We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

House of Zen

€€ - €€€Chinese, Asian,
3 St Annes Square | Unit 3 St Anne’s Square, Belfast BT1 2LR, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9027 8688
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“honey pepper” (7 reviews)
“duck” (37 reviews)
“fried rice” (17 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian, Contemporary, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3 St Annes Square | Unit 3 St Anne’s Square, Belfast BT1 2LR, Northern Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

We went for a meal here - the food was really tastey. My only issue was with the cost. We had crispy duck to start with and it was really nice. The main courses were nice too. The atmosphere was nice.

Thank eddy3
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I was here with a large group and the staff were very accommodating and service was quick and friendly, despite us being such a big group. I was quite disappointed with the food though. I got the Chinese roasted duck and the meat was quite...More

Thank Pip M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good selection of food & cocktails. Quick service but waiter wasn’t entirely enthusiastic & didn’t recommend any dishes. Food was really tasty though, good portion sizes & cocktails tasted good too.

Thank loulabelle751
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well designed restraint in a nice little square. Good selection of drinks. Food perfectly presented. My only issue was the salt and chilli ribs which looked amazing lacked real taste and had a lot of fat. Looking at them I expected a burst of flavour...More

Thank krism90210
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was lovely. We were treated really well with great service. Had the duck to share for starter and it was great! Main was very tasty and just the right amount of food. Nice decor also quite typical Asian. Good for couples and grouts

Thank Stephen K
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We hadn't been for a while so decided to call in for tea. The crispy honey chicken with noodles was delicious as usual. Service could be a bit friendlier but other than that it is one of our favourite Asian restaurants.

Thank TrueReview74
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As a family we all like different foods this is a great place for us to dine out but need to be aware it does cost a bit more but it is worth it (if u want a great meal you gotta pay for it)....More

Thank Beverley S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have been here a couple of times - Staff are all friendly and food is extremely tasty! Have no complaints!

Thank Kerrie W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place has gone downhill since I was last there. New staff, some of whom show little interest in their job or in their customers. I had King Prawn Toast for starter. It was OK but nothing more than OK. I had what they say...More

Thank PKSOK
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Booked House of Zen for their pre theatre menu it was £18.95 pp for two courses. For starters my husband had the Zen signature dish which he enjoyed. We did notice these came out very quickly like they were plated and ready to go. I...More

Thank claire9043
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 48 hotels in Belfast
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre
1,786 reviews
.10 km away
Premier Inn Belfast City Cathedral Quarter Hotel
2,525 reviews
.26 km away
Merchant Hotel
2,695 reviews
.27 km away
Dream Apartments Belfast
64 reviews
.37 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Established Coffee
271 reviews
.05 km away
Coppi Restaurant
1,170 reviews
.03 km away
Salt Bistro
415 reviews
.01 km away
The John Hewitt
271 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
City Hall
3,518 reviews
.16 km away
Cathedral Quarter
698 reviews
.14 km away
MAC
218 reviews
.03 km away
St. Anne's Cathedral
402 reviews
.12 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Hayley J
29 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Declan C | Reviewed this property |
You can just walk in which is what I have done on the last two occasions. But, this is a popular restaurant so it's best to make a reservation to avoid disappointment.
0
Votes
Sarah L
25 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from dawnecallender | Reviewed this property |
Im sure if you ask they would be willing to accommodate. The staff were very friendly and accommodating
2
Votes
Sarah L
25 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Rosslyn S | Reviewed this property |
Can't see this being a problem but just to be sure give the restaurant a ring .
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$35
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
13:30 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Saturday
13:00 - 12:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 St Annes Square | Unit 3 St Anne’s Square, Belfast BT1 2LR, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9027 8688
  • E-mail
Description
Cocooned in the Heart of the Cathedral Quarter is the newest addition to the Zen Restaurant Group, the Cool and Elegant House of Zen. The House of Zen blends a little bit of The Orient into the Traditional cobbled streets and cosy bars of the Cathedral Quarter in Belfast.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing