosphere also brilliant. BYOB is a great side to the restaurant as well. Having been with a groups of mates, my girlfriend and my folks it suits everyone. I also love Barca and The Stone Roses and the place is covered in memorabilia.

Helpful?
Thank Alasdair B
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with a group of friends last night, the food was good, and the service from the waitresses was great. The thing that ruined the evening for us was the manager, who was nothing less than nasty, rude, aggressive and horrible. He was consistent in his stomping around and shouting at the three lovely waitresses the whole time we were... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Vikkstep
Josephines1018, Guest Relations Manager at Josephine's, responded to this review

Hello Vikkstep! While we regret you didn't enjoy your evening, we must point out that your review distorts the facts of what took place. You were asked to leave by 8pm and 8:05pm was when the manager came down to your table while you were pouring more drinks and kept the next party waiting. If you are unable to abide... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a birthday meal here and we all went for the set menu which is good value! Good helpings of garlic bread and everything I ate was delicious. The chorizo and chicken paella was so tasty and after 3 dishes I was full! The sharing puddings were tasty and light. Great night and lovely staff

Helpful?
Thank MissML2
Josephines1018, Guest Relations Manager at Josephine's, responded to this review

Aw, thank you MissML2!! Lovely to hear you had fun and enjoyed the food. We are looking forward to your next visit! xx More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

The food was very very nice, they recommend 3 tapas per person and were very pushy when me and my boyfriend wanted to order less, but I guess it was because the kitchen was closing at 9 and we wouldn't be able to get more food if we weren't full. I do however think that 3 tapas is a bit... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank kristinabarwell
Josephines1018, Guest Relations Manager at Josephine's, responded to this review

Hello Kristinabarwell! :) Thank you so much for your review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at Josephines! We are also very happy you liked the food! Sorry to hear you weren't pleased with the waitresses but they are human as well so they need fed. Hope to see you soon xx More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016

Not the fanciest place, and could do with a wee paint job, & toilets could be better too. HOWEVER.... The staff were very friendly & service was amazing! AND... the food........Fabulous!! Some one the BEST Tapas I have ever tasted. Plenty of choice & plenty to eat too. A great touch was being able to bring your own drink, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1966valr13
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We were in Josephine's on Saturday night and the food was fantastic. Great music, great service, great night out. Thanks to all. We will be back 😄😄

Helpful?
Thank Ian C
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Had heard great things about this restaurant which led us to book a table. We were not disappointed! A very wide selection of tapas to choose from. I have uploaded a photo of the menu board. There was also a list of specials. Our waitress recommended 3-4 tapas per person - we all went for 3 and it was more... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rona P
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

16 of us had a meal here after work one night. Everyone opted for the set menu of £23 for an array of delicious dishes, good combination on meat, fish, potatoes and veg. Great atmosphere and attentive staff although we were the last people there and they had to ask us to drink up and leave but that's OK.

Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh M
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

This is basically a tapas restaurant but it has an extensive menu. We booked a table for ten and every single one of us had a great time. You must take your own alcohol but we all would certainly return to this informal restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Jim F

Travellers who viewed Josephine's also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Josephine's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$30
Cuisine
Spanish
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available
Good for
Cheap Eats, Groups
Open Hours
Monday
17:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 22:00
Thursday
17:00 - 22:00
Friday
16:00 - 23:00
Saturday
16:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18 Holburn Street, Aberdeen AB10 6BT, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Aberdeenshire  >  Aberdeen
  • Phone Number: +44 1224 590087
Description
Delicious tapas in a friendly laid back atmosphere. BYOB restaurant. £3 corkage per head.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Josephine's and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Josephine's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?