We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Percy French

€€ - €€€Irish, , European
Downs Road, Newcastle, Northern Ireland
+44 28 4372 3175
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good22%
  • Average16%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (29 reviews)
“cheesecake” (10 reviews)
“mussels” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Downs Road, Newcastle, Northern Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 703 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

food not the best and prices could be better staff not the best free tea and water would be good plus more tvs lick off paint to clean it up

Thank Tim L
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We stopped for a "light" bite and drink at Percy French at lunch time. The barman was really welcoming, and was working hard. Had a club sandwich which was massive, and delicious, and came with a portion of chips. Guinness was good too! Lovely surroundings...More

Thank Anna P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely loved it here great food friendly staff reasonable price would definitely recommend and would go back

Thank Vermaur
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself, partner and son had the £20 Sunday lunch menu in your restaurant and it was great value. It also includes tea/coffee which most establishments make you pay extra for. The meals were all well cooked well presented warm and plentiful. It was extremely busy...More

Thank 954vio
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice restraunt, steaks cooked beautifully. The price was slightly more expensive than what it could have been, a place in the town named Quinn's does good just as nice

Thank Katie Q
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dined here on Halloween night after a long night enjoying the festivities. Everything from the service, to the food and the atmosphere was amazing. Although me and my husband had not previously made a reservation, the waitress immediately greeted us with a very big smile...More

Thank CollenMc87
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here during our recent stay at Slieve Donard as it was part of the hotel package. This included a three course meal. I find sometimes the section isn't great within this type of packages however, the selection of food was amazing. When we...More

Thank Jill C
Ashleigh_GS, Manager at Percy French, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jill, May I begin by thanking you for dining with us at the Percy French. It was our pleasure having both you and your partner here. I hope your partner enjoyed his apple pie, and don't worry it will continue to be available in...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hello reader, and potentially the manager of the Percy French. After checking in at the Slieve Donard and being pleasantly greeted and being exposed to the grand artistic designs of the ancient place (great hotel, one of the best I've ever been to), I was...More

2  Thank bigbilly82
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here for lunch with some relatives from a fairly long distance. Soup was inedible, as were chicken goujons and chips, both overcooked and hard as nails. We complained to the waitress who promised to bring out the chef. That didn't happen and as my...More

Thank Bri186470
Berni_Guest_Services, Manager at Percy French, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest, May I begin by thanking you for your review of your dining experience. I am disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your meal. I am also unhappy to hear that the chef didn't come and speak with yourself. I will pass...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Recently visited this restaurant with the family and unfortunately we could't have the chance to try anything as the place was so dirty that we have changed our mind. We visited the restaurant this Sunday (15/10). Me and my family sat in the corner at...More

Thank Ivan D
Berni_Guest_Services, Manager at Percy French, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ivan, May I begin by thanking you for your review. I do recall your visit, you where seated at table 12 and you ordered a Corona, I myself brought you the drinks and also cleaned your table. In terms of the 7 servers standing...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Vanilla Restaurant
899 reviews
.31 km away
Villa Vinci
882 reviews
.20 km away
Great Jones Craft & Kitchen
234 reviews
.32 km away
Doc's Fish and Chips
186 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Life Adventure Centre
103 reviews
1.04 km away
Murlough National Nature Reserve
233 reviews
.54 km away
Slieve Donard
233 reviews
.21 km away
Newcastle Visitor Information Centre
83 reviews
.65 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
john h
Mr.Toal, I have just read your unprofessional reply to my comment of 22 May 2017. I don't believe there was any need to bring clarity to my comment, you are correct in so far as my 'attack' on your staff member was personal, she was a disgrace to her profession in showing little more than contempt for a potential paying customer. My dog is ten years old, (15?) I made no mention to her of a previous visit to your establishment, she made no mention of your policy in allowing pets to eat with us outside, I asked her! She did not offer a high chair, I returned to the restaurant and requested one, she placed it just outside of the door, approximately ten yards from where we were seated, that was rude, so rude we left without further ado. Perhaps Mr Toal you ought to do your job and manage, get a grip of your staff instead of making ill informed replies to customers complaints. Perhaps you will invite me to return after reassuring me my concerns have been addressed? I will not hold my breath. Regards, John Hall
29 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Ashleigh_GS | Property representative |
Dear Mr Hall, Your 'Review' if you want to call it that, was a personal attack of our team member. It was insulting as it stated that she was 'elderly' and had messy hair. I would happily invite you back so that you could... More
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$33
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Downs Road, Newcastle, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Down  >  Newcastle
  • Phone Number: +44 28 4372 3175
Description
Situated in the grounds of the luxurious Slieve Donard Resort & Spa, the Perch French is the perfect place to relax with a drink and enjoy the finest of local produce, cooked to perfection.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing