We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

James Street South

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
21 James Street South | BT2 7GA, Belfast BT2 7GA, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9043 4310
Website
Today
17:30 - 21:30
12:30 - 14:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 17:30 - 21:30
Wed - Sat 12:30 - 14:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

823 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 813: English reviews
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited this restaurant on a Thursday evening, so perhaps it is unfair to judge the atmosphere too harshly but our entire evening was beset by obnoxiously boring business conversations. That aside, though, I'm still not sure if I enjoyed the experience or not. Which, I suppose given the cost, suggests that either we visited on a bad night or... More 

Helpful?
Thank ntnferguson
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear ntnferguson Thank you for taking the time to post a review and sharing your comments with others. We appreciate all feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed parts of our evening and are truly sorry that other parts of your evening didn't quite live up to your expectations. We do strive for high standards in both our food and... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have been coming here for lunch for many years & undoubtedly it has always served one of the best fine dining lunches in Belfast..Hadn't been here in a few months until last week.A little disappointed that the excellent 2/3 course lunch menu has gone..Enjoyed the food & the service as always was great..The new lunch menu format just does... More 

Helpful?
Thank 48Oliverf
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear 48Oliverf Thank you for your recent review and taking the time to share your comments with others. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and service and we are sorry that the changes to our lunch menu disappointed you. We do hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Belinda More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We met up with friends for an evening meal. Both couples had starters and mains some drinks and a bottle of wine. The food was just ok with starters being the the more enjoyable of the two courses. Restaurant and staff were excellent but as far as value for money is concerned its not worth it, very overpriced for the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear Customer Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased you enjoyed some of your experience and that the team looked after you well, we are sorry if you felt let down by other parts. Kind Regards Belinda More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We hadn't booked, just rocked up for a late lunch. There was a good specials menu for lunch, and it was lovely. I would be inclined to go for lunch again as it was nice and quiet when we arrived. We were well looked after, and it is on the returns list. Thanks

Helpful?
Thank Mary_Lou122
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear Mary_Lou122 Thank you for taking the time to post your review and sharing your kind comments with others. We are delighted you enjoyed your lunch and look forward to your return visit. Kind Regards Belinda More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice food staff really friendly only thing don't agree with service charges would i go again now to expensive for wot you get

Helpful?
Thank Jeff t
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear Jeff t Thank you so much for taking the time to post your recent review and share your comments with others. We are pleased you enjoyed your food and that the team looked after you well. Kind Regards Belinda More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an exquisite meal here. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant. The food was excellent, it really surpassed my expectations. The staff were friendly, attentive and welcoming which made the dining experience very enjoyable. I really liked the relaxed atmosphere and I cannot wait to return.

Helpful?
Thank Jena V
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear Jena V Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review and sharing your comments with others. We really appreciate when someone takes the time to acknowledge the effort we put in to keep our level of our food and service to a high standard. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.... More 

Level Contributor
274 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overall thoughts: Mixed bag but I'd come back for the PreTheatre for sure - Good value, well cooked, good quality, lovely service. I'd just skip the overpriced booze - they're clearing taking the pee. Starters: highly recommend the guanciale. It was faultless.. really beautiful. The salmon wasn't quite as nice - beautiful fish but the orange really overpowered it. Mains:... More 

Helpful?
Thank blamonte84
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear blamonte84 Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed parts of your visit and we are sorry if you felt let down in others. Kind Regards Belinda More 

Essex
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dined on a Friday in March, very impressed with the quality of food served on the tasting menu. Some delicious dishes including the stand out beef. Service was good, well paced and friendly. Only real complaint was not getting any bread included. Good value overall.

Helpful?
Thank PrincessLightSleeper
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear PrincessLightSleeper Thank you so much for your review and taking the time to share your kind comments with others. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Belinda More 

Belfast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My self and my wife went here befor going to the opera house. The food was excellent but way over priced. £120 for 1 starters and side off breads, 2 mains and a glass off wine each.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth D
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear Gareth D Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and we do hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Belinda More 

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Nice meal but incredibly overpriced. 2 course meal with no drinks for £120. Far nicer spots at far more reasonable prices. In Belfast

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben R
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear Ben R Thank you for taking the time to to post your review and we are sorry to read of your disappointment. We do hope that you will visit us again. Kind Regards Belinda More 

Travellers who viewed James Street South also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to James Street South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$23 - US$96
Cuisine
Irish, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Fine Dining
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Open Hours
Monday
17:30 - 21:30
Tuesday
17:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
17:30 - 21:30
12:30 - 14:30
Thursday
17:30 - 21:30
12:30 - 14:30
Friday
17:30 - 21:30
12:30 - 14:30
Saturday
17:30 - 21:30
12:30 - 14:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 21 James Street South | BT2 7GA, Belfast BT2 7GA, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast>  > City Centre
  • Neighbourhood: City Centre
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9043 4310
Description
City Centre Restaurant with Cookery School. Using the best of Northern Iris produce for a seasonal menu. Set lunch and pre theatre daily from fifteen pounds and fifty pence for two courses, A La Carte and Tasting Menu always available. Now with Private Dining Room and The Bar and Grill, a more casual dining option located next door.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of James Street South and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Belfast, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from James Street South staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?