We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Robert Stewarts

€€ - €€€Irish, , European
149 Ballyskeagh Road, Belfast BT17 9LL, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9030 8807
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good17%
  • Average3%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, British, Pub, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
149 Ballyskeagh Road, Belfast BT17 9LL, Northern Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 304 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Great staff superb lunch food amazing great atmosphere all round brilliant Steak was cooked to perfection

Thank Andrew_Cochrane
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We had been eager to try this place and it certainly didn't disappoint, three courses and well priced! Full of quirky items & character my other half loved. Fabulous chicken liver pate with the best apple chutney ! Sirloin cooked to my liking .... &...More

Thank angiebaby9
BobStewartsBelfast, Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Now then "angiebaby9" the only "flippin" thing worrying us here at "Auld Bobs" is that upon the occasion of hopefully a return visit by your good self that we can be as good if not better as it seems we were on this visit. We...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Upon walking into this country cottage pub i just knew it was going to be a great experience,cosy old charm atmosphere and decor is wonderful,the choice of food was very good,we shall have to go back to try the other choices we fancied. Loved everything...More

Thank Alan M
BobStewartsBelfast, Guest Relations Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Acknowledgement to Alan M for a pretty accurate description of Bob Stewart's as a location / type of "Public House" country version thereof. Indeed perhaps Alan M did not get a look into or have a "swallie" in our pub within a pub namely the...More

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 4 days ago

Went there today for my work Christmas dinner and wow the food was delicious. Lovely cosy feel and staff were very friendly.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BobStewartsBelfast, Owner at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Well hello you "yesterday" how's it go'in ? ---great call sign / handle. Short succinct helpful contribution on old "Trippy" just what the doctor ordered. Bye for now Cheers

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for lunch 1:00. Very busy which is a good sign. Got a table right away. Good menu with a varied selection of food and specials. Went for the fish pie. Very nice but a small portion served in its own dish. Some green...More

Thank tomdoran1
BobStewartsBelfast, Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello " tomdoran1" Many thanks for your constructive comments on Bob's Obliged

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Excellent food and excellent friendly service from karen and molly would recommend to everyone especially to visitors to Northern Ireland as a lot of historyMore

Thank Glenda J
BobStewartsBelfast, Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Greetings "Ms" Thank you for your Trippy contribution including the reference to the "history" aspect. Indeed the road way that Robert Stewart's pub is beside was in the 1700's aye and most likely before that an arterial route out of the "Town" that became Belfast...More

A TripAdvisor Member
111
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We had a super meal great variety of dishes to choose from very friendly lovely atmosphere. Will be back

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BobStewartsBelfast, Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Well hello "Fabulous" yourself. Exceedingly helpful your positive remarks on and about Bob's--Oh! & especially the "Will be back". Cheers.

Reviewed 19 October 2017

Went and had Sunday Lunch . Great food and very pleasant and helpful staff. Decor was nice and had a nice alternative to Sunday Lunch.

Thank Bushman19
BobStewartsBelfast, Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Hi ya doin "Bushman 19" Thank you--- not a lot more to say.

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Watery seafood chowder with frozen seafood for 11.50, ready meal not restaurant quality. Also prize draw for 5* TripAdvisor review advertised every - hardly going to lead to unbiased reviews. Probably the only reason why there are so many good reviews.More

2  Thank Clare M
BobStewartsBelfast, Guest Relations Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Def out of bed wrong side is you Clare M on the day you call in with us here at Robert Stewart's. How one arrives at the grand proclamation POOR FOOD ( does that refer / mean ALL the various dishes on offer?????) on the...More

Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Called in for a light lunch today and was blown away by the crab claws on the starters menu. Massive portion and beautifully done. Please don't ever take them off the menu!More

Thank Sarah H
BobStewartsBelfast, General Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

You sure ain't no lemon drop Sarah H no siree !!!. That stated thank you for the compliment about our "Crab Claws" dish. It is receiving very positive comments from our patrons when our staff are clearing plates etc from tables. So there you go----...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Tap Room at Hilden Brewery
144 reviews
2.93 km away
The Crafty Hound
71 reviews
2.79 km away
Applegreen
74 reviews
1.32 km away
Nearby Attractions
Drumbo Park Greyhound Stadium
201 reviews
1.09 km away
Colin Glen Forest Park
66 reviews
4.05 km away
Island Arts Centre
23 reviews
3.95 km away
Castle Gardens
25 reviews
4.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Cyril H
I am very fortunate that I live within walking distance from Robert Stewarts or (Bob stewarts pup/restaurant) to locals. I have frequented the 'bar' for more than thirty five years and have many happy memories. Friday night at Bob's was always a meeting place for the chosen few, which always reminded me of the T.V. American comedy 'Cheers'. The stranger that came into the bar, left as a friend. The real locals always sat on their own bar stools or around the same area, so as a so called "blow in" then, I was very careful not to offend. Many of those locals have become life long friends, unfortunately some have departed to a higher level where the SPIRITS are plentiful!! When Jackie Gilmore obtained the then cosy pub no restaurant existed hovever he had the foresight to expanded the building to accommodate the eating area that we can see today. Thank goodness he has still retained the cosy bar where the locals still meet up. Never did I envisage that my "local" would become one of the best eating establishment in Northern Ireland, so you can see why the folk in Drumbeg, Lambeg and Ballyskeagh are so, so fortunate. Thanks Jackie, keep up the good work
22 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Roberta B | Reviewed this property |
What you have described is exactly whay Robert Stewart's has the ambience it holds. I commented on Trip Advisor - urging people to go as the food is delicious & the ambience so lovely & the staff very friendly (making yo... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$37
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 149 Ballyskeagh Road, Belfast BT17 9LL, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9030 8807
  • E-mail
Description
ROBERT STEWARTS SPIRIT GROCERS is located on a narrow country road that threads its way out of the leafy glades of south Belfast via the Upper Malone precinct. The road continues onwards in the general direction to the town of Lisburn which in recent years was decreed a CITY. The actual premises is a primarily two zone affair.A public bar of which no decent pub should be devoid of. This coupled to a nooks and crannies lounge bar handsomely ajoined with a slightly more formal dinning facility called the company room.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing